Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 6n/a5.340870
This epic horse story, in the tradition of BLACK STALLION, marks exciting new territory for one of our most treasured and celebrated novelists.

A puzzling photograph, a box filled with faded toy horses, and a single fractured memory are all that Maya has left of her mother. In Grandmother house, she lives like a captive, tethered by rules... until a shocking event changes everything. A world away, in the rugged Wyoming wilderness, a wild mustang called Artemisia runs free, belonging only to the stars. In a land where mountain lions pose an ever-present threat, she must vigilantly defend her foal... until a devastating act separates them from their band. Like a braided rein, Maya's and Artemisia's lives will ultimately intertwine.
Hardcover, 336 pages
Published on September 1, 2007 by Scholastic Press
ISBN-10: 0439873622
ISBN-13: 9780439873628
17 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • spullyMonday, March 19, 2018 at 2:43 pm
    I love It!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    • animal247
      animal247Wednesday, November 23, 2016 at 8:48 am
      I give this book a 5 star rating because it really touches my soft side! This book sums up my love for horses! Yet I love horses sooooooooooooo MUCH!
      • melindawang9
        melindawang9Tuesday, October 25, 2016 at 1:34 pm44 stars
        I am currently reading it now. So far, it is very interesting. I recommend it to people who like adventurous books and perspective books. I love this book as I continue to read it.
        • horsecrazyrider
          horsecrazyriderSunday, November 22, 2015 at 8:30 am55 stars
          I decided to read this book because i LOVE horses. The book is awesome so far. I am on the 9th or 10th chapter right now and I love it so much. I love how it switches the point of view every chapter.
          • fjenkins
            fjenkinsThursday, November 5, 2015 at 7:51 am44 stars
            I like this book because the author is very creative about the details how the little girl gets the maids kicked out of the house a bunch of times Maids are meanies most of the time to her. some are nice some aren't. the ones that aren't she gets rid of. the ones that are nice she likes to keep in the house longer because they leave her in peace.
            • RandomMonday, October 5, 2015 at 1:28 pm
              This is a good book.
              • tlark
                tlarkWednesday, September 2, 2015 at 12:16 pm
                This is my favorite book and I haven't read it in a year....I think I might read it again! :D I love the relationships Maya builds and how it shows how rough things can be. This book makes you feel so many emotions, scared D:, sad :(, excited :D! This really is an awesome book!
                • unicornbrooke
                  unicornbrookeTuesday, April 28, 2015 at 10:47 am55 stars
                  I started this book on the bus, it was my friends 2 weeks later she took it back, i wasnt done :(
                  • fjenkins
                    fjenkinsTuesday, January 13, 2015 at 12:20 pm44 stars
                    i love this book so much
                    • fjenkins
                      fjenkinsTuesday, January 13, 2015 at 12:19 pm44 stars
                      this book is so good that im reading it again when i just finished the book!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      olliebob
                      olliebob wrote:

                      Once is a heartbreaking, beautif...
                      Once (Once Series)

                      Racer95 wrote:

                      OMG THIS IS SO AWESOME!!
                      Diary of a Wimpy Kid - Double Down

                      rainawave
                      rainawave wrote:

                      When I read an amazing book, the...
                      One White Dolphin

                      Tess wrote:

                      You should read Ellies story
                      Molly's Story: A Dog's Purpose N...

                      Our Apps and Plugins