Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 9 - 12Grades 4 - 12Z5.780363
A few years after rebel Tally Youngblood took down the uglies/pretties/specials regime, a cultural renaissance swept the world. Now popularity rules. Everyone craves fame—and fifteen-year-old Aya Fuse is no exception. But her face rank of 451,396 is so low, she’s a total nobody. An extra. Aya’s only chance to escape extra-land is to find a big story to kick—something wild and unexpected. Then Aya meets a clique of girls who pull crazy tricks. She knows she can propel herself into celebrity; but at what cost? There’s more at stake than Aya realizes in this spectacular conclusion to the Uglies series.
Paperback, 368 pages
Published on May 3, 2011 by Simon Pulse
ISBN-10: 1442419806
ISBN-13: 9781442419803
16 Book Reviews
  • lovetoread26
    lovetoread26Saturday, July 25, 2020 at 4:56 pm55 stars
    Amazing! Tally is pretty. Life is a party until she gets a note-from herself. She uncovers a dark secret about her society and works to stop it and cure herself. She escapes and gets lost and must find her way back. The ending is surprising, you’ll love it!
    • christine_horse
      christine_horseMonday, January 13, 2020 at 5:38 am44 starsFeatured
      I've fallen in love with this series! It's action-packed, with shocking turns and endings. I'm just a bit confused as to what the climax is? You would think the point when she jumped would be the climax, as Scott Westerfeld spent a good portion of the book writing about the events and trials Tally and Zane had to overcome in order to escape. But then he spends another big portion on the reserve, and nothing that exciting happens in there, other than the big chase. The climax is supposed to be the main trial, the most exciting part of the book, and then the rest of it kind of unfolds and is kind of a recap, a smooth ending. And the end isn't supposed to be that long, either. I've certainly never heard anyone drawing it out for a third of the book. But then, maybe the jump wasn't the climax. If not, I feel like Scot Westerfeld could have done a better job in showing the climax, which is supposed to be the obvious, most exciting part, the part that had the author had spent the whole rest of the part building up. Other than that, I really love the book. Yeah, I've spent a whole paragraph writing about some critiques I have of Pretties, but I could write a LOT about how well-written the book is if I wanted. I highly advise this book; you'll be up all night!
      • sapphhira
        sapphhiraThursday, September 24, 2015 at 11:34 am55 stars
        It shows a lot of adventure and action. Very futuristic.
        • nobodyhere
          nobodyhereSaturday, November 1, 2014 at 6:46 pm55 stars
          Tally finally turns pretty. Then she remembers why she's there. She has to save the world from turning into bubbleheads forever.
          • rozeb
            rozebMonday, January 27, 2014 at 7:00 pm44 stars
            Book club got me started on this series and is my favorite series at the moment. This book is awesome! This book was amazing!
            • milomaster11
              milomaster11Wednesday, January 22, 2014 at 2:54 pm55 stars
              Amazing sequel to the Uglies. Tally has allowed herself to be turned into a Pretty so that she can find the cure for the Pretties. Perfectly happy with partying with Paris and Shay, Tally is soon met by one of her old, and still Ugly, friends. When she receives the a gift that could both save and destroy her relationship with Paris, will she choose to remain a Pretty of continue her mission?
              • otter
                otterSaturday, January 11, 2014 at 7:18 am
                Another cliffhanger! I sort of think it would not be bad to be a special, as long as you weren't evil.
                • otter
                  otterWednesday, January 1, 2014 at 11:29 am
                  I read for Uglies for a book club and I loved it! My friend is reading this one and she says it is even better! I really want to read it, because the first book had a terrible cliffhanger!!!!!
                  • jalslove
                    jalsloveThursday, November 21, 2013 at 10:27 am
                    I cant wait to read this book
                    • hey
                      heyMonday, June 24, 2013 at 6:46 pm55 stars
                      loved this book!!!! its really good and worth the read! along with the rest of the books!!!!