The Lightning Thief (Percy Jackson and the Olympians, Book 1)

Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 5 - 8Grades 3 - 8W4.787223

Twelve-year-old Percy Jackson is about to be kicked out of boarding school... again. No matter how hard he tries, he can't seem to stay out of trouble. But can he really be expected to stand by and watch while a bully picks on his scrawny best friend? Or not defend himself against his pre-algebra teacher when she turns into a monster and tries to kill him? Of course, no one believes Percy about the monster incident; he's not even sure he believes himself. Until the Minotaur chases him to summer camp. Suddenly, mythical creatures seem to be walking straight out of the pages of Percy's Greek mythology textbook and into his life. The gods of Mount Olympus, he's coming to realize, are very much alive in the twenty-first century. And worse, he's angered a few of them: Zeus's master lightning bolt has been stolen, and Percy is the prime suspect. Now Percy has just ten days to find and return Zeus's stolen property, and bring peace to a warring Mount Olympus. On a daring road trip from their summer camp in New York to the gates of the Underworld in Los Angeles, Percy and his friends -- one a satyr and the other the demigod daughter of Athena -- will face a host of enemies determined to stop them. To succeed on his quest, Percy will have to do more than catch the true thief: he must come to terms with the father who abandoned him; solve the riddle of the Oracle, which warns him of failure and betrayal by a friend; and unravel a treachery more powerful than the gods themselves.

School & Library Binding, 1744 pages
Published on October 13, 2009 by Hyperion Book CH
ISBN-10: 1423119509
ISBN-13: 9781423119500
1461 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • daniellee
    danielleeWednesday, November 25, 2020 at 12:15 pm55 stars
    I absolutly loved this book!
    • blackpink525
      blackpink525Monday, November 23, 2020 at 4:47 pm55 stars
      I also have the Olympian series + Percy Jackson's Greek Gods
      • jkbear
        jkbearTuesday, November 17, 2020 at 2:04 pm55 stars
        I have the whole series at home
        • kgbradshaw
          kgbradshawFriday, November 13, 2020 at 1:44 pm55 stars
          Yes, yes, yes! I absolutely love this book and the fandom. I had trouble reading it the first few times I picked it up, but I recently gave it another try and loved it. I read the other series that are also connected to Percy Jackson, and loved those as well. I would recommend this book to anybody that enjoys mythoogy or fantasy.
          • kgbradshaw
            kgbradshawFriday, November 13, 2020 at 1:38 pm55 stars
            Yes, yes, yes! I loved this book! I tried to read it multiple times before and couldn't really get into it, but after I gave it about a year I got into the series and the fandom again. There are multiple series that are connected to Percy Jackson, I recommend you read those after finishing this series. Percy has such a funny narration and inner monologue, and the way he describes are much more relatable than other books that have the first person narration. The plot is surprisingly believable, and I can't put into words how much I LOVE this book and series.
            • jb9
              jb9Thursday, October 22, 2020 at 3:19 am55 stars
              I loved this book so much and it is just a great book I can not even talk about it without getting jummpy!
              • chromatic1
                chromatic1Monday, October 19, 2020 at 9:38 am55 stars
                awesome series.
                • sreadergirl
                  sreadergirlThursday, October 15, 2020 at 1:06 pm55 stars
                  I've been wanting to read this book for a while now. Finally my mom bought me the first book. I read it and LOVED it. It's amazing!!!
                  • raindrop07
                    raindrop07Monday, September 21, 2020 at 9:33 am55 stars
                    Percy Jackson never wanted to be special. He just knew that there was something wrong with him. Because after he is expelled out of another private school and is attacked by a monster that used to be his math teacher, he knows something is going wrong. The Lightning Theif by Rick Riordan is the first book in the Percy Jackson and the Olympians series. It tells the story of Percy and how he finds out who he really is, goes on a life threatning quest, dodges monsters around every corner, and finally, takes his place as a Half Blood, half god, half human among the others at Half-Blood Hill summer camp. This book is great and I would totally reccommend it! It is filled with adventure, action, friendship, trust, loyalty and courage :)
                    • aaa57
                      aaa57Friday, September 11, 2020 at 9:05 am55 stars
                      This series is for anyone who loves action, adventure, myths, humor, plot twists and more! If you liked the Warriors, or Wing of Fire series this was made for you, I’m in 8th grade and still love them! It’s about a dyslexic and ADHD boy named Percy Jackson, after an encounter with a Greek monster that he kills with a magic pen named Riptide he discovers that he is a Half-blood who’s godly parent is Poseidon. When he goes to a special camp for half-bloods he meets Annabeth Chase a daughter of Athena, they get sent on a quest with Percy’s best friend Grover Underwood. They must recover Zeus‘s master bolt which the Olympians think Percy stole. But they run into another problem, Percy is being called by a mysterious voice from Tartarus. Who is calling him? Who stole the master bold? What will he do? You will have to find out yourself in: Percy Jackson and the Olympians!