Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 1 - 12Z3.447538
A moving debut novel about a foster child learning to open her heart to a family's love

Carley uses humor and street smarts to keep her emotional walls high and thick. But the day she becomes a foster child, and moves in with the Murphys, she's blindsided. This loving, bustling family shows Carley the stable family life she never thought existed, and she feels like an alien in their cookie-cutter-perfect household. Despite her resistance, the Murphys eventually show her what it feels like to belong--until her mother wants her back and Carley has to decide where and how to live. She's not really a Murphy, but the gifts they've given her have opened up a new future.
Hardcover, 224 pages
Published on May 10, 2012 by Nancy Paulsen Books
ISBN-10: 0399256156
ISBN-13: 9780399256158
24 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • chipydachipmunk
    chipydachipmunkTuesday, February 11, 2020 at 11:22 am55 stars
    i like one for the murphys because it was about 12 year old carley that was almost killed by her moms new boyfriend, denis. dennis goes to jail, while her mom is in the hospital, so carley goes to live with a different family for a while. she thinks its bad at first, until she realizes maybe it's not so bad after all.
    • kkamazing
      kkamazingSaturday, September 14, 2019 at 3:46 pm55 stars
      It is an amazing book. Tears came down my face while reading this book. I loved the book.
      • e06
        e06Saturday, September 29, 2018 at 5:08 pm55 stars
        this book was so amazing. Read it in 3 days. So much emotion. Mrs. Linda Hunt does a great job making you feel for the characters. definetly recommend
        • karatea10
          karatea10Tuesday, September 25, 2018 at 2:40 pm44 stars
          This book is amazing. I love the emotions and kindness the book has. It should be for every child who likes drama and fun.
          • jolly9
            jolly9Saturday, December 16, 2017 at 9:26 am55 stars
            This is a really good book but he careful it has fifty chapters but this is probably the best book I ever had
            • tarynw
              tarynwWednesday, June 15, 2016 at 11:27 am55 stars
              Carley is a kid whose father and mother abused her. She put onto foster care at the Murphy's house. But they're all so perfect, and Carley feels she'll never fit in. I highly recommend this novel to everyone!
              • kelly4lyfe
                kelly4lyfeSaturday, April 23, 2016 at 3:25 pm55 stars
                love, love, LOOOOOVE this book! If you didn't read this book yet then you should!! It's an amazing book! I recommend you all to read this book because it's awesome!
                • saphlover249
                  saphlover249Tuesday, March 22, 2016 at 4:22 pm55 stars
                  my cousin recommended it
                  • al3720
                    al3720Monday, November 16, 2015 at 4:01 pm44 stars
                    This book is really good, but it is really sad at the end. I seriously cried at the end of the book. None the less, it is still a great book.
                    • demosthenes
                      demosthenesFriday, October 23, 2015 at 9:17 am
                      When Carley moves in with her new family, the Murphys, her life is drastically changed. the Murphys are perfect and she knows she isn't. when she seems to finally fit in news from her mother forces her to make a huge decision whether to stay or leave.