Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 5U4.527197
As the German troops begin their campaign to "relocate" all the Jews of Denmark, 10-year-old Annemarie Johansens's family takes in annemaries' best friend, Ellen Roxen, and pretend she is part of the family. Ellen and Annemarie must htink quickly when three Nazi officers arrive late one night and question why Ellen is not blond, like her sisters. Through Annemaries' eyes, we see the Danish Resistance as they manage to smuggle almost the entire Jewish population, nearly seven thousand people, across the sea to Sweden. In this tale of an entire nation's heroism, Lois Lowry reminds us that there is pride and human decency in the world even during a time of terror and war.
Hardcover, 160 pages
Published on October 7, 2014 by HMH Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 0544340000
ISBN-13: 9780544340008
341 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • boysruleSaturday, December 1, 2018 at 4:23 pm
    This book is just so touching in your mind. When I read this, I felt an emotion that I never felt before.
    • popcornlover
      popcornloverSunday, November 4, 2018 at 5:10 pm55 stars
      love this book!!!!!!!
      • Book NerdSunday, November 4, 2018 at 2:59 pm
        It's so sad and exciting at the same time. TOTALLy RECOMMEND THIS!
        • eevee-girl
          eevee-girlSunday, November 4, 2018 at 1:11 pm55 stars
          It's really good
          • eevee-girl
            eevee-girlSunday, November 4, 2018 at 1:06 pm55 stars
            In this book, Annemarie and Ellen are best friends living in Denmark, during the WWII when it was occupied by the Nazis. Jewish people were treated bad by the Germans and the Jews had to escape. So Annemarie's family helped Ellen because Ellen's family was Jewish and being chased down by the Germans. The date was 1943 and Annemarie and her mom were going to go to Annemarie's mother's brother's house to keep Ellen safe. This was a really good book because it was telling you history through a good story!!
            • booklover67Thursday, June 14, 2018 at 11:16 am
              the book number the stars was a very emotional book. I felt the emotions of scared, happiness and sadness.
              • bookstory13
                bookstory13Thursday, May 17, 2018 at 5:45 pm55 stars
                Honestly, this story was amazing, but also really emotional and sad. Lois Lowry (author of the Giver) is an extremely good writer, and it is no wonder that she was given an award. This story is heartbreaking, but also very realistic and good for kids who are interested in the Holocaust but not yet read to experience something very traumatic.
                • landyn
                  landynThursday, May 17, 2018 at 10:14 am55 stars
                  dramatic, good story
                  • kingkong22
                    kingkong22Tuesday, May 1, 2018 at 5:29 pm55 stars
                    This book was amazing! I loved it so much.
                    • galaxycat333
                      galaxycat333Tuesday, May 1, 2018 at 2:03 pm55 stars
                      this book is soooooo good I love books about wars and diasters and caring and trying to save your friend read more and you will love it!

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      Mariah Inzunza wrote:

                      12 years a slave a memoir by Sol...
                      12 Years A Slave, Non fiction, T...

                      percyj
                      percyj wrote:

                      Looks so awesome! I'm asking my ...
                      The Meltdown (Diary of a Wimpy K...

                      galaxyme wrote:

                      One of my favorite books. I coul...
                      The Other Side of Dark

                      galaxyme wrote:

                      I think '' Drama" is a really en...
                      Drama

                      Our Apps and Plugins