Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 5U4.527197
As the German troops begin their campaign to "relocate" all the Jews of Denmark, 10-year-old Annemarie Johansens's family takes in annemaries' best friend, Ellen Roxen, and pretend she is part of the family. Ellen and Annemarie must htink quickly when three Nazi officers arrive late one night and question why Ellen is not blond, like her sisters. Through Annemaries' eyes, we see the Danish Resistance as they manage to smuggle almost the entire Jewish population, nearly seven thousand people, across the sea to Sweden. In this tale of an entire nation's heroism, Lois Lowry reminds us that there is pride and human decency in the world even during a time of terror and war.
Hardcover, 160 pages
Published on October 7, 2014 by HMH Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 0544340000
ISBN-13: 9780544340008
386 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • galaxywolf2027
    galaxywolf2027Monday, February 10, 2020 at 6:58 pm55 stars
    It is about a girl in the holocaust who is helping her and her friends parent. Her friend name is Ellen. The family is trying to escape to scotland. Will they get scotland. This has many events leading to another events. If you want chack
    • Logan Wednesday, January 22, 2020 at 5:40 am
      I think it is an interesting book to read. I did have to read it in school so had had to do work throughout the book.
      • AmyMonday, December 16, 2019 at 4:56 pm
        I think this book shares a lot of feelings. It is a w e s o m e !
        • mooshroomz
          mooshroomzWednesday, November 27, 2019 at 5:15 am55 stars
          It's a really good book! I had to read it for school but it turned out to be really great😊😊😊
          • cookie monster Thursday, October 10, 2019 at 9:05 am
            i think it is a good book but it has a few curse words but other than that it is very intresting and very good i think that it is like a forth grade or above book if you are reading it to a child smaller than that make sure to say somthing diffrent and i thay are reading it to themselves to not lett them say them but other than that amazing
            • heyMonday, September 9, 2019 at 1:42 pm
              it is such an amazing book i read last year and in my opinion this is the best book ever
              • stellaluna
                stellalunaTuesday, August 13, 2019 at 3:55 pm55 stars
                Beautiful book, very educational, and I think everyone should read this book.
                • L.KMonday, June 3, 2019 at 12:01 pm
                  You should read this book. You know why, because of the five stars im giving this book/
                  • lilylunapotter
                    lilylunapotterFriday, May 31, 2019 at 11:56 am55 stars
                    Great book! Good historical fiction! This book explain how hard it is to live during the Cold War for Jews in Germany and how to survive with it.
                    • applebutter
                      applebutterThursday, May 30, 2019 at 8:45 am33 stars
                      this sounds like a really good book. Actually lets change that all of Lois Lowrys book are incredibly written and leave you awestruck. Cant wait to read this book