Philippa Fisher's Fairy Godsister (Philippa Fisher, Bk 1)

Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 2 - 5S4.149313
New from the author of the best-selling Emily Windsnap series! A tale of a girl and her reluctant fairy guardian sparkles with magic and charm.

Philippa Fisher would like nothing more than to summon a fairy. Still, she is taken aback when Daisy, the new girl at school, announces that she is Philippa's fairy godmother — or godsister, since they're both the same age. Though the fairy is none too pleased with her mission, she is obliged to see it through and grant her human charge the customary three wishes. Now, if only Philippa would wish for something that makes her life better, not worse! With warmth and whimsy, the creator of Emily Windsnap whisks a traditional theme into a contemporary setting to tell a story of friendship, luck, and how we decide what we really want.
Hardcover, 256 pages
Published on September 9, 2008 by Candlewick
ISBN-10: 0763640700
ISBN-13: 9780763640705
10 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • bookstory14
    bookstory14Sunday, May 27, 2018 at 12:51 pm55 starsFeatured
    Phillipa Fisher grew up with the most peculiar parents. They are not ordinary and are the cause of all of her misery. She's not popular, she's shy, and she's smart. One day Phillipa is making a daisy chain when a tingling sensation occurs and she has the realization that the daisy she just picked will become a fairy. Phillipa hurls the daisy and doesn't even go to look for it! Then Daisy comes-the fairy that was the daisy-and meets Phillipa. Daisy is not all that happy after being thrown and bruised and bent. But, staying true to her job as a godmother (or rather godsister. She is just the same age as Phillipa, how can she be a godmother?) she offers Phillipa three wishes. I love this book because it covers a question that I use to write fiction: Is the perfect life really perfect?
    • happyface221
      happyface221Sunday, September 14, 2014 at 8:30 pm
      really good
      • nancydrew963
        nancydrew963Saturday, January 11, 2014 at 5:50 pm55 stars
        liz kessler was one of my favorite authors when i was younger, and i grew up with emily windsnap books so when i heard about this series, i was PSYCHED! i made my mom buy it for me immediately when i saw it at the bookstore, and what i read definitely met my high standards. liz kessler never ceases to amaze in each of her intricately woven books. the last book in the philippa fisher series is the best, in my opinion. if you're planning on reading this series, make sure you're ready to get sucked into a dazzling world.
        • purpleminnu
          purpleminnuFriday, December 27, 2013 at 9:49 am55 stars
          This book is about a girl with a best friend moving away, crazy abnormal parents and a school bully that bothers her everyday. She ends up getting a Fairy Godsister who also doesn't like her. She can only grant her 3 wishes.
          • sketcharoo122
            sketcharoo122Tuesday, January 8, 2013 at 2:55 pm
            I luv this book series, i recomned it to anyone
            • mogan
              moganWednesday, December 19, 2012 at 7:27 am55 stars
              this book is great for kids and it =s a great adventure.
              • pearlypink
                pearlypinkFriday, October 19, 2012 at 12:34 pm
                I LOVE THIS BOOK AND THIS SERIES AND THIS AUTHOR!!!!!! :D
                • 20tkustwan
                  20tkustwanMonday, October 1, 2012 at 1:00 pm
                  This book is great! It;s really good if you are into fantasy or into fairies.
                  • waterlily06
                    waterlily06Thursday, February 16, 2012 at 12:16 pm55 stars
                    This book is a really good book. It's about a girl whose best friend moved away and a new girl (whos really a fairy) becomes her new bff!!!
                    • borntoswim
                      borntoswimSaturday, October 29, 2011 at 9:11 am
                      this is a different series but equally good u should really read it it is about a fairy and a human