Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 6n/a5.350075

National Book Award Longlist * New York Times Bestseller * An Amazon Best Book of the Year

From bestselling and award-winning author Sara Pennypacker comes a beautifully wrought, utterly compelling novel about the powerful relationship between a boy and his fox. Pax is destined to become a classic, beloved for generations to come.

Pax and Peter have been inseparable ever since Peter rescued him as a kit. But one day, the unimaginable happens: Peter's dad enlists in the military and makes him return the fox to the wild.

At his grandfather's house, three hundred miles away from home, Peter knows he isn't where he should be—with Pax. He strikes out on his own despite the encroaching war, spurred by love, loyalty, and grief, to be reunited with his fox.

Meanwhile Pax, steadfastly waiting for his boy, embarks on adventures and discoveries of his own. . . .

Paperback, 288 pages
Published on January 10, 2017 by Balzer + Bray
ISBN-10: 0062673580
ISBN-13: 9780062673589
38 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • 406kitten
    406kittenFriday, July 26, 2019 at 10:26 am55 stars
    This is one of my favorites by far! The first night I read it I was in tears in my bed. I really recommend this book for people who like a book that is kind of emotional but super good!!
    • clover5
      clover5Monday, June 17, 2019 at 4:53 am55 stars
      Pax is a beautiful and emotional book that makes me cry. It is all about friendship, adventure, and bravery. That's why it is my favorite book that i read in my lifetime. I could feel their misery, excitement, and love towards each other. Please read it!
      • fadabyge-155904856774
        fadabyge-155904856774Tuesday, May 28, 2019 at 6:59 am
        This is a cool book about a fox named pax and a boy named a peter. ( spoiler warning!!!!!) Peters father leaves pax in a forest all alone. Then joins the military and leaves peter with his grandparents. Peter runs away to find pax. Its just a good book overall!
        • Ally JTuesday, April 23, 2019 at 12:46 pm
          This looks like a great book
          • LilMewFriday, March 22, 2019 at 12:06 pm
            This book was great. Favorite by far.
            • dabboy6Friday, March 22, 2019 at 9:00 am
              I have not read this book but I hope it is good. Plz respond to me if u have read this book. Thanks.
              • 406kitten
                406kittenFriday, July 26, 2019 at 10:18 am55 stars
                I have read this book and i think you should read it.
              • YungsavagMonday, March 4, 2019 at 12:09 pm
                this book is a really good book but it hits me very emotionally
                • WolfThursday, January 17, 2019 at 9:22 am
                  Real good!
                  • shootingstars
                    shootingstarsThursday, January 17, 2019 at 9:10 am55 stars
                    Such a good book! :3
                    • weirdspork
                      weirdsporkThursday, April 19, 2018 at 8:55 am44 stars
                      Reading it right now. It's getting good!