Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 5 - 10W6.742156
Hailed as “a classic. . . . humorous, full of warmth and real invention” (The New Yorker), this beloved story--first published more than fifty ago--introduces readers to Milo and his adventures in the Lands Beyond.

For Milo, everything’s a bore. When a tollbooth mysteriously appears in his room, he drives through only because he’s got nothing better to do. But on the other side, things seem different. Milo visits the Island of Conclusions (you get there by jumping), learns about time from a ticking watchdog named Tock, and even embarks on a quest to rescue Rhyme and Reason! Somewhere along the way, Milo realizes something astonishing. Life is far from dull. In fact, it’s exciting beyond his wildest dreams. . . .

Features an appreciation by Maurice Sendak, award-winning author of Where the Wild Things Are!

“I read [The Phantom Tollbooth] first when I was ten. I still have the book report I wrote, which began ‘This is the best book ever.’”—The New York Times

“The Phantom Tollbooth is the closest thing we have to a modern Alice in Wonderland.”—The Guardian

“The book lingers long after turning the final page. . . . A classic indeed.” —Los Angeles Review of Books

“You loved the humor and adventure . . . and [now] you’ll marvel at [the book's] wit, complexity, and its understanding of how children perceive the passage of time.” —Entertainment Weekly
Hardcover, 256 pages
Published on December 1, 1962 by Collins
ISBN-10: 0001846531
ISBN-13: 9780001846531
46 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • Happy sad day Monday, February 24, 2020 at 2:01 pm
    It was ok my teacher made me read it
    • MattFriday, February 7, 2020 at 12:32 am
      Nice
      • freewayiscute
        freewayiscuteTuesday, October 1, 2019 at 1:12 pm55 stars
        Milo is a young boy who never knows why anything happens or why anything works so when he gets a surprise package with a small, purple tollbooth inside you can imagine what surprise he got. When he and his little automobile go through the tollbooth he finds adventurers everywhere. To find out what happens next go ahead and give it a shot. You won't regret it.
        • zack1111
          zack1111Monday, September 23, 2019 at 10:22 pm55 stars
          the book is SO funny and SO hard to turn away and look at something else besides the book. It's about a boy called Milo, who doesn't think positive and thinks everything is boring. 'till he finds a land of mysterious and wonder, And he has a daring quest and a fun time with his friends!!
          • skullhunter2246
            skullhunter2246Thursday, July 4, 2019 at 7:26 pmFeatured
            The Phantom Tollbooth is a book about a boy named Milo, who thinks everything is boring. Milo gets a package one day, even though he didn’t order anything. What could this mysterious package be? This is one of Norton Juster’s many books, including The Dot and The Line (1963), Neville (2011), The Hello Goodbye Window (2005), and many more. The story is about a young boy named Milo who goes on an adventure in a realm of imagination. The book stars 4 main characters named, Milo a human who was always bored, Tock a watchdog with a clock on his side, The Spelling Bee a bee who spells everything correctly, and The Humbug, a beetlelike creature. The main characters had to rescue two princesses, Rhyme and Reason. They had to cross many demons on their adventure to rescue Rhyme and Reason. My favorite character was the Mathemagician mainly because of 2 reasons. 1. Math is my favorite subject. 2. I like magicians. This book is one of my favorite books, as it makes you feel like you're part of a movie. I definitely recommend this book to everyone in the whole wide world. I think that people who like adventure books, and movies would really enjoy this. Well, that’s my review, and I hope this could get you to try the book, and if it did, I hope you enjoyed it.
            • boiWednesday, May 29, 2019 at 1:26 pm
              best book ever
              • ann_marie_h
                ann_marie_hTuesday, May 28, 2019 at 6:57 am44 stars
                It reminded me of willy Wonka and Roald Dahl. It's very wild and imaginative but not so real.
                • piggie101
                  piggie101Tuesday, December 11, 2018 at 7:55 am44 stars
                  This book was amazing it had so much magic and love put into the book it help you learn lesson about look on the bright side of life and it helps you with your vocabulary and it is funny and includes so much more. 4 stars
                  • tymyvizezibaxi
                    tymyvizezibaxiTuesday, November 6, 2018 at 11:55 am33 stars
                    This book is an interesting book, it's fantasy. So bascically Milo is on a journey where he is trying to find and bring back Ryme and Reason to make things right.
                    • littlemominah5
                      littlemominah5Monday, August 6, 2018 at 11:02 am55 stars
                      very awesome book .. loved it .. it totally explains the how your senses work....