Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 9 - 12Grades 3 - 5n/an/an/a
Pretty Little Liars meets The Breakfast Club” (EW.com) in this “flat-out addictive” (RT Book Reviews) story of what happens when five strangers walk into detention and only four walk out alive.

Pay close attention and you might solve this.
On Monday afternoon, five students at Bayview High walk into detention.
Bronwyn, the brain, is Yale-bound and never breaks a rule.
Addy, the beauty, is the picture-perfect homecoming princess.
Nate, the criminal, is already on probation for dealing.
Cooper, the athlete, is the all-star baseball pitcher.
And Simon, the outcast, is the creator of Bayview High’s notorious gossip app.

Only, Simon never makes it out of that classroom. Before the end of detention Simon's dead. And according to investigators, his death wasn’t an accident. On Monday, he died. But on Tuesday, he’d planned to post juicy reveals about all four of his high-profile classmates, which makes all four of them suspects in his murder. Or are they the perfect patsies for a killer who’s still on the loose?

Everyone has secrets, right? What really matters is how far you would go to protect them.

An EW.com Selection for the Book You Have to Read in May
A Bustle.com Best Young Adult Book of May 2017
A Popcrush Most Anticipated Young Adult Book of May 2017

“You’ll tear through this juicy, super-fun (if murder can ever be fun?) thriller."—Bustle.com

An addictive, devour-in-one-sitting thriller with so many twists and turns you'll be wondering until the very end: Who really killed Simon?”—Kara Thomas, author of The Darkest Corners and Little Monsters

"[As] McManus's intense mystery unfolds...each character becomes more complex and nuanced, adding richness and depth to the suspense." —VOYA, Starred Review

"This fast-paced blend of Gossip Girl, Pretty Little Liars, and classic John Hughes will leave readers racing to the finish as the try to unravel the mystery on their own."— Kirkus Reviews
Hardcover, 368 pages
Published on May 30, 2017 by Delacorte Press
ISBN-10: 1524714682
ISBN-13: 9781524714680
14 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • tastydonuts111
    tastydonuts111Monday, October 28, 2019 at 6:57 pm22 stars
    Eh... Its a okay book, I guess. Ending was cheesy. There are a few uncomfortable scenes in this book.
    • Bunny🐰Wednesday, October 23, 2019 at 6:59 pm
      Is this a good murder mystery?
      • tank337
        tank337Sunday, October 20, 2019 at 6:54 am55 starsFeatured
        This book is a thrilling ride between romance, mysteries and betrayal. I love how the author writes in the different perspectives of the four suspects and documents what happens in their day to day life. The characters are perfectly described and the way they act is so realistic that it seems like they reach out of the book and snatch you in. The plot is a murder mystery where Simon ( the victim ) has been poisoned and died. You experience the rollercoaster of events as the plot thickens; with more aspects added to the complex mystery at every turn. It felt as though the book was keeping me up to date with the ever growing enigma as everything spirals out of control. I recommend this book to all genders from age 10 onwards, because it might be hard for younger people to understand the events taking place. You won’t regret buying and reading this book because it’s riveting, hectic and keeps you gripped to the cryptic turn of events.
        • glitterclaws
          glitterclawsWednesday, October 23, 2019 at 6:37 pm
          sounds really good can't wait to read thanks for the great comment Tank337.
        • memyselfandiyay
          memyselfandiyayFriday, April 5, 2019 at 8:51 am
          My friend has this book and she said she loved it. Full of murder mystery, I really want to read it.
          • hogwartsexpress
            hogwartsexpressThursday, January 17, 2019 at 10:42 am55 stars
            Sounds Like a really good book but I was able to figure out who was the murderer right a way.
            • asia26
              asia26Thursday, January 17, 2019 at 10:39 am55 stars
              I'm only in fifth grade but i loved this book
              • spps1
                spps1Thursday, January 17, 2019 at 10:05 am55 stars
                Love it!
                • KristiSunday, October 14, 2018 at 2:54 pm
                  I was left on a cliff hanger at every chapter, switching from swooning to gasping and back again. Best thriller I've read in ages
                  • AspasiaTuesday, October 9, 2018 at 1:37 pm
                    4/5: THIS BOOK IS AMAZING! Normally I steer clear of mysteries or any books where you have to solve who did it. However, this book did it for me. I have no problem picking up another one in the near future. This had mystery, suspense, and romance all together in one. What more could I ask for? From the first page to the last, I was on the edge of my seat. As the characters grew and more secrets were revealed, I was trying to put the mystery together myself. The 3 main characters are nothing alike and somehow they became friends. They learned who their true friends are and what to do in difficult situations like these. They held their ground even though they were doubted by everyone around them. I personally had doubts for all of them, but definately didn't think they all had worked together to take out Simon. But when I found out who did what.... I was really shocked, that was probably the best plot twist I have read all year!
                    • NorahMonday, October 8, 2018 at 2:08 pm
                      I read this and every time i thought i knew where it was going, it would change. AMAZING BOOK!!!!