Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 6 - 8Grades 2 - 8Y4.130820

Felix, a Jewish boy in Poland in 1942, is hiding from the Nazis in a Catholic orphanage. The only problem is that he doesn't know anything about the war, and thinks he's only in the orphanage while his parents travel and try to salvage their bookselling business. And when he thinks his parents are in danger, Felix sets off to warn them--straight into the heart of Nazi-occupied Poland. To Felix, everything is a story: Why did he get a whole carrot in his soup? It must be sign that his parents are coming to get him. Why are the Nazis burning books? They must be foreign librarians sent to clean out the orphanage's outdated library. But as Felix's journey gets increasingly dangerous, he begins to see horrors that not even stories can explain.
Despite his grim suroundings, Felix never loses hope. Morris Gleitzman takes a painful subject and expertly turns it into a story filled with love, friendship, and even humor.

Hardcover, 176 pages
Published on March 30, 2010 by Henry Holt and Co. (BYR)
ISBN-10: 0805090266
ISBN-13: 9780805090260
30 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • ikuyhiu7y77Saturday, February 15, 2020 at 11:30 pm
    Its a very good book
    • GUY BADTuesday, February 11, 2020 at 11:19 pm
      I hadn't finish the entire story but as far as I got to, its amazing, this book is about an over-positive, naive child, Felix, he is an jewish who lives in an Cristian orphanage at world war II, one day, he found an whole carrot in his soup and he thought it means his parents are returning, he waited for a long time but obviously it did not happen so he decides to go and find his parents, his adventure starts now! will the nazis kill him?
      • I will winMonday, February 10, 2020 at 3:16 am
        This book is sad funny and hilarious
        • HazzaWazzaWednesday, July 3, 2019 at 3:35 pm
          Once is an amazing story. It’s sad, funny, heartbreaking and gives you a different perspective of life. It makes you think about how fortunate we all are now. It’s about a boy named Felix whose parents sent him off to an orphanage when the nazis came. Now, Jewish people have the same rights as other cultures and religions. I have also read then, and now. I absolutely can’t wait for when my mum gets me the next one. She calls me a bookworm, but I reckon it’s just because Morris Gleitzman and a few other authors are the only kind of books I read. (Especially Morris Gleitzman!) I reccomend this nook for ages 9 and over. I would reccomend it for younger but I think it would scare some younger children. I completely reccomend for you to read this book and then get into the whole series afterwards. But let me promise you one thing. You will definitely cry and cry and cry! 😀
          • oofdoof
            oofdoofTuesday, May 21, 2019 at 12:24 am55 stars
            it made me happy and sad, the nazi soldiers seem really scary. I really hope my teacher gives me more time to read this!
            • ajg16
              ajg16Tuesday, January 8, 2019 at 7:44 pm
              Not at my library 🙁
              • bookstory13
                bookstory13Friday, January 11, 2019 at 6:21 pm
                Mine either! I looked for it because of @olliebob's review, but I couldn't find it!! I really wanted to read it!!!
              • gabriana77
                gabriana77Tuesday, December 18, 2018 at 12:51 pm
                I really want to read this book, i really liked the book theif and thought this might be similar.
                • olliebob
                  olliebobSaturday, December 15, 2018 at 9:27 am55 starsFeatured
                  Once is a heartbreaking, beautiful story about a young, innocent Jewish boy named Felix. Before WWII began, his parents hid him in a catholic orphanage where the nuns kept his secret. After four years at the orphanage, Felix is sure that he's received a message. He believes that his parents want him to come and find them. So he sneaks out of the orphanage and finds his old house above his parent's bookstore. But his parents are no longer there. As he walks around trying to find his parents, he learns more about the war, who the Nazis are, and meets a little girl named Zelda whose parents were killed. This is an innocent, childlike account of WWII. I would recommend this book to 6th grade and older, seeing as it is about one of the most terrible wars in history. It is sad, scary, and sweet, and you will definitely cry your eyes out!
                  • MunicornWednesday, September 12, 2018 at 9:34 pm
                    I finished this book in 2 days, and it was so amazing! It was sad to me about how innocent the boy's thoughts were that just made me so engaged in it
                    • KarenpopoMonday, August 20, 2018 at 9:15 am
                      It was really nice book. I cried so much. Also I like there are 7 books. I'm going to keep reading until I finished all !!