As the German troops begin their campaign to "relocate" all the Jews of Denmark, 10-year-old Annemarie Johansens's family takes in annemaries' best friend, Ellen Roxen, and pretend she is part of the family. Ellen and Annemarie must htink quickly when three Nazi officers arrive late one night and question why Ellen is not blond, like her sisters. Through Annemaries' eyes, we see the Danish Resistance as they manage to smuggle almost the entire Jewish population, nearly seven thousand people, across the sea to Sweden. In this tale of an entire nation's heroism, Lois Lowry reminds us that there is pride and human decency in the world even during a time of terror and war.
Hardcover, 160 pages
Published on October 7, 2014 by HMH Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 0544340000
ISBN-13: 9780544340008
320 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
to use your custom avatar.
  • meadowlark12
    meadowlark12Wednesday, November 29, 2017 at 2:20 pm55 stars
    This book is about strength and courage to stand for what you believe. Annemarie is a 10 year old Danish girl in the middle of World War 2. Her best friend, Ellen, is a Jewish girl. But Jews are being relocated, so Ellen joins Annemarie's family while her parents find a safer place to live. Annemarie must go on a perilous journey to save her best friend's life, putting her own at risk.
    • kimora11
      kimora11Thursday, November 16, 2017 at 4:07 pm44 stars
      I love this book its very sad and it has action, i really recommend you to read this book then you will see all the action and sad parts
      • irish dancer 15Thursday, November 16, 2017 at 10:10 am
        we just finished this book in school it is amazing. A story of courage, friendship and teamwork
        • awesome5712
          awesome5712Thursday, November 9, 2017 at 1:53 pm55 stars
          this is a amazing book and i know people will fall in love as soon as they read the first page.
          • vonudymywi
            vonudymywiTuesday, November 7, 2017 at 11:07 am55 stars
            This book is about Anniemarie trying to save her Jewish friend Ellen from the horrible Nazi from killing her family.Did Anniemary succeed from saving her friend.
            • pobubaredi
              pobubarediThursday, November 2, 2017 at 11:20 am55 stars
              The Nazi's have invaded Denmark and Ellen is hiding in Annemarie's house so she wont be killed. Will she and her parents be found or will they stay safe?
              • irish dancer 15Thursday, November 2, 2017 at 10:15 am
                i am reading this book in school right now and it is soooooo good
                • horsegirl2017
                  horsegirl2017Saturday, October 21, 2017 at 1:11 pm
                  The book is okay for me because I'm Jewish so it kinda bothers me but I still like reading books about the holocaust.
                  • gold_unicornz
                    gold_unicornzSaturday, October 14, 2017 at 7:45 pm
                    omg I read this it made me cry
                    • happy_pineapple
                      happy_pineappleThursday, October 5, 2017 at 12:35 pm44 stars
                      This book left me Crying. After this book, I realized how lucky I am to be living in this world. It also realized that there is a ton of hate in this world and there is no place on earth for hate. I would totally recommend this book.

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      madeintyo
                      madeintyo wrote:

                      This book was pretty LIT! ESKITT...
                      Old School (Diary of a Wimpy Kid)

                      momy202
                      momy202 wrote:

                      this book is awesome so far if ...
                      Spy Ski School (Spy School)

                      nantada no no wrote:

                      BEST BOOK EVER!!!!!!!!
                      Dork Diaries 12: Tales from a No...

                      IT wrote:

                      loved it
                      Wonder