It’s 1943 Copenhagen and the Jews of Denmark are being “relocated,” so Annemarie Johansen’s best friend, Ellen, moves in with the Johansens and pretends to be part of the family. When Annemarie is asked to go on a dangerous mission, she must find the courage to save her friend’s life.
Hardcover, 160 pages
Published on October 7, 2014 by HMH Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 0544340000
ISBN-13: 9780544340008
310 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
to use your custom avatar.
  • lovebooksThursday, May 4, 2017 at 10:06 am
    I really like this book. I Recommend it.
    • abel1297
      abel1297Wednesday, April 5, 2017 at 6:37 pm
      this is one of my favorite books
      • nonstopreader
        nonstopreaderTuesday, March 28, 2017 at 11:40 am
        A very good book. It has a little bit of every genre. It was a very good book. I totally recommend it to everyone!
        • shelbylynna
          shelbylynnaThursday, February 9, 2017 at 7:09 pmFeatured
          I don't know about you but this book is based on true events. This has many characters and their traits are heroic. I don't want to be a spoiler but Annemarie was worried about her mother, she saw that she was injured in the leg. When her mother walked into the house, she remembered she had forgotten a packet. So Annemarie insisted to deliver the packet to Uncle Henrik. So she was stopped by german soldiers and they searched the packet. She remembered her mom saying she needs to act like a no-good silly girl, and Annemarie did so. But that's all I could say. But anyways, I would recommend this book to your older siblings or family, and even friends (or anyone).
          • hellokittySaturday, February 4, 2017 at 5:39 pm
            This book is beautifully and thoughtfully written about a beautiful friendship of two girls: one Christian and one Jewish. This takes place in Denmark during the Holocaust, where many Jews were in danger. The Jewish girl, Ellen, found out that the Nazis had gotten the personal information of the Jews at her temple where they would be "relocated" to concentration camps, and so she hid at the Christian girl, Annemarie Johansen's family. Ellen's parents, Mr. and Mrs. Rosen, stayed with family. They couldn't live their life like that; they wanted to be free again. Annemarie's family, the Johansens, had a plan to free their friends. The Johansens would take Ellen to her Uncle Henrik's house. Henrik announced that there were to be a funeral for Annemarie's "Great-aunt-Birte." Annemarie had heard nothing of this "Great-aunt-Birte" and was suspicious. She knew that her uncle was lying. She confronted him, and he admitted that he was lying. Annemarie asked him why. He replied that the less information you know, the braver you are. Annemarie felt that this was true, because when she had been stopped by soldiers before, her naïve little sister, Kirstie, amused the soldiers so much that they didn't take her seriously. Annemarie wondered what the plan was behind the whole "funeral" but didn't ask because she wanted to be braver. She found out the day of this "funeral." The "family and friends" that went to visit this "funeral" were unfamiliar to Annemarie. They were Jews, ready to escape to freedom. The casket was not full of the body of Birte, rather full of clothes and other supplies for the Jews. They were to escape with a member of the resistance, Peter, and Uncle Henrik, who would sail them to one of the very few free countries in Europe, Sweden. It was successful and Annemarie lost touch of her dear friend and the war ended two years after.
            • duncanthedog516
              duncanthedog516Saturday, February 4, 2017 at 5:46 am
              I read this book in school and it was amazing. It is a heart-warming story of friendship, trust, and war. The ending is really sad, but it is a great book. If you like historical fiction, this is the book for you.
              • lemonpie101
                lemonpie101Friday, January 27, 2017 at 2:55 pm55 stars
                its a great historical fiction book. it has adventure, sadness, bravery and a bit of happiness! i recommend this book to everyone that knows about the Natzi invasion. ( 3 - up )
                • leylush
                  leylushTuesday, January 3, 2017 at 10:20 am55 stars
                  I DECIDED TO READ THIS BOOK BECAUSE IT SEEMED INTERESTING TO ME WHEN I READ THE BACK OF THE BOOK.IT IS ABOUT A GIRL WHO HAS A JEWISH FRIEND .AND THE TIME SHE LIVED WAS WHEN GERMANS HAD A WAR WITH JEWISH.SO HER FAMILY TOOK HER JEWISH FRIEND AS THEIR DAUGHTER.ANYWAY I THINK THIS WAS A GREAT BOOK.
                  • lemonpie101
                    lemonpie101Friday, January 27, 2017 at 3:00 pm55 stars
                    i read this book in class and its an amazing book! leylush who is your favorite character? Mines Kirsty
                  • matt1000
                    matt1000Thursday, November 17, 2016 at 4:19 pm
                    read a book likes this before
                    • mavis36
                      mavis36Wednesday, November 9, 2016 at 11:37 am55 stars
                      I picked the book because the topic of "Natzi life". This book is about a little girl who faces many obstacles on her way to freedom. She loses family and gains a friend.

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      kenmen
                      kenmen wrote:

                      I thought this book was amazing!...
                      Smile

                      inh8
                      inh8 wrote:

                      Best. Series. Ever.
                      The Maze Runner (Maze Runner, Bo...

                      inh8
                      inh8 wrote:

                      Ouch! hillarious!!!! great, in ...
                      Dog Days (Diary of a Wimpy Kid)