Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 6n/a5.3133778
Who cut off Medusa's head? Who was raised by a she-bear? Who tamed Pegasus? It takes a demigod to know, and Percy Jackson can fill you in on the all the daring deeds of Perseus, Atalanta, Bellerophon, and the rest of the major Greek heroes. Told in the funny, irreverent style readers have come to expect from Percy,
(I've had some bad experiences in my time, but the heroes I'm going to tell you about were the original old school hard luck cases. They boldly screwed up where no one had screwed up before. . .) and enhanced with vibrant artwork by Caldecott Honoree John Rocco, this story collection will become the new must-have classic for Rick Riordan's legions of devoted fans--and for anyone who needs a hero.

So get your flaming spear. Put on your lion skin cape. Polish your shield and make sure you've got arrows in your quiver. We're going back about four thousand years to decapitate monsters, save some kingdoms, shoot a few gods in the butt, raid the Underworld, and steal loot from evil people.

Then, for dessert, we'll die painful tragic deaths.

Ready? Sweet. Let's do this.

Hardcover, 416 pages
Published on August 18, 2015 by Disney-Hyperion
ISBN-10: 1423183657
ISBN-13: 9781423183655
44 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • Sydney TrippeSaturday, June 15, 2019 at 4:59 pm
    I love this book I love how Rocco uses all those side comments like "(I had to put that in there. My mom is muttering and nodding,Thank you.")" and stuff like that. That is why I recommend Percy Jackson Greek heroes
    • luvmylipgloss
      luvmylipglossWednesday, May 29, 2019 at 9:14 am55 stars
      I read this book, and said, "Wow! This is a LOT of heroes!" It is. This book is filled with info about some Greek heroes. Some have happy endings, and others, not so much. I recommend this book to you, especially if you like learning about Greek mythology.
      • watercolrwonder
        watercolrwonderThursday, May 23, 2019 at 7:05 am44 stars
        This was a really good short-read book (though be warned, it is quite a large book, as in really tall). It is funny but informs you about all the classic Greek heroes and quests they went on. If you like Percy Jackson, you will like this book!
        • dizzyjelly
          dizzyjellyWednesday, January 16, 2019 at 6:26 pm55 stars
          This was a really good book! I decided to read this, because this is narrated by Percy Jackson, (Or Rick Riordan ) and he has a really good sense of humor. He's not annoying funny, and he's sarcastic, but not mean sarcastic. Plus, I read all the Percy Jackson books, and I also read Greek Gods. So in this book, it's not exactly a narrative, it's not a story. It's more of a guide. I don't even know what I just wrote. So in this book, Percy Jackson comes back to tell us about 12 of the most brave and strong Greek heroes, such as Cyrene, Otrera, Perseus, Psyche, Jason, and Heracles. I actually just listed my favorite heroes right there. This book answers so many questions, such as, who cut off Medusa's head? Who was raised by a she- bear? Who tamed Pegasus, and so many more! Sometimes, it actually seems like Percy's reading your mind. I know that, but I can't remember what he said when he did it, and I'm not going back to the book just to read it all over again. I'm not sure if it'll teach you anything, but it's definitely a good read, which you can read over and over again. I rate this a 5 out of 5, and I recommend it to kids and tweens ( or teens ) ( Maybe adults? ) who like mythology, a bit of Geography, and funny... stuff!
          • superthor
            superthorFriday, October 26, 2018 at 1:40 pm55 stars
            This book is so amazing!. When I read it, it was like I was Percy jackson doing everything. I couldn't stop reading this book because I was so into it. Seriously if you haven't read this book I highly recommend you to read it. And if you don't want to just give it a try. But first you have to read, MAGNUS CHASE THE GODS OF ASGARD: THE SWORD OF SUMMER. Then come back to read this book. It will get you seriously into it. Like I told you before, it will blow your mind. I hope you give it a try. Read the book please. I'm begging you but if you don't want to that is okay with me. I'm not forcing you to just please, Rick Riordan's book are blowing my mind right now. Also I'm reading the book while I'm texting. You really really really really really really really really won't regret getting this book. For the last time I'm begging you. Thank You! I really appreciate it!
            • artemis_fowl
              artemis_fowlSunday, December 17, 2017 at 12:27 pm44 stars
              A humorous tale with learning about the Greek gods from Percy Jackson!!!!!!!!!!! each chapter gives enough facts about all Greek gods!!!!
              • grapefruit
                grapefruitFriday, October 13, 2017 at 5:39 am55 stars
                just as much as i liked the greek gods book...i loved this one too! my fave hero is perseus. he doesn't flirt with pretty woman like hercules and he isn't self obsessed like jason.
                • Annabeth chaseFriday, May 19, 2017 at 6:37 am
                  Need to read this book so bad : )
                  • the_awesome_one
                    the_awesome_oneWednesday, January 11, 2017 at 10:32 am44 stars
                    The old myths brought back for new life!
                    • iheartnutella
                      iheartnutellaTuesday, December 6, 2016 at 9:25 am
                      I loaf Percy Jackson books!