Who cut off Medusa's head? Who was raised by a she-bear? Who tamed Pegasus? It takes a demigod to know, and Percy Jackson can fill you in on the all the daring deeds of Perseus, Atalanta, Bellerophon, and the rest of the major Greek heroes. Told in the funny, irreverent style readers have come to expect from Percy,
(I've had some bad experiences in my time, but the heroes I'm going to tell you about were the original old school hard luck cases. They boldly screwed up where no one had screwed up before. . .) and enhanced with vibrant artwork by Caldecott Honoree John Rocco, this story collection will become the new must-have classic for Rick Riordan's legions of devoted fans--and for anyone who needs a hero.

So get your flaming spear. Put on your lion skin cape. Polish your shield and make sure you've got arrows in your quiver. We're going back about four thousand years to decapitate monsters, save some kingdoms, shoot a few gods in the butt, raid the Underworld, and steal loot from evil people.

Then, for dessert, we'll die painful tragic deaths.

Ready? Sweet. Let's do this.

Paperback, 528 pages
Published on February 21, 2017 by Disney-Hyperion
ISBN-10: 1484776437
ISBN-13: 9781484776438
38 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
to use your custom avatar.
  • grapefruit
    grapefruitFriday, October 13, 2017 at 5:39 am55 stars
    just as much as i liked the greek gods book...i loved this one too! my fave hero is perseus. he doesn't flirt with pretty woman like hercules and he isn't self obsessed like jason.
    • Annabeth chaseFriday, May 19, 2017 at 6:37 am
      Need to read this book so bad : )
      • the_awesome_one
        the_awesome_oneWednesday, January 11, 2017 at 10:32 am44 stars
        The old myths brought back for new life!
        • iheartnutella
          iheartnutellaTuesday, December 6, 2016 at 9:25 am
          I loaf Percy Jackson books!
          • tobthi1617
            tobthi1617Tuesday, December 6, 2016 at 8:21 amFeatured
            A hero. A person, typically a man, who is admired or idealized for courage, outstanding achievements, or noble qualities. In my book, Percy Jackson’s greek heroes (by Rick Riordan) it is all about the heroes in greek mythology. I have read three of the stories in this book, but for the sake of simplicity, I will be focusing on one, the story of Perseus. There are three major settings in this story, the kingdom of Argos, Seriphos, and the gorgons cave, the time in this story is anytime BC. The protagonist in this story is Perseus, a very strong child with a difficult task at hand. The antagonist in this story is Polydectes, a king that wants Perseus’ mom as his wife. The first conflict is when Polydectes tries to pursue Perseus’ mom. The second conflict is when Perseus was given the task to bring the head of medusa back to Polydectes. The turning point in this book is when Perseus arrives at the mouth of the Gorgon’s cave, sword in hand.This book is great because it has the action of the original greek myths, but the wittiness that Rick Riordan has always put in his books. I would recommend this book to anyone who likes mythology.
            • mortalnstrument
              mortalnstrumentTuesday, November 1, 2016 at 6:18 am55 stars
              I loved how Rick combined the greek heros, gods, goddess' it was amazing.
              • foodie11
                foodie11Monday, October 10, 2016 at 1:30 pm55 stars
                Percy Jackson never fails to deliver a more youthful and easy to understand book about educational stuff. This book is informative, with a lot of wit. Rick Riordan never fails to deliver a great book.
                • rosee590
                  rosee590Friday, September 30, 2016 at 9:32 pm55 stars
                  great series
                  • mistyriver
                    mistyriverWednesday, June 15, 2016 at 5:22 pm55 stars
                    This book is cool because it is " written by Percy Jackson". It's hilarious!!! There are lots of funny stories and it helped me pass my Greek Mythology quiz!
                    • doglover68
                      doglover68Sunday, April 24, 2016 at 4:25 am55 stars
                      an epic book (warning there are some gross parts)

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      grapefruit
                      grapefruit wrote:

                      Mia has a beautiful future--a mu...
                      If I Stay

                      missknowitall

                      All the Dork Diaries are awesome...
                      Dork Diaries 7: Tales from a Not...

                      missknowitall

                      All the Dork Diaries are awesome...
                      Tales from a Not-So-Talented Pop...

                      missknowitall

                      All the Dork Diaries are awesome...
                      Dork Diaries 5: Tales from a Not...