Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 5U4.527197
As the German troops begin their campaign to "relocate" all the Jews of Denmark, 10-year-old Annemarie Johansens's family takes in annemaries' best friend, Ellen Roxen, and pretend she is part of the family. Ellen and Annemarie must htink quickly when three Nazi officers arrive late one night and question why Ellen is not blond, like her sisters. Through Annemaries' eyes, we see the Danish Resistance as they manage to smuggle almost the entire Jewish population, nearly seven thousand people, across the sea to Sweden. In this tale of an entire nation's heroism, Lois Lowry reminds us that there is pride and human decency in the world even during a time of terror and war.
Hardcover, 160 pages
Published on October 7, 2014 by HMH Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 0544340000
ISBN-13: 9780544340008
322 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • bookbear12
    bookbear12Thursday, April 5, 2018 at 3:00 pm55 stars
    This book has soul and depth. I love the POV that Annemarie has throughout the book. you should read it.
    • Trent Friday, March 2, 2018 at 11:05 am
      It is gooooood ok
      • meadowlark12
        meadowlark12Wednesday, November 29, 2017 at 2:20 pm55 stars
        This book is about strength and courage to stand for what you believe. Annemarie is a 10 year old Danish girl in the middle of World War 2. Her best friend, Ellen, is a Jewish girl. But Jews are being relocated, so Ellen joins Annemarie's family while her parents find a safer place to live. Annemarie must go on a perilous journey to save her best friend's life, putting her own at risk.
        • kimora11
          kimora11Thursday, November 16, 2017 at 4:07 pm44 stars
          I love this book its very sad and it has action, i really recommend you to read this book then you will see all the action and sad parts
          • irish dancer 15Thursday, November 16, 2017 at 10:10 am
            we just finished this book in school it is amazing. A story of courage, friendship and teamwork
            • awesome5712
              awesome5712Thursday, November 9, 2017 at 1:53 pm55 stars
              this is a amazing book and i know people will fall in love as soon as they read the first page.
              • vonudymywi
                vonudymywiTuesday, November 7, 2017 at 11:07 am55 stars
                This book is about Anniemarie trying to save her Jewish friend Ellen from the horrible Nazi from killing her family.Did Anniemary succeed from saving her friend.
                • pobubaredi
                  pobubarediThursday, November 2, 2017 at 11:20 am55 stars
                  The Nazi's have invaded Denmark and Ellen is hiding in Annemarie's house so she wont be killed. Will she and her parents be found or will they stay safe?
                  • irish dancer 15Thursday, November 2, 2017 at 10:15 am
                    i am reading this book in school right now and it is soooooo good
                    • horsegirl2017
                      horsegirl2017Saturday, October 21, 2017 at 1:11 pm
                      The book is okay for me because I'm Jewish so it kinda bothers me but I still like reading books about the holocaust.

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      Toy Bonnie wrote:

                      I like how you can just hop into...
                      Five Nights at Freddy's: The Sil...

                      iikitty wrote:

                      LOOKS AMAZING!! HOPE TO WIN!! (a...
                      Awesome 8 Epic

                      icecream13
                      icecream13 wrote:

                      The books on Wonder just make th...
                      Wonder

                      rishi_venky

                      The final battle. The one we've ...
                      The Blood Of Olympus (The Heroes...