The Lightning Thief (Percy Jackson and the Olympians, Book 1)

Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 5 - 8Grades 3 - 8W4.787223

Twelve-year-old Percy Jackson is about to be kicked out of boarding school... again. No matter how hard he tries, he can't seem to stay out of trouble. But can he really be expected to stand by and watch while a bully picks on his scrawny best friend? Or not defend himself against his pre-algebra teacher when she turns into a monster and tries to kill him? Of course, no one believes Percy about the monster incident; he's not even sure he believes himself. Until the Minotaur chases him to summer camp. Suddenly, mythical creatures seem to be walking straight out of the pages of Percy's Greek mythology textbook and into his life. The gods of Mount Olympus, he's coming to realize, are very much alive in the twenty-first century. And worse, he's angered a few of them: Zeus's master lightning bolt has been stolen, and Percy is the prime suspect. Now Percy has just ten days to find and return Zeus's stolen property, and bring peace to a warring Mount Olympus. On a daring road trip from their summer camp in New York to the gates of the Underworld in Los Angeles, Percy and his friends -- one a satyr and the other the demigod daughter of Athena -- will face a host of enemies determined to stop them. To succeed on his quest, Percy will have to do more than catch the true thief: he must come to terms with the father who abandoned him; solve the riddle of the Oracle, which warns him of failure and betrayal by a friend; and unravel a treachery more powerful than the gods themselves.

Paperback, 1824 pages
Published on August 30, 2011 by Hyperion Book CH
ISBN-10: 1423136802
ISBN-13: 9781423136804
1384 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • nala1019
    nala1019Sunday, February 16, 2020 at 12:20 am55 stars
    I think this book is super! Full of action and drama! The characters are brave in the book. Anyone who dares to fight Cronus, lord of time, is brave to me.
    • cosmo1025
      cosmo1025Thursday, February 6, 2020 at 9:16 pm55 stars
      This book is super cool. I am a great fan of Harry Potter, and this book is like a brother to the Harry Potter series. Once you finish the first book, you get addicted.
      • memeboi159
        memeboi159Thursday, February 6, 2020 at 4:53 pm55 stars
        its an amazing book if you are one of those people who like to read and like to think of things as movies.
        • mayflower7
          mayflower7Tuesday, February 4, 2020 at 4:49 pm
          its really good!
          • gosuknowitall
            gosuknowitallSaturday, February 1, 2020 at 7:43 pm55 stars
            I LOVED this book. If you like Harry Potter you'll probably like this book. If you're into Greek mythology, adventure books, and magic this IS the book for you. 5 stars!
            • illeatyourcat
              illeatyourcatThursday, January 23, 2020 at 8:16 am55 stars
              This was a really good book. I loved how it introduced the characters and discribed them well. I also loved how the charcters were really brought to life in just a matter of a few chapters and then the rest of the book consisted of an amazing adventure that you feel your apart of.
              • savy_reader
                savy_readerWednesday, January 22, 2020 at 1:58 pm55 stars
                This book was amazing. As soon as I got it I could not put it down. I love how you can also learn Mythology by reading it. If you love adventures and mythology you will absolutely love this book!!!!
                • kyloren7
                  kyloren7Monday, January 13, 2020 at 8:34 pm55 stars
                  I love this book because it teaches many Greek myths but is fun for younger kids like me Because it also throws in normal things like iPads and flip flops.
                  • Teg PandherTuesday, December 24, 2019 at 12:09 pm
                    This is such a good book, I recommend it to anybody in general and to those who love greek mythology!!! I’m so obsessed with Rick Riordan
                    • Juice wrldThursday, December 19, 2019 at 1:14 pm
                      It was amazing i loved it