Pictures of Hollis Woods (Newbery Honor Book)

Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 2 - 8V4.431319
This Newbery Honor book about a girl who has never known family fighting for her first true home “will leave readers . . . satisfied” (Kirkus Reviews).

Hollis Woods
is the place where a baby was abandoned
is the baby’s name
is an artist
is now a twelve-year-old girl
who’s been in so many foster homes she can hardly remember them all.

When Hollis is sent to Josie, an elderly artist who is quirky and affectionate, she wants to stay. But Josie is growing more forgetful every day. If Social Services finds out, they’ll take Hollis away and move Josie into a home. Well, Hollis Woods won’t let anyone separate them. She’s escaped the system before; this time, she’s taking Josie with her. Still, even as she plans her future with Josie, Hollis dreams of the past summer with the Regans, fixing each special moment of her days with them in pictures she’ll never forget.

Patricia Reilly Giff captures the yearning for a place to belong in this warmhearted story, which stresses the importance of artistic vision, creativity, and above all, family.
Paperback, 192 pages
Published on May 19, 2005 by Orchard Books
ISBN-10: 1843625814
ISBN-13: 9781843625810
19 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
to use your custom avatar.
  • connormath
    connormathMonday, October 5, 2015 at 11:31 am55 stars
    It was a great book, I would definitely read it again
    • parkerposi
      parkerposiFriday, September 11, 2015 at 9:07 am
      I really want to read this book because I have herd very good things about this book I'm so excited to read it
      • emmiem
        emmiemFriday, September 11, 2015 at 8:40 am
        I want to read it because it sounds really good and interesting. I like books in this genre too.
        • unicorn123
          unicorn123Thursday, September 3, 2015 at 2:30 pm55 stars
          this is such a good book iv read it twice and i really like its so amazing and like i cant even expain this book thats how great it is
          • summerstar
            summerstarMonday, June 29, 2015 at 8:32 am55 stars
            So far, " pictures of hollis woods " is a great book. I can't believe such a nice girl is being fostered by the WORST foster parents. For example, there is mustard woman and stucco house woman. But none, and I repeat NONE, like Hollis. They say mean things about her on the phone, and talk about things like, " No wonder she is not adopted, she is such a horrible child. " But one day she is invited to stay with an artist named Josie, I think. Anyway, there is a lot more to the story I either forgot or hadn't read yet. But anyway, that's all for now folks! I'll write a full review later when I finish the book. See ya later!
            • feluka
              felukaFriday, June 5, 2015 at 6:24 am22 starsFeatured
              Pictures Of Hollis Woods: written by Patricia Reilly Giff My opinion on this book would be an okay book it wasn't the worst but it wasn't the best. I'm gonna say that multiple people could relate to this, mostly children and young adults can relate. The book is about a little girl named Hollis Woods, she was a little bit on the different side of things, I would say she's more creative. Hollis has been to so many foster homes she can't even remember them all, she had one family that took her in and treated her right they were the best. But her habit got in the way; she ran away she was to blind to see she had a great home, this all means she needs to be picked up by social services. Hollis called the woman mustard lady, the one who brought her to her new home with Josie the former artist with a cat named Henry. Hollis just wanted to go back to her old ways and up and leave or at least try to run away, as much as she didn't want to admit it she loved it there. Through out the book Hollis misses Steven her old foster brother he was the best to her and she couldn't see that behind all the stubbornness. Hollis is kind of a quiet girl but she speaks through her drawings, the drawings and everything is the way that her and Josie get along seeing as Josie was an artist. Josie is very creative as well as Hollis so they got along fine, Josie is more of a go with the flow and nicer laid back foster parent. Hollis is very unique because how many kids these days bringing around a sketch pad all day drawing every little detail that stands out to her. The book is a good one and it's not like your regular basic relation between the author and the reader it's more of a inside and special one because kids that don't have homes or even adopted kids could feel this way so I think it's great. I recommend this book to 6th grade and up, for a person that can relate but also people that don't it's a kinda slow at first but it gets better.
              • jenny1214
                jenny1214Thursday, January 8, 2015 at 8:21 pm55 stars
                so scary
                • panda127
                  panda127Saturday, May 24, 2014 at 5:54 pm11 star
                  I hate this book so far. It is so confusing between the 1 picture then right after that there's the next chapter then so on and so forth. So far I do not recommend this book but at the end my teacher said that it is supposed to be a really good book and it is an award winning or something.....
                  • nygiants3896
                    nygiants3896Thursday, November 21, 2013 at 2:22 pm11 star
                    Read it if you are looking for a boring nonsense book. But it is very heartbreaking about a girl who...
                    • rozeb
                      rozebThursday, November 7, 2013 at 3:40 pm44 stars
                      This is such a great book! I really loved it! I liked the part when she snuck into their cabin. I read this book about a year ago so I don't remember the details.

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      savage4lifebruh

                      Rodrick is a real bad in this bo...
                      Diary of a Wimpy Kid Rodrick Rules

                      Malaya wrote:

                      I really like this book I read a...
                      Ghosts

                      book bug wrote:

                      this book is great. full of adve...
                      Holes

                      googoo wrote:

                      AMAZING
                      Holes