Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 1 - 12Z3.447538
A moving debut novel about a foster child learning to open her heart to a family's love

Carley uses humor and street smarts to keep her emotional walls high and thick. But the day she becomes a foster child, and moves in with the Murphys, she's blindsided. This loving, bustling family shows Carley the stable family life she never thought existed, and she feels like an alien in their cookie-cutter-perfect household. Despite her resistance, the Murphys eventually show her what it feels like to belong--until her mother wants her back and Carley has to decide where and how to live. She's not really a Murphy, but the gifts they've given her have opened up a new future.
Paperback, 256 pages
Published on May 16, 2013 by Puffin Books
ISBN-10: 0142426520
ISBN-13: 9780142426524
28 Book Reviews
  • megdow2021
    megdow2021Tuesday, January 26, 2021 at 11:31 am55 starsFeatured
    Could you imagine if you were just thrown into foster care, then thrown into a random person's home? That's what happened to Carly. This book is called One for The Murphys by Lynda Mullaly Hunt. This story takes place in the Murphy's house. Carly is the protagonist in this book, her mom's boyfriend Dennis beat Carly right before she was put into foster care. Carly's mom went to a mental hospital and Dennis was put into jail. Carly was put into the Murphy's house and had to start fresh. She made this friend at her new school and her name is Tony, she didn’t tell Tony that she was in a foster home and they got into a big fight when tony found out. Carly doesn’t like her foster brother, but she does like the other two. I liked this book because it has a lot of ups and downs. I liked how Carly started liking the Murphys but when she first moved in with them she didn’t like them at all. I recommend this book to someone who is into kind of sad books but turns into happy books! There are some parts in this book that younger kids probably should not be reading.
    • Brix962BThursday, October 1, 2020 at 10:36 am
      This book is amazing! The first time I read it so fast! This is one of my favorite books that I would definitely recommend for anyone who loves realistic fiction. I have read this book twice. Both times were amazing! Thank you Linda Mullaly Hunt for writing such a good book!
      • belle252
        belle252Friday, May 22, 2020 at 12:30 am55 stars
        This book is amazing. Carley is a foster kid, and lives in the Murphy's house until her mother emerges from the hospital. At first she does not like the Murphy's, but she realizes they are like a new family to her. She feels like she could become one of them, but there's a rocky road ahead of her. Her life turns upside down when her mother tells her that... Overall, this is a good book that plays with the readers emotions- it has some type of force that pulls you into the book.
        • bsc
          bscFriday, May 8, 2020 at 1:40 pm44 stars
          Carly Conner is a foster kid. After a scary night she is now a foster kid. She goes to a family called the Murphys and she changes. She makes a friend, and maybe things won't be so bad. It was a little predictable and appropriate for kids +9 years. I give it 4 stars.
          • chipydachipmunk
            chipydachipmunkTuesday, February 11, 2020 at 11:22 am55 stars
            i like one for the murphys because it was about 12 year old carley that was almost killed by her moms new boyfriend, denis. dennis goes to jail, while her mom is in the hospital, so carley goes to live with a different family for a while. she thinks its bad at first, until she realizes maybe it's not so bad after all.
            • kkamazing
              kkamazingSaturday, September 14, 2019 at 3:46 pm55 stars
              It is an amazing book. Tears came down my face while reading this book. I loved the book.
              • e06
                e06Saturday, September 29, 2018 at 5:08 pm55 stars
                this book was so amazing. Read it in 3 days. So much emotion. Mrs. Linda Hunt does a great job making you feel for the characters. definetly recommend
                • karatea10
                  karatea10Tuesday, September 25, 2018 at 2:40 pm44 stars
                  This book is amazing. I love the emotions and kindness the book has. It should be for every child who likes drama and fun.
                  • jolly9
                    jolly9Saturday, December 16, 2017 at 9:26 am55 stars
                    This is a really good book but he careful it has fifty chapters but this is probably the best book I ever had
                    • tarynw
                      tarynwWednesday, June 15, 2016 at 11:27 am55 stars
                      Carley is a kid whose father and mother abused her. She put onto foster care at the Murphy's house. But they're all so perfect, and Carley feels she'll never fit in. I highly recommend this novel to everyone!