Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 4 - 8V6.063201
Miri lives on a mountain where, for generations, her ancestors have quarried stone and lived a simple life. Then word comes that the king's priests have divined her small village the home of the future princess. In a year's time, the prince himself will come and choose his bride from among the girls of the village. The king's ministers set up an academy on the mountain, and every teenage girl must attend and learn how to become a princess.
Miri soon finds herself confronted with a harsh academy mistress, bitter competition among the girls, and her own conflicting desires to be chosen and win the heart of her childhood best friend. But when bandits seek out the academy to kidnap the future princess, Miri must rally the girls together and use a power unique to the mountain dwellers to save herself and her classmates.
Hardcover, 314 pages
Published on April 1, 2007 by Perfection Learning
ISBN-10: 0756981808
ISBN-13: 9780756981808
124 Book Reviews
  • ladywhimsy
    ladywhimsyTuesday, March 2, 2021 at 7:05 am
    I absolutely love this book I've read it about five times. I even have my own copy there are two other books to this series and it's really good.
    • Book loverMonday, March 1, 2021 at 7:21 pm
      This book was good! I liked it a whole lot more than I thought I would based on the title. I usually hate stuff about princesses but I liked this book a lot! My favorite character is definitely Frid!
      • Puneet Sunday, October 18, 2020 at 8:17 am
        I was good.
        • kkaitlina
          kkaitlinaSunday, October 18, 2020 at 6:25 am55 stars
          You might look at the title and throw it away, but this book is fun. A young mountain girl named Miri and her friends were sent to an academy to prepare themselves for the prince, as he had to choose his bride among them.
          • swirlycool
            swirlycoolFriday, July 31, 2020 at 2:11 pm
            i definitely have to read this
            • inmemoryofcpr
              inmemoryofcprSaturday, June 29, 2019 at 5:41 am44 stars
              This book was also super good like Shannon Hale's other books. It could use a little improvement for the pacw but other than that the characters were developed very well. I hope you read this because at first I didn't want to read it but now I am happy I read it. Don't miss a chance to read this book.
              • snicker9
                snicker9Saturday, January 5, 2019 at 6:45 pm55 stars
                Princess Academy is one of my favorite books. It is the story of mountain girl Miri, who along with the other girls in her village, is forced to attend the Princess Academy so they can be groomed for the Prince who is going to pick his bride from among them. The book shows the struggles Miri and the other girls go through under their strict teacher at the school, and the struggles Miri faces with her family. I especially enjoyed learning more about quarry-speak, the way the village people can communicate through the stone of the mountain. Definitely a classic, I recommend it to people who books like Ella Enchanted and Tuesdays at the castle. I believe people of all ages would enjoy this book, but especially middle school-aged kids. I rate this book 5 out of 5 stars.
                • sparklingirl
                  sparklingirlSaturday, December 17, 2016 at 8:21 pm
                  Wow I really like Miri's character, she is so sweet since she's named after a flower, her sister Marda seems uneducated but very nice to Miri as if Miri were the older sister
                  • egypt
                    egyptTuesday, May 3, 2016 at 9:00 am44 stars
                    I LOVED this book! There is a mountain girl called Miri who is called (with the other mountain girls) to attend Princess Academy. They learn skills like trading and reading. Miri is the best of them all, though. But, even so, Miri's friend Britta becomes princess. I can't wait to read Palace of Stone!
                    • sparkle12706
                      sparkle12706Tuesday, March 8, 2016 at 6:42 pm55 stars
                      I really liked this book right now I am reading the second book and so far it is also really good at the begging it was kind of boring but now it is really hard to put down the whole first book was like that one of the main reasons I love the series.