Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 8V4.731164
Poison Apple Books: Thrilling. Bone-chilling. These books have bite!

Zoe’s never been superstitious, so when she and her best friend Mia have their fortunes read at a carnival, she doesn’t take it seriously. In fact, Zoe mocks the fortune-teller. But the woman gives Zoe a necklace to seal her fortune, and as soon as Zoe puts it on, unexplained things begin to happen to her. Her bike spins out of control, a fire starts in the oven when it isn’t on, and Zoe begins receiving threatening texts and emails. The necklace must be cursed! But when Zoe and Mia return to the site of the carnival, it’s gone! Can they break the curse before something terrible happens?
Paperback, 192 pages
Published on August 1, 2010 by Scholastic Paperbacks
ISBN-10: 0545202663
ISBN-13: 9780545202664
17 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • MEFriday, March 22, 2019 at 9:45 am
    I did not get to read this yet because i am in 6th grade and my mom says it is "not for my age" but judging from it, it is cool.
    • basi344
      basi344Sunday, May 10, 2015 at 4:18 pm
      I love this book soooo much!! I am really focusing on the book. Then, the best part happens! It was when,,. I'm not going tell you!!!
      • animefan3
        animefan3Thursday, May 7, 2015 at 7:26 am
        I like this book even the character
        • basi344
          basi344Wednesday, May 6, 2015 at 2:47 pm
          This was sooo GOOD!!
          • basi344
            basi344Wednesday, May 6, 2015 at 2:47 pm
            This was sooo hood!
            • rosy123456
              rosy123456Monday, May 4, 2015 at 7:49 pm55 stars
              a very exiting book taking you through zoes bad times but in the end she and her best friend mia fix things up there are also \times when you think shes not going to make it i really felt like i was just watching a movie i just read and read and read for an hour until it was all done i would totally read it if you like things gone wrong books
              • ducky10
                ducky10Tuesday, March 17, 2015 at 1:08 pm55 stars
                Miss Fortune is a wonderful bone chilling masterpiece that you will not regret reading.I just want to tell you one thing if you ever are invited to get your fortune told don't laugh at the fortune teller it wont end well. Unless of course you want to get a curse on you.
                • tiana19149
                  tiana19149Saturday, October 18, 2014 at 8:26 amFeatured
                  I love a good old fashioned "fortune teller gone bad" story. And this novel lives up to that potential...and then some. Since this is aimed at the youngsters (ages 8-12), I will say that the author does take this responsibility with great care. She produces a solid story line with just enough creepiness to not give your eight-year-old nightmares and just enough to keep your twelve-year-old engaged (unless her mind has already been tainted with horror/slasher films). Mia and Zoe are best friends who do it all together. They decide to attend a carnival with a group of friends, and before the night is over, one of their lives will be dramatically changed for the worst...that would be Zoe. You see, Zoe makes a mistake. While her friend Mia is having her fortune read, Zoe sort of/kind of makes fun of the fortune teller. Well, any good skeptic will know this is just not the best of plans, and soon Zoe finds that out, beginning the morning after the reading.
                  • zoiejo2005
                    zoiejo2005Thursday, May 8, 2014 at 5:40 pm
                    I like this one I am reading it in class:)
                    • tara357
                      tara357Sunday, April 14, 2013 at 8:25 am
                      at first i was was confused with the book i started to get it.this was the first book i read.I thought it was scary but then i started to read more of the books an it wasn't scary