Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 6n/a5.350075

National Book Award Longlist * New York Times Bestseller * An Amazon Best Book of the Year

From bestselling and award-winning author Sara Pennypacker comes a beautifully wrought, utterly compelling novel about the powerful relationship between a boy and his fox. Pax is destined to become a classic, beloved for generations to come.

Pax and Peter have been inseparable ever since Peter rescued him as a kit. But one day, the unimaginable happens: Peter's dad enlists in the military and makes him return the fox to the wild.

At his grandfather's house, three hundred miles away from home, Peter knows he isn't where he should be—with Pax. He strikes out on his own despite the encroaching war, spurred by love, loyalty, and grief, to be reunited with his fox.

Meanwhile Pax, steadfastly waiting for his boy, embarks on adventures and discoveries of his own. . . .

Paperback, 288 pages
Published on January 10, 2017 by Balzer + Bray
ISBN-10: 0062673580
ISBN-13: 9780062673589
46 Book Reviews
  • bsc
    bscMonday, March 1, 2021 at 6:09 am33 stars
    When Pax, a fox, and Peter, a boy, found each other they knew that they would be best friends. Peter and Pax are always together and always friends. Life is perfect for each other. But then one horrible day, Peter's father gets into the military and the family moves. Peter leaves his home, his friends, his school, and...Pax. Now Pax is a free fox. As the time away from Pax makes Peter heart-broken, he is destined to find Pax and reunite the friendship. Meanwhile, Pax is patiently waiting for Peter: his boy, to come back and learning about being free. A sad, heartbreaking, yet kind and friendship book. Happy reading!
    • thesmessywriter
      thesmessywriterWednesday, February 10, 2021 at 10:38 am55 stars
      i like this book
      • ginnyweasley2
        ginnyweasley2Thursday, January 21, 2021 at 2:41 pm33 stars
        I read this book. It had a sort of bittersweet ending, so I didn't like it much.
        • locoThursday, January 21, 2021 at 12:18 pm
          This book was really good how they devolped the charecters
          • toono
            toonoTuesday, August 11, 2020 at 4:04 pm44 stars
            If you don't like sad books that arent tied up with pretty little bows then DO NOT read this book. The author wrote this book, book that way because she knows that life is not tied up in pretty little bows. if you like books with happy endings then DO NOT read Pax.
            • bidas
              bidasThursday, July 30, 2020 at 6:15 am44 stars
              if you are looking for adventure then i'd recommend this book. It is mostly about a boy who had a fox for a dog but due to war he had to move to his grandfather's place and was forced to let the fox go. If you would like to read more get the book.
              • lilsmilesWednesday, June 10, 2020 at 12:27 pm
                This is a great book, I think the ending could have been a little better though. When I first read it in my classroom I started to tear up, so did everyone else! I love how peter is determined to find pax. I still don't like the ending that much.
                • savv0100
                  savv0100Tuesday, January 7, 2020 at 5:35 pm33 stars
                  My dog once ran away and I thought I lost her for good and missed her so much when I went to look for her. This book is about a fox named pax and a boy named peter. Peter has known Pax ever since he was a kit. But one day Peter's dad enlisted in the military, which leads to him demanding Peter to send his fox back into the forest/wild. Once it's time for Peter's dad to leave he sends Pax out in the forest and Peter to his grandparents' house. There he decides he isn't with who he wants to be and sneaks out to find Pax. Peter had a lot of adventure trying to find him, but so did Pax. My connection to this book is when I lost my dog a had that same feeling of sadness and the only thing I wanted was her so I was determined to get her.
                  • 406kitten
                    406kittenFriday, July 26, 2019 at 10:26 am55 stars
                    This is one of my favorites by far! The first night I read it I was in tears in my bed. I really recommend this book for people who like a book that is kind of emotional but super good!!
                    • clover5
                      clover5Monday, June 17, 2019 at 4:53 am55 stars
                      Pax is a beautiful and emotional book that makes me cry. It is all about friendship, adventure, and bravery. That's why it is my favorite book that i read in my lifetime. I could feel their misery, excitement, and love towards each other. Please read it!