Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 9 - 12Grades 3 - 5n/an/an/a
Pretty Little Liars meets The Breakfast Club” (EW.com) in this “flat-out addictive” (RT Book Reviews) story of what happens when five strangers walk into detention and only four walk out alive.

Pay close attention and you might solve this.
On Monday afternoon, five students at Bayview High walk into detention.
Bronwyn, the brain, is Yale-bound and never breaks a rule.
Addy, the beauty, is the picture-perfect homecoming princess.
Nate, the criminal, is already on probation for dealing.
Cooper, the athlete, is the all-star baseball pitcher.
And Simon, the outcast, is the creator of Bayview High’s notorious gossip app.

Only, Simon never makes it out of that classroom. Before the end of detention Simon's dead. And according to investigators, his death wasn’t an accident. On Monday, he died. But on Tuesday, he’d planned to post juicy reveals about all four of his high-profile classmates, which makes all four of them suspects in his murder. Or are they the perfect patsies for a killer who’s still on the loose?

Everyone has secrets, right? What really matters is how far you would go to protect them.

An EW.com Selection for the Book You Have to Read in May
A Bustle.com Best Young Adult Book of May 2017
A Popcrush Most Anticipated Young Adult Book of May 2017

“You’ll tear through this juicy, super-fun (if murder can ever be fun?) thriller."—Bustle.com

An addictive, devour-in-one-sitting thriller with so many twists and turns you'll be wondering until the very end: Who really killed Simon?”—Kara Thomas, author of The Darkest Corners and Little Monsters

"[As] McManus's intense mystery unfolds...each character becomes more complex and nuanced, adding richness and depth to the suspense." —VOYA, Starred Review

"This fast-paced blend of Gossip Girl, Pretty Little Liars, and classic John Hughes will leave readers racing to the finish as the try to unravel the mystery on their own."— Kirkus Reviews
Hardcover, 368 pages
Published on May 30, 2017 by Delacorte Press
ISBN-10: 1524714682
ISBN-13: 9781524714680
29 Book Reviews
  • amelialover24
    amelialover24Saturday, March 13, 2021 at 3:51 pm
    I want to read this book!! ekkkk is sounds really interesting!! Do ya'll recommend it?!
    • artsysunflower3
      artsysunflower3Thursday, February 18, 2021 at 8:10 am
      Seems intresting!
      • Lol234Thursday, February 18, 2021 at 12:49 am
        I loved the book but towards the ending it became quite dry. I mean it kind of ended weirdly because I expected some crazy twist but the ending was quite safe. I read the first four chapters in 2hrs and it was so intriguing I wanted to read more. The book is aimed at teens like me but I think it depends on mature you are not how old. So a 10 year old could definitely read it.
        • booksrock123454
          booksrock123454Monday, February 8, 2021 at 11:33 am55 stars
          This book was impressive it kept me interested even though murder mystery isn't my favorite genere. I liked how each chapter is in the propsective of each charactor whitch really helps me relate to the charactors and how their feeling. I know most people like having only one charactor prospective but sometimes having many prospective can lead to more info and the more you can connect with the charactor. I would give this book 5 star any day because it was one of the best novel I read.
          • armcginn
            armcginnSunday, February 7, 2021 at 4:16 pm55 starsFeatured
            Karen M. McManus’ novel, One Of Us Is Lying follows the lives of five of Bayview High School’s students- Bronwyn: smart, factual, studious, and headed for Yale, Cooper: athletic, charming, confident, and the star player on Bayview’s baseball team, Addy: pampered, popular, sophisticated and one of the most envied girls at Bayview High, Nate: the highschool hoodlum, notorious drug dealer, and Juvenile Delinquent, and finally, Simon: the self-proclaimed omniscient narrator and the infamous creator of Bayview High’s gossip app About That. When they all end up in detention after school, only four of the five leave the room alive. Simon is dead- and Bronwyn, Cooper, Addy, & Nate are now prime suspects in Simon’s murder- and just before Simon was going to release a juicy About That update on every person in that room. With a rousing plotline full of twists and turns, One Of Us Is Lying is eloquently written, and an over-all brilliant book! I enjoyed the authentic characters and intrigue and would recommend it for middle school readers and up! Definitely one of the best Mystery/Suspense YA novels I’ve read in a while!
            • glitterclaws
              glitterclawsSunday, January 24, 2021 at 12:31 pm55 stars
              One Of Us Is Lying by Karen McManus is a book that once you start reading you can't stop. I love this book and how it keeps you guessing who did it. With the perspectives changing you get to see how there lives change, like when Simon gets poisoned and dies. Suddenly now they're all suspects. I like how the author sneaks clues in everywhere, and when they're revealed it leaves you wondering how you missed that. This book was one of the first mysteries I have ever read and now I love reading these kind of books. One Of Us Is Lying is a great book for ages 12 and up and people who like murder mysteries.
              • CocoMonday, January 11, 2021 at 9:51 am
                I absolutely adore this book! If anyone is looking for a murder mystery that is not too gory and not too cheesy, it's the perfect book! Really good twists and turns, LGBTQ+ representian and interesting characters! Would recommend for teens and not kids! Had me guessing till the end and my suspect changed with each chapter! WOULD 1000000% RECCOMEND!!!!
                • amelialover24
                  amelialover24Saturday, March 13, 2021 at 3:52 pm
                  omg tysm for saying this! This makes me what to read the book even more :)
                  • crazber
                    crazberMonday, February 8, 2021 at 6:26 am33 stars
                    Kids can still read it. I can’t believe people want kids to think drugs aren’t real. It makes things worse! And a 10 year old isn’t going to be afraid of murder.
                  • lottiestar
                    lottiestarWednesday, November 25, 2020 at 12:16 pm11 star
                    In my opinion, the book wasn't how I expected it to be. (*SPOILER ALERT*) Although there were some plot twists in the end, the ending was trash as it ended by Simon committing suicide and causing all this chaos.
                    • t drizzleWednesday, October 14, 2020 at 12:19 pm
                      this is a very great book, i think older kids/teens might like it a little more so then younger kids because it does have alcohol/drug use in the story.
                      • PipsqueakWednesday, August 5, 2020 at 10:29 am
                        I haven't read it yet but sounds good.