Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 5 - 10W6.742156
Hailed as “a classic. . . . humorous, full of warmth and real invention” (The New Yorker), this beloved story--first published more than fifty ago--introduces readers to Milo and his adventures in the Lands Beyond.

For Milo, everything’s a bore. When a tollbooth mysteriously appears in his room, he drives through only because he’s got nothing better to do. But on the other side, things seem different. Milo visits the Island of Conclusions (you get there by jumping), learns about time from a ticking watchdog named Tock, and even embarks on a quest to rescue Rhyme and Reason! Somewhere along the way, Milo realizes something astonishing. Life is far from dull. In fact, it’s exciting beyond his wildest dreams. . . .

Features an appreciation by Maurice Sendak, award-winning author of Where the Wild Things Are!

“I read [The Phantom Tollbooth] first when I was ten. I still have the book report I wrote, which began ‘This is the best book ever.’”—The New York Times

“The Phantom Tollbooth is the closest thing we have to a modern Alice in Wonderland.”—The Guardian

“The book lingers long after turning the final page. . . . A classic indeed.” —Los Angeles Review of Books

“You loved the humor and adventure . . . and [now] you’ll marvel at [the book's] wit, complexity, and its understanding of how children perceive the passage of time.” —Entertainment Weekly
Paperback, 32 pages
Published on January 2, 2012 by Novel Units, Inc.
ISBN-10: 1561372900
ISBN-13: 9781561372904
39 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • piggie101
    piggie101Tuesday, December 11, 2018 at 7:55 am44 stars
    This book was amazing it had so much magic and love put into the book it help you learn lesson about look on the bright side of life and it helps you with your vocabulary and it is funny and includes so much more. 4 stars
    • tymyvizezibaxi
      tymyvizezibaxiTuesday, November 6, 2018 at 11:55 am33 stars
      This book is an interesting book, it's fantasy. So bascically Milo is on a journey where he is trying to find and bring back Ryme and Reason to make things right.
      • littlemominah5
        littlemominah5Monday, August 6, 2018 at 11:02 am55 stars
        very awesome book .. loved it .. it totally explains the how your senses work....
        • sally0221
          sally0221Tuesday, January 9, 2018 at 7:32 pm44 stars
          What a crazy play of words and words! Super poetic and very good for actually, study purposes! SUPER wide range of language! Unfortunately, don't recommend this book to beginners. This book brings you into a WORLD OF TIME!
          • AryanSunday, June 25, 2017 at 4:38 pm
            I think this book is wonderful amazing and exotic
            • cutebulldog
              cutebulldogFriday, October 7, 2016 at 6:32 pm55 stars
              This book is about a boy that fixes two king brothership with a dog and a bettle
              • lebronjames1
                lebronjames1Thursday, May 19, 2016 at 7:39 pm55 stars
                Hello! This is a great book, I love it. This book is great, because it gives an interesting perspective on different things. Remember, the way you think about things may not be the same as somebody else. That's why I love this book! Definitely, I recommend reading it.
                • nzcoolkid
                  nzcoolkidMonday, February 15, 2016 at 11:31 am44 stars
                  Although I read this for my schoolwork, I really enjoyed reading it, as it was quite humorous and required small amounts of brain work. When Milo finds a mysterious tollbooth in his room, along with a small car, he thinks his boring life may have come to a complete stop.
                  • singer116
                    singer116Thursday, February 4, 2016 at 2:17 pm55 stars
                    I'm not done yet, I'm only on the 32nd page, but trust me, I can tell, this book is going to be AMAZING! You may think the cover looks kinda funky, but hey, never judge a book by it's cover, right?
                    • hanin
                      haninWednesday, December 30, 2015 at 3:05 pm55 stars
                      i like this book so much. i relly want to read it . i know that i like this book becase i saw somebody read it and say fantastic book

                      Our Apps and Plugins