Poop: A Natural History of the Unmentionable (Bccb Blue Ribbon Nonfiction Book Award (Awards))

Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 4 - 7S6.14709
A noted zoologist teams up with a playful illustrator to present a fun, fact-filled guide to the fascinating (if not fragrant) world of poop across species.

Hippos navigate by it, sloths keep in touch through it, dung beetles eat it . . . and most grownups would rather not to mention it. Meanwhile, scientists who study animal feces find out all sorts of things, such as how many insects a bat eats or just what technique a T. rex used to devour a triceratops 70 million years ago. However you look at it, poop is the quintessential prototype for recycling and probably the most useful stuff on earth. Take a peek at POOP and find out all you need to know — what it's for, where it goes, and how much we can learn from it.
Hardcover, 64 pages
Published on August 3, 2004 by Candlewick
ISBN-10: 0763624373
ISBN-13: 9780763624378
8 Book Reviews
  • heathlol
    heathlolThursday, April 9, 2015 at 9:00 am
    I love this book it's sooooooooooo cool and EPINESS
    • RedcrafterThursday, April 9, 2015 at 7:43 am
      this book sounds distuguishing
      • kell-bell
        kell-bellThursday, November 20, 2014 at 3:35 pm
        ummmmm..... no thanks.....
        • msmangocat
          msmangocatTuesday, April 2, 2013 at 5:05 pm
          Okaaaaaaaaay!
          • triplethreat
            triplethreatMonday, October 8, 2012 at 9:12 pm
            Me and my friends got this book for my friend, who is super weird, for her birthday!
            • bubblegum2
              bubblegum2Thursday, March 1, 2012 at 5:57 pm33 stars
              UM........... i think this is really weird. and i positivily absoultily think i know why its called poop unmentionable! um.......
              • katjune62
                katjune62Thursday, March 1, 2012 at 8:11 am33 stars
                Wierd, but funny, I guess. Prepare to read the unecspected facts about down under and in the toilet. By the way, if this is your favorite book and you read it whenever you read, seriously people! Talk, read, and THINK about something other than POOP sometime.
                • lego
                  legoSaturday, February 4, 2012 at 5:48 pm55 stars
                  This book is very funny!!!! I love books talking about POOP!!! I love it!!! I sure hope you love it, too!!!!!