Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 4 - 7n/a6.261696
"Castle’s debut, the first in a planned series, strikes just the right balance of humor and action and is sure to keep young readers turning the pages. Fisher’s struggles to fit in, to relate to girls and to uncover and preserve his true self feel genuine, making him a misfit and unlikely hero worth rooting for."—Kirkus Reviews

Meet Fisher Bas: 12 years-old, growth-stunted, a geeky science genius, and son of the Nobel Prize-winning creators of the Bas-Hermaphrodite-Sea-Slug-Hypothesis. No surprise: Fisher isn't exactly the most popular kid in his middle-school, tormented daily by the beefy, overgrown goons he calls The Vikings. But he senses relief when he comes upon the idea of cloning himself--creating a second Fisher to go to school each day while he stays at home playing video games and eating cheetos with ketchup. It's an ingenious plan that works brilliantly, until Fisher's clone turns out to be more popular than him--and soon after gets clone-napped by the evil scientist Dr. Xander.

Also available in simultaneous e-book edition (ISBN 978-1-60684-301-7).
Hardcover, 320 pages
Published on January 24, 2012 by EgmontUSA
ISBN-10: 1606842323
ISBN-13: 9781606842324
24 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • yoblingo
    yoblingoMonday, April 28, 2014 at 10:40 am55 stars
    I WANT TO READ THIS BOOK SO BAD!!! AND I AM GUESSING THAT IT IS ABOUT A KID WHO MAKES A CLONE BUT DOES A MISTAKE AND HIS CLONE GETS FAMOUS!! Okay , so no more caps lock.
    • yoblingo
      yoblingoMonday, April 28, 2014 at 10:06 am55 stars
      i want to read this book so bad
      • cmay
        cmayThursday, February 13, 2014 at 12:04 pm11 star
        christopher mays it is cool to he put the mirue back
        • tallguy2
          tallguy2Monday, February 10, 2014 at 2:47 pm55 starsFeatured
          I really liked this book! It is about a boy named Fisher Bas who is a genius but gets bullied by a group of three guys at school almost every day. Fisher gets so fed up by being bullied that he uses his moms special mixture to clone himself but finds out that his clone is more popular then he is. The clone even begins to pull pranks and gets even more attention. Then when his clone secretly goes to the park to do a project he gets kidnapped by robots and taken to a secret and evil company called TechX industries. How does he get out? Does he survive? Find out in Popular Clone!!
          • desdestiny
            desdestinySaturday, November 30, 2013 at 8:27 am55 stars
            I don't know wat this book is about
            • xxpish
              xxpishMonday, June 3, 2013 at 3:56 pmFeatured
              Fisher Bas is a 6th grader who gets tormented by a group of three kids that he calls the Vikings. They are always waiting for him, to bash him on the head with the biggest book they can find, give him a swirly or something else along those lines. One day, Fisher just gets tired of it. So he comes up with a solution-cloning himself with the AGH (Advanced Growth Hormones) that his mom invented, which is something that world-known Dr. X(ander, no, I am not kidding! his name is Xander!) wants to get his hands on. After a sleepless weekend, lots of work and many different attempts, Fisher creates his clone. When his clone comes to life, he thinks a woman from a Spot-Rite ad is his mother so Fisher creates a fantasy for his clone to believe-that they are trying to get their mother back and they have to go to a place to train (AKA Middle School) for their enemies. Then, after a few days, Two (Fisher’s clone’s name) becomes more popular than him! He has friends, is known around school and stands up to the Vikings. Can Fisher change Two’s ways before something bad happens and they realize Two is not Fisher? In a wacky middle-grade story of adventure and clones, Fisher strives to be as good as his clone, and fights the evil Dr. X after a very shocking twist in the plot in a wonderful debut. What I thought about it: Popular Clone was a great book. I think this was a strong debut for M.E. Castle, and fans of middle-grade sci-fi will enjoy it. I have been reading a lot of sci-fi lately; Mila 2.0, Cinder, Scarlet–they all have something to do with sciency stuff like clones, androids and cyborgs. I thinking the idea of cloning yourself is interesting-and very complicated. It would be hard to keep a secret that there are two “You’s” out there. I also loved the other science aspects in this book: the inventions that Fisher has created and the Bas’ garden. The tomatos are the size of beach balls, and the bananas are the size of baseball bats. It’s like taking your garden and multiplying the size! Now that is awesome. I loved the drawings throughout the book of Fisher’s inventions-they help you understand what they are talking about/using in the story. Also, the battle at the end was pretty epic, with lots of action and chases. The book ends with a BIG cliffhanger, though. Thankfully I had the second book available BWAHAHA! So overall, a great book for fans of middle-grade stories and adventures. XanderStars: Action: 8 out of 10 XanderStars Suspense: 8 out of 10 XanderStars Well-Written: 9 out of 10 XanderStars Page-Turning: 8 out of 10 XanderStars Overall: 8 out of 10 XanderStars
              • yoblingo
                yoblingoMonday, April 28, 2014 at 10:45 am55 stars
                I think that was an AWESOME speech/ desribe story.
              • ClonereaderSunday, March 17, 2013 at 10:06 am
                i read it.....its suspenseful!
                • AntonioTuesday, March 12, 2013 at 11:21 am
                  Its about someone
                  • AntonioTuesday, March 12, 2013 at 11:19 am
                    I want to read this book
                    • tallguy2
                      tallguy2Sunday, March 10, 2013 at 10:55 am55 starsFeatured
                      I won this book on the DOGObooks giveaway and really liked it. It is about a boy named Fisher Bas who is a genius but gets bullied by a group of three guys at school almost every day. Fisher gets so fed up by being bullied that he uses his moms special mixture to clone himself but finds out that his clone is more popular then he is. The clone even begins to pull pranks and gets even more attention. Then when his clone secretly goes to the park to do a project he gets kidnapped by robots and taken to a secret and evil company called TechX industries. How does he get out? Does he survive? Find out in Popular Clone!!