Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 6n/a5.350075

National Book Award Longlist * New York Times Bestseller * An Amazon Best Book of the Year

From bestselling and award-winning author Sara Pennypacker comes a beautifully wrought, utterly compelling novel about the powerful relationship between a boy and his fox. Pax is destined to become a classic, beloved for generations to come.

Pax and Peter have been inseparable ever since Peter rescued him as a kit. But one day, the unimaginable happens: Peter's dad enlists in the military and makes him return the fox to the wild.

At his grandfather's house, three hundred miles away from home, Peter knows he isn't where he should be—with Pax. He strikes out on his own despite the encroaching war, spurred by love, loyalty, and grief, to be reunited with his fox.

Meanwhile Pax, steadfastly waiting for his boy, embarks on adventures and discoveries of his own. . . .

Paperback, 288 pages
Published on January 10, 2017 by Balzer + Bray
ISBN-10: 0062673580
ISBN-13: 9780062673589
29 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • avery1032
    avery1032Thursday, April 19, 2018 at 5:32 pm55 stars
    This book sounds sooooo good!!!
    • weirdspork
      weirdsporkThursday, April 19, 2018 at 8:55 am44 stars
      Reading it right now. It's getting good!
      • zenqsMonday, March 5, 2018 at 8:24 am
        this is a good book
        • zenqsMonday, March 5, 2018 at 8:23 am
          i read this book in 3rd grad
          • didjnjcdjsjsdMonday, March 5, 2018 at 8:22 am
            Iit looks ggood
            • catvolocities
              catvolocitiesTuesday, February 13, 2018 at 9:36 pm55 stars
              I read the blurb of this book and lemme say this it is a beautiful book!
              • Do u no da waeTuesday, February 13, 2018 at 9:20 pm
                Very good book
                • tofu22
                  tofu22Tuesday, February 13, 2018 at 12:08 pm55 stars
                  This book it a true masterpeice, there are so many sad parts and happy parts and parts when you just want to hide in a corner. I really reccomend this book! I also think that there should be a movie on it! If you like EXTREAMLY emotinal books, then this is for you! Have a good day! ;-)
                  • suchomimus
                    suchomimusFriday, February 2, 2018 at 1:03 am55 stars
                    Pax and Peter ant to be together forever, but when war strikes, they are separated. Peter sets out on a three-hundred mile journey to find Pax. Meanwhile, Pax discovers his own adventure...
                    • smartguy123
                      smartguy123Sunday, November 19, 2017 at 2:04 pm33 stars
                      I prefer this book because it tells a story between the perspectives from a boy and a fox named, Pax.

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      hopes
                      hopes wrote:

                      I loved this book because it was...
                      Mustaches for Maddie

                      spykitten
                      spykitten wrote:

                      I am reading the Land Of Stories...
                      The Curvy Tree: A Tale from the ...

                      jso6
                      jso6 wrote:

                      Zach King lives in a family that...
                      Zach King: My Magical Life

                      jso6
                      jso6 wrote:

                      Rump is a boy with half of a nam...
                      Rump: The True Story of Rumpelst...