The Sea of Monsters (Percy Jackson and the Olympians, Book 2)

Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 5 - 8Grades 3 - 5S4.663976

After a summer spent trying to prevent a catastrophic war among the Greek gods, Percy Jackson finds his seventh-grade school year unnervingly quiet. His biggest problem is dealing with his new friend, Tyson-a six-foot-three, mentally challenged homeless kid who follows Percy everywhere, making it hard for Percy to have any "normal" friends.
But things don't stay quiet for long. Percy soon discovers there is trouble at Camp Half-Blood: the magical borders which protect Half-Blood Hill have been poisoned by a mysterious enemy, and the only safe haven for demigods is on the verge of being overrun by mythological monsters. To save the camp, Percy needs the help of his best friend, Grover, who has been taken prisoner by the Cyclops Polyphemus on an island somewhere in the Sea of Monsters, the dangerous waters Greek heroes have sailed for millennia-only today, the Sea of Monsters goes by a new name.the Bermuda Triangle.
Now Percy and his friends-Grover, Annabeth, and Tyson-must retrieve the Golden Fleece from the Island of the Cyclopes by the end of the summer or Camp Half-Blood will be destroyed. But first, Percy will learn a stunning new secret about his family-one that makes him question whether being claimed as Poseidon's son is an honor or simply a cruel joke.

Paperback, 304 pages
Published on July 2, 2013 by Disney-Hyperion
ISBN-10: 142316007X
ISBN-13: 9781423160076
324 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • nala1019
    nala1019Sunday, February 16, 2020 at 12:19 am55 stars
    I think this book is super! Full of action and drama! The characters are brave in the book. Anyone who dares to fight Cronus, lord of time, is brave to me.
    • memeboi159
      memeboi159Thursday, February 6, 2020 at 4:53 pm55 stars
      its an amazing book if you are one of those people who like to read and like to think of things as movies. and is a great series and always makes you wanna continue reading
      • mayflower7
        mayflower7Tuesday, February 4, 2020 at 4:49 pm
        its really good!
        • gosuknowitall
          gosuknowitallSaturday, February 1, 2020 at 7:47 pm44 stars
          I liked the Sea of Monsters but I didn't LOVE it. But if you're reading the PJO series you should definitely read it.
          • illeatyourcat
            illeatyourcatThursday, January 23, 2020 at 8:17 am55 stars
            This was a really good book. I loved how it introduced the characters and discribed them well. I also loved how the charcters were really brought to life in just a matter of a few chapters and then the rest of the book consisted of an amazing adventure that you feel your apart of.
            • piggie101
              piggie101Thursday, January 16, 2020 at 10:52 am33 stars
              Not the best but still very enjoyable.3 stars
              • whateveriamWednesday, November 13, 2019 at 8:54 am
                this book starts out with a blast and gets bigger and bigger, read this if you are a true Percy Jackson fan
                • aahana
                  aahanaSunday, November 3, 2019 at 1:53 am55 stars
                  Everything about this book is amazing. It is one of my favourite in the series. It is also an extremely riveting tale. I totally recomend peopke to read it.👍👍😁👍👍
                  • heavytoothpaste
                    heavytoothpasteWednesday, October 30, 2019 at 8:57 pm55 stars
                    Percy finally meets his half brother Tyson, who appears to be a cyclops, a monster with one eye. Can Percy learn to trust him?
                    • joshua54321
                      joshua54321Thursday, October 17, 2019 at 3:45 pm55 stars
                      I rate it a 5 star because it is a great book about a boy named Percy Jackson is in a nightmare which he doesn't know he is the son of a Poseidon. I made a connection by Percy having a really bad nightmare which has happened to me before. A summary is that Percy goes through his school and looks around. He found himself in a dodgeball game among him and his classmates against a gang of cannibal giants. He gets out and is still in the nightmare and ends the book.