Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 3 - 7n/an/an/an/a

"A wondrous book, wise and wild and deeply true." —Kelly Barnhill, Newbery Medal-winning author of The Girl Who Drank the Moon

For readers who loved Sara Pennypacker's Pax and Lois Lowry's The Giver comes a deep, compelling, heartbreaking, and completely one-of-a-kind novel about nine children who live on a mysterious island.

On the island, everything is perfect. The sun rises in a sky filled with dancing shapes; the wind, water, and trees shelter and protect those who live there; when the nine children go to sleep in their cabins, it is with full stomachs and joy in their hearts. And only one thing ever changes: on that day, each year, when a boat appears from the mist upon the ocean carrying one young child to join them—and taking the eldest one away, never to be seen again.

Today’s Changing is no different. The boat arrives, taking away Jinny’s best friend, Deen, replacing him with a new little girl named Ess, and leaving Jinny as the new Elder. Jinny knows her responsibility now—to teach Ess everything she needs to know about the island, to keep things as they’ve always been. But will she be ready for the inevitable day when the boat will come back—and take her away forever from the only home she’s known?

Paperback, 288 pages
Published on October 2, 2018 by Walden Pond Press
ISBN-10: 0062443429
ISBN-13: 9780062443427
5 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • lains24
    lains24Sunday, September 30, 2018 at 1:55 pm44 stars
    Ya. Good book, but I think it's meant for girls. Sorry to guy readers... you guys don't need to know about what the stuff on her legs was.
    • YasSaturday, September 29, 2018 at 11:07 am
      this book is awesome! definitely in my top 10 ( and i read A LOT of books :)
      • carmen1032
        carmen1032Friday, June 1, 2018 at 7:24 pm55 stars
        This book is one of the best books I've ever red, don't hesitate to read this book! I wish I could do a summery on this book but it's very detailed, or it might just be that I'm to lazy. Still, you should totally read this book! :D
        • emilyryu
          emilyryuWednesday, March 7, 2018 at 8:49 pm55 stars
          It is the best book ever. It is like so warming and sad but it gives you hope. Also, I really recommend this book to everyone.
          • **********Friday, November 17, 2017 at 10:29 pm
            A really cute book

            Our Apps and Plugins