Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 5U4.527197
As the German troops begin their campaign to "relocate" all the Jews of Denmark, 10-year-old Annemarie Johansens's family takes in annemaries' best friend, Ellen Roxen, and pretend she is part of the family. Ellen and Annemarie must htink quickly when three Nazi officers arrive late one night and question why Ellen is not blond, like her sisters. Through Annemaries' eyes, we see the Danish Resistance as they manage to smuggle almost the entire Jewish population, nearly seven thousand people, across the sea to Sweden. In this tale of an entire nation's heroism, Lois Lowry reminds us that there is pride and human decency in the world even during a time of terror and war.
Hardcover, 160 pages
Published on October 7, 2014 by HMH Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 0544340000
ISBN-13: 9780544340008
336 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • booklover67Thursday, June 14, 2018 at 11:16 am
    the book number the stars was a very emotional book. I felt the emotions of scared, happiness and sadness.
    • bookstory13
      bookstory13Thursday, May 17, 2018 at 5:45 pm55 stars
      Honestly, this story was amazing, but also really emotional and sad. Lois Lowry (author of the Giver) is an extremely good writer, and it is no wonder that she was given an award. This story is heartbreaking, but also very realistic and good for kids who are interested in the Holocaust but not yet read to experience something very traumatic.
      • landyn
        landynThursday, May 17, 2018 at 10:14 am55 stars
        dramatic, good story
        • kingkong22
          kingkong22Tuesday, May 1, 2018 at 5:29 pm55 stars
          This book was amazing! I loved it so much.
          • galaxycat333
            galaxycat333Tuesday, May 1, 2018 at 2:03 pm55 stars
            this book is soooooo good I love books about wars and diasters and caring and trying to save your friend read more and you will love it!
            • galaxycat333
              galaxycat333Tuesday, May 1, 2018 at 9:56 am55 stars
              this book is like the best i love books about like war and diasters and lives being saved and kindness this book is truly a heart warming caring book!!
              • lonely fryTuesday, May 1, 2018 at 9:33 am
                good job louis lowry
                • Lonely Pickle Thursday, April 26, 2018 at 7:02 am
                  This book is a great book about the Holocaust i would suggest it to young readers and teachers it's good if you are learing about World War Two
                  • JackThursday, April 26, 2018 at 6:53 am
                    This book is so heartwarming i have probably read it like 5 times
                    • bobThursday, April 26, 2018 at 6:49 am
                      i love this book

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      Amya wrote:

                      is there more than 5 stars
                      Harry Potter And The Goblet Of F...

                      Amya wrote:

                      I love the tri wizard tornment
                      Harry Potter And The Goblet Of F...

                      frecklefacec

                      Love this book. it's really good!
                      The Unwanteds

                      frecklefacec

                      I decided to read this book beca...
                      The Dark Prophecy (The Trials of...

                      Our Apps and Plugins