Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 5 - 10W6.742156
Hailed as “a classic. . . . humorous, full of warmth and real invention” (The New Yorker), this beloved story--first published more than fifty ago--introduces readers to Milo and his adventures in the Lands Beyond.

For Milo, everything’s a bore. When a tollbooth mysteriously appears in his room, he drives through only because he’s got nothing better to do. But on the other side, things seem different. Milo visits the Island of Conclusions (you get there by jumping), learns about time from a ticking watchdog named Tock, and even embarks on a quest to rescue Rhyme and Reason! Somewhere along the way, Milo realizes something astonishing. Life is far from dull. In fact, it’s exciting beyond his wildest dreams. . . .

Features an appreciation by Maurice Sendak, award-winning author of Where the Wild Things Are!

“I read [The Phantom Tollbooth] first when I was ten. I still have the book report I wrote, which began ‘This is the best book ever.’”—The New York Times

“The Phantom Tollbooth is the closest thing we have to a modern Alice in Wonderland.”—The Guardian

“The book lingers long after turning the final page. . . . A classic indeed.” —Los Angeles Review of Books

“You loved the humor and adventure . . . and [now] you’ll marvel at [the book's] wit, complexity, and its understanding of how children perceive the passage of time.” —Entertainment Weekly
Paperback, 32 pages
Published on January 2, 2012 by Novel Units, Inc.
ISBN-10: 1561372900
ISBN-13: 9781561372904
38 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • tymyvizezibaxi
    tymyvizezibaxiTuesday, November 6, 2018 at 11:55 am33 stars
    This book is an interesting book, it's fantasy. So bascically Milo is on a journey where he is trying to find and bring back Ryme and Reason to make things right.
    • littlemominah5
      littlemominah5Monday, August 6, 2018 at 11:02 am55 stars
      very awesome book .. loved it .. it totally explains the how your senses work....
      • sally0221
        sally0221Tuesday, January 9, 2018 at 7:32 pm44 stars
        What a crazy play of words and words! Super poetic and very good for actually, study purposes! SUPER wide range of language! Unfortunately, don't recommend this book to beginners. This book brings you into a WORLD OF TIME!
        • AryanSunday, June 25, 2017 at 4:38 pm
          I think this book is wonderful amazing and exotic
          • cutebulldog
            cutebulldogFriday, October 7, 2016 at 6:32 pm55 stars
            This book is about a boy that fixes two king brothership with a dog and a bettle
            • lebronjames1
              lebronjames1Thursday, May 19, 2016 at 7:39 pm55 stars
              Hello! This is a great book, I love it. This book is great, because it gives an interesting perspective on different things. Remember, the way you think about things may not be the same as somebody else. That's why I love this book! Definitely, I recommend reading it.
              • nzcoolkid
                nzcoolkidMonday, February 15, 2016 at 11:31 am44 stars
                Although I read this for my schoolwork, I really enjoyed reading it, as it was quite humorous and required small amounts of brain work. When Milo finds a mysterious tollbooth in his room, along with a small car, he thinks his boring life may have come to a complete stop.
                • singer116
                  singer116Thursday, February 4, 2016 at 2:17 pm55 stars
                  I'm not done yet, I'm only on the 32nd page, but trust me, I can tell, this book is going to be AMAZING! You may think the cover looks kinda funky, but hey, never judge a book by it's cover, right?
                  • hanin
                    haninWednesday, December 30, 2015 at 3:05 pm55 stars
                    i like this book so much. i relly want to read it . i know that i like this book becase i saw somebody read it and say fantastic book
                    • 18es
                      18esThursday, September 17, 2015 at 9:41 am33 stars
                      I liked this book because it had a lot of meaning to it. I really recommend this book if you haven't read it.

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      booklover2017

                      OMG this sounds gooood
                      Storybound

                      booklover2017

                      Why is that? It's fun to read ab...
                      Storybound

                      booklover2017

                      I'm going into 7th grade, middle...
                      How I Survived Middle School #1:...

                      booklover2017

                      Sounds pretty good Pleeeaaase f...
                      Magisterium: The Golden Tower (T...

                      Our Apps and Plugins