Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 5U4.527197
As the German troops begin their campaign to "relocate" all the Jews of Denmark, 10-year-old Annemarie Johansens's family takes in annemaries' best friend, Ellen Roxen, and pretend she is part of the family. Ellen and Annemarie must htink quickly when three Nazi officers arrive late one night and question why Ellen is not blond, like her sisters. Through Annemaries' eyes, we see the Danish Resistance as they manage to smuggle almost the entire Jewish population, nearly seven thousand people, across the sea to Sweden. In this tale of an entire nation's heroism, Lois Lowry reminds us that there is pride and human decency in the world even during a time of terror and war.
Hardcover, 160 pages
Published on October 7, 2014 by HMH Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 0544340000
ISBN-13: 9780544340008
353 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • nottellinguTuesday, February 12, 2019 at 5:22 pm
    i love this book so much its the best. it teaches you courage and how to stay strong
    • jaden07
      jaden07Tuesday, February 12, 2019 at 12:13 pm55 stars
      We read this at one of my reading groups at school. it is so good and filled with history as well. this is a great read so u should def check this out.
      • crazygirl01
        crazygirl01Monday, February 4, 2019 at 1:32 pm55 stars
        This book was amazing, I am obsessed with this book. If you like historical fiction, this is a great book for you.
        • heavytoothpaste
          heavytoothpasteThursday, January 31, 2019 at 9:47 pm55 stars
          This book is a really good book. It is based on one of Lois Lowery's friends because she was one of the people that survived the Holocaust. Number the stars is about a girl that survives the Holocaust.
          • lightninggirl
            lightninggirlTuesday, January 29, 2019 at 9:36 am55 stars
            I had to read this book in sixth grade while unwashed dealing with the loss of a close family member. We were reading the book as a class, and following our class pattern, I finished the book. when no went back to class after a week, they only advanced one chapter! so I had to read the book again. this book is probably not the best to read when coping with a loss of a family member, but I loved it! This quiz brought back everything from the book I may have forgotten, and was a great reminder of the fun i had in class with this book.
            • the_super_gamer
              the_super_gamerTuesday, January 29, 2019 at 8:08 am33 stars
              The story has a mix of suspense and happiness all over the place and improves learning about WW2 and the Holocaust.
              • wikrip_4
                wikrip_4Tuesday, January 29, 2019 at 8:01 am
                This book is very great for young readers that are learning about the Holocaust. If you are a person that loves History, Drama and Dramatic stories. I would recommend this book for you.
                • haileysings16
                  haileysings16Monday, January 28, 2019 at 4:43 pm55 stars
                  I am in the middle of this book but it is such a good book I would totally read it. The book is about a Christian girl named Annemarie and a Jewish girl named Ellen. They are best friends and live close. At the time there are Natzi’s trying to take away all Jewish people from the town. If you want to find out the rest I would totally read it :)
                  • cocoMonday, January 28, 2019 at 6:51 am
                    this book is so cool it tells you to not be afraid. ❤❤❤
                    • cocoMonday, January 28, 2019 at 6:47 am
                      I think that the book was so cool i think that you and you will love this book.

                      Our Apps and Plugins