Jade believes she must get out of her poor neighborhood if she's ever going to succeed. Her mother tells her to take advantage of every opportunity that comes her way. And she has. She accepted a scholarship to a mostly-white private school and even Saturday morning test prep opportunities. But some opportunities feel more demeaning than helpful. Like an invitation to join Women to Women, a mentorship program for "at-risk" girls. Except really, it's for black girls. From "bad" neighborhoods. And just because Maxine, her college-graduate mentor, is black doesn't mean she understands Jade. And maybe there are some things Jade could show these successful women about the real world and finding ways to make a real difference.
Paperback, 320 pages
Published on February 13, 2018 by Bloomsbury USA Childrens
ISBN-10: 1681191075
ISBN-13: 9781681191072
11 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • snicker9
    snicker9Monday, August 13, 2018 at 12:55 pm55 stars
    Jade has attended a private school far away from her poor neighborhood for several years, and she tries to make the most of every opportunity she has. One of those opportunities is being invited to Women to Women, a mentorship program. But this opportunity doesn't seem like a positive to Jade, especially as she learns more about her mentor Maxine and their differences become more and more obvious. I loved this book! I felt like I was feeling Jade's emotions as she was navigating school troubles and relationships at home and with friends. The narrative was authentic and descriptive. I recommend this book to older kids, especially girls. I think that some of the plot would be harder to comprehend for younger kids. I rate this book 5 out of 5 stars.
    • eaglegamer
      eaglegamerFriday, August 10, 2018 at 10:31 pm44 stars
      This book is a Newbery Honor book and also won other awards. Jade is a disadvantaged black girl who lives in Portland, Oregon, and attends a largely white private high school so she can get a better education. She encounters a lot of white privilege and racism and she never seems to know where her next meal is coming from. Things, however, turn out better for her in the end. Read the book to find out.
      • jwarne
        jwarneFriday, August 3, 2018 at 11:32 am55 stars
        I absolutely love this book. It's about a poor girl, who just wants to escape the poverty she was born into. I think this is incredibly relatable, even if I'm not from the same life as her. I wanted her to succeed so bad the entire time. I liked cheering her on.
        • llpanda
          llpandaWednesday, July 25, 2018 at 11:12 am22 stars
          Jade is always getting opportunities. It’s not like she doesn’t appreciate them. No it’s not that. Jade would just like to feel whole for once, not something broken that someone tries to fix. Jades art reflects her view on life. She makes collages, little bits of paper ripped up and then put together to make something beautiful. I recommend this book to kids grade 7 and older because of some difficult content.
          • auntieb
            auntiebSaturday, July 7, 2018 at 7:56 pm33 stars
            Piecing Me Together was a very interesting book. Some of it did leave me a little confused. I would also say that this is definitely a book for older children! And better suited towards girls.
            • applemango
              applemangoSunday, June 17, 2018 at 8:19 pm22 stars
              This book just isn't the type of book that I really like it's just meh. At times this book did get pretty exiting but it wasn't a book for me, I know that my friend said that it was okay so I read it but it wasn't my type.
              • belle252
                belle252Saturday, June 9, 2018 at 9:16 pm55 stars
                This book is so inspirational i would love to read this book again but i had to return it, this book is literally about struggles and how it forms something big it is amazing
                • bookgator
                  bookgatorThursday, June 7, 2018 at 9:05 am44 stars
                  Piecing Me Together was a good book. I like how she took every opportunity available to her and that she tried to teach the women.
                  • waterlily1255
                    waterlily1255Wednesday, June 6, 2018 at 3:04 pm55 stars
                    I highly recommend this book. It is very realistic, and is so captivating, making it a very quick read. I highly recommend that anyone who has the chance to read this book to read it!
                    • happy_cat
                      happy_catSunday, May 27, 2018 at 6:23 pm55 stars
                      Wow! I am reading this book now, and I am sure happy I am! Only about 7% of the books published in 2012 were about people of color and the times of slaves, says owner of We Need Diverse Books! This book is one of them, and the overall effect is like- Bazang! Amazing, about a young woman of color who is accepted in a mostly white school, a private school. This is a huge accomplishment.

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      Neal wrote:

                      Rick Riordan Number 1 fan. Loved...
                      Weird But True Know-It-All: Gree...

                      soyster
                      soyster wrote:

                      I found the story really intrigu...
                      Rump: The True Story of Rumpelst...

                      no name wrote:

                      the book is not scary
                      The Slender Man

                      Our Apps and Plugins