Jade believes she must get out of her poor neighborhood if she's ever going to succeed. Her mother tells her to take advantage of every opportunity that comes her way. And she has. She accepted a scholarship to a mostly-white private school and even Saturday morning test prep opportunities. But some opportunities feel more demeaning than helpful. Like an invitation to join Women to Women, a mentorship program for "at-risk" girls. Except really, it's for black girls. From "bad" neighborhoods. And just because Maxine, her college-graduate mentor, is black doesn't mean she understands Jade. And maybe there are some things Jade could show these successful women about the real world and finding ways to make a real difference.
Paperback, 320 pages
Published on February 13, 2018 by Bloomsbury USA Childrens
ISBN-10: 1681191075
ISBN-13: 9781681191072
14 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • pizzagirl7
    pizzagirl7Thursday, August 30, 2018 at 1:18 pm44 stars
    Piecing me together//////I recommend this book to 11 to 16 and I rate this book 4 stars i loved this book!!!! I would certainly read this again this book is about jade ,jade believes she needs to get out of her very poor neighborhood and but she just Has to take advantage her mother says this was a great book you should really read it thank you so so so much for reading -pizzagirl7😋😋😋
    • ajg15
      ajg15Thursday, August 30, 2018 at 12:27 pm55 stars
      Jade is in is in high school and she thinks of she wants to be successful then she has to get out of her poor neighborhood. She goes to a private school and she feels like an outsider being one of the not very many black girls at the and and she wishes she went to a school with her friends sometimes. When used gets an opportunity to join "Woman to woman" a mentoring program that she joins with the promise of a scholarship. Made has much sadness, happiness,.and confusing moments to. Made is a strong, confident, inspiring girl. I enjoyed this Book more then I can express, recommend for 13 and up. Thanks for reading - Ajg15's Reviews
      • cerulian
        cerulianFriday, August 17, 2018 at 11:41 am55 stars
        I read this book and it was really good. I liked that it was about a girl who grew up in not so good circumstances, but still rose above it. She teaches others about the real world and how they are privileged. She is strong, smart, and an inspiration. I would recommend this to anyone.
        • snicker9
          snicker9Monday, August 13, 2018 at 12:55 pm55 stars
          Jade has attended a private school far away from her poor neighborhood for several years, and she tries to make the most of every opportunity she has. One of those opportunities is being invited to Women to Women, a mentorship program. But this opportunity doesn't seem like a positive to Jade, especially as she learns more about her mentor Maxine and their differences become more and more obvious. I loved this book! I felt like I was feeling Jade's emotions as she was navigating school troubles and relationships at home and with friends. The narrative was authentic and descriptive. I recommend this book to older kids, especially girls. I think that some of the plot would be harder to comprehend for younger kids. I rate this book 5 out of 5 stars.
          • eaglegamer
            eaglegamerFriday, August 10, 2018 at 10:31 pm44 stars
            This book is a Newbery Honor book and also won other awards. Jade is a disadvantaged black girl who lives in Portland, Oregon, and attends a largely white private high school so she can get a better education. She encounters a lot of white privilege and racism and she never seems to know where her next meal is coming from. Things, however, turn out better for her in the end. Read the book to find out.
            • jwarne
              jwarneFriday, August 3, 2018 at 11:32 am55 stars
              I absolutely love this book. It's about a poor girl, who just wants to escape the poverty she was born into. I think this is incredibly relatable, even if I'm not from the same life as her. I wanted her to succeed so bad the entire time. I liked cheering her on.
              • llpanda
                llpandaWednesday, July 25, 2018 at 11:12 am22 stars
                Jade is always getting opportunities. It’s not like she doesn’t appreciate them. No it’s not that. Jade would just like to feel whole for once, not something broken that someone tries to fix. Jades art reflects her view on life. She makes collages, little bits of paper ripped up and then put together to make something beautiful. I recommend this book to kids grade 7 and older because of some difficult content.
                • auntieb
                  auntiebSaturday, July 7, 2018 at 7:56 pm33 stars
                  Piecing Me Together was a very interesting book. Some of it did leave me a little confused. I would also say that this is definitely a book for older children! And better suited towards girls.
                  • applemango
                    applemangoSunday, June 17, 2018 at 8:19 pm22 stars
                    This book just isn't the type of book that I really like it's just meh. At times this book did get pretty exiting but it wasn't a book for me, I know that my friend said that it was okay so I read it but it wasn't my type.
                    • belle252
                      belle252Saturday, June 9, 2018 at 9:16 pm55 stars
                      This book is so inspirational i would love to read this book again but i had to return it, this book is literally about struggles and how it forms something big it is amazing

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      Mariah Inzunza wrote:

                      12 years a slave a memoir by Sol...
                      12 Years A Slave, Non fiction, T...

                      percyj
                      percyj wrote:

                      Looks so awesome! I'm asking my ...
                      The Meltdown (Diary of a Wimpy K...

                      galaxyme wrote:

                      One of my favorite books. I coul...
                      The Other Side of Dark

                      galaxyme wrote:

                      I think '' Drama" is a really en...
                      Drama

                      Our Apps and Plugins