Pictures of Hollis Woods (Newbery Honor Book)

Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 2 - 8V4.431319
This Newbery Honor book about a girl who has never known family fighting for her first true home “will leave readers . . . satisfied” (Kirkus Reviews).

Hollis Woods
is the place where a baby was abandoned
is the baby’s name
is an artist
is now a twelve-year-old girl
who’s been in so many foster homes she can hardly remember them all.

When Hollis is sent to Josie, an elderly artist who is quirky and affectionate, she wants to stay. But Josie is growing more forgetful every day. If Social Services finds out, they’ll take Hollis away and move Josie into a home. Well, Hollis Woods won’t let anyone separate them. She’s escaped the system before; this time, she’s taking Josie with her. Still, even as she plans her future with Josie, Hollis dreams of the past summer with the Regans, fixing each special moment of her days with them in pictures she’ll never forget.

Patricia Reilly Giff captures the yearning for a place to belong in this warmhearted story, which stresses the importance of artistic vision, creativity, and above all, family.
Hardcover, 176 pages
Published on September 10, 2002 by Wendy Lamb Books
ISBN-10: 0385326556
ISBN-13: 9780385326551
24 Book Reviews
  • bsc
    bscSunday, May 3, 2020 at 5:09 pm33 stars
    This book was okay. So Hollis Woods was abandoned when she was a baby. She has been to several foster homes and they were nothing amazing. So she ran away. But Josie is different. She loves Josie, except Josie is forgetting things. Now, they may take Josie away from Hollis. Hollis has to keep them safe and not found. It goes back and forth between present and past.
    • ilikebunnies
      ilikebunniesWednesday, May 29, 2019 at 7:12 pm33 stars
      this is a book about a girl who runs away from all of her guardians and everywhere she goes she thinks about her pictures she made for other people and in the end she finds the family she loved and missed.
      • marlo1371474414
        marlo1371474414Friday, November 17, 2017 at 10:54 am55 stars
        Hollis Woods is the place where a baby was abandoned is the baby’s name is an artist is now a twelve-year-old girl who’s been in so many foster homes she can hardly remember them all. When Hollis is sent to Josie, an elderly artist who is quirky and affectionate, she wants to stay. But Josie is growing more forgetful every day. If Social Services finds out, they’ll take Hollis away and move Josie into a home. Well, Hollis Woods won’t let anyone separate them. She’s escaped the system before; this time, she’s taking Josie with her. Still, even as she plans her future with Josie, Hollis dreams of the past summer
        • joeycollin13
          joeycollin13Friday, November 17, 2017 at 9:26 am55 stars
          I love this book!!!!!
          • phoenixdrama
            phoenixdramaThursday, November 16, 2017 at 5:57 pm55 stars
            I loved this book so much!!! I read it as a class. Anyone should read it!!
            • connormath
              connormathMonday, October 5, 2015 at 11:31 am55 stars
              It was a great book, I would definitely read it again
              • parkerposi
                parkerposiFriday, September 11, 2015 at 9:07 am
                I really want to read this book because I have herd very good things about this book I'm so excited to read it
                • emmiem
                  emmiemFriday, September 11, 2015 at 8:40 am
                  I want to read it because it sounds really good and interesting. I like books in this genre too.
                  • unicorn123
                    unicorn123Thursday, September 3, 2015 at 2:30 pm55 stars
                    this is such a good book iv read it twice and i really like its so amazing and like i cant even expain this book thats how great it is
                    • summerstar
                      summerstarMonday, June 29, 2015 at 8:32 am55 stars
                      So far, " pictures of hollis woods " is a great book. I can't believe such a nice girl is being fostered by the WORST foster parents. For example, there is mustard woman and stucco house woman. But none, and I repeat NONE, like Hollis. They say mean things about her on the phone, and talk about things like, " No wonder she is not adopted, she is such a horrible child. " But one day she is invited to stay with an artist named Josie, I think. Anyway, there is a lot more to the story I either forgot or hadn't read yet. But anyway, that's all for now folks! I'll write a full review later when I finish the book. See ya later!