Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 5U4.527197
As the German troops begin their campaign to "relocate" all the Jews of Denmark, 10-year-old Annemarie Johansens's family takes in annemaries' best friend, Ellen Roxen, and pretend she is part of the family. Ellen and Annemarie must htink quickly when three Nazi officers arrive late one night and question why Ellen is not blond, like her sisters. Through Annemaries' eyes, we see the Danish Resistance as they manage to smuggle almost the entire Jewish population, nearly seven thousand people, across the sea to Sweden. In this tale of an entire nation's heroism, Lois Lowry reminds us that there is pride and human decency in the world even during a time of terror and war.
Paperback, 158 pages
Published on December 1, 1995 by Houghton Mifflin College Div
ISBN-10: 0395732700
ISBN-13: 9780395732700
393 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • Daisy 😄Thursday, October 1, 2020 at 5:15 am
    Omg the teacher read this book before
    • sweet-readlover
      sweet-readloverFriday, July 24, 2020 at 7:29 am55 stars
      I read this book and it is a really good book. It is about World War 2 and how it is important about friendships.💕
      • ginny3weasley
        ginny3weasleyThursday, May 28, 2020 at 3:54 pm55 stars
        THIS is a good storie it is about FRIENDSHIP mostly WORLD WAR 2 but i like learning about it
        • willow123goma
          willow123gomaThursday, May 28, 2020 at 9:10 am55 stars
          This book was one of the most touching I have ever read. It is a testimony that friendship and love can defeat evil, which in this book was the Nazis who did terrible things against Jews. I was amazed that there were people out their like Annemarie and her family that were willing to risk their lives to help other people. Although history can be sad because of death and hatred, if we don't educate ourselves with it, history will just repeat itself. That is why I think we, even as children should study the horrors and sadness of the past, learn about those who tried to help other people even by risking their lives, and stand up for those who are hated and despised.
          • queen19
            queen19Tuesday, March 31, 2020 at 10:52 am55 stars
            I read this book in my class, and I was sure that I wouldn't like it. THIS BOOK IS NOT WHAT YOU EXPECT. It is the most heart-touching book that I can think of.
            • loketoke
              loketokeTuesday, March 17, 2020 at 12:01 am44 stars
              From the second I saw this book, I knew I didn’t want to read it. I left it alone for many weeks, and forgot about it. When my mom found out I didn’t read it, she persuaded me to read a chapter or two to see how I liked it. I reluctantly picked up the book, and read a few chapters. I became addicted quickly. This wonderful story about how Annemarie and her family protect a Jew is heartbreaking, happy, and sometimes sad.
              • sophieelwake
                sophieelwakeFriday, March 13, 2020 at 8:30 am55 stars
                This book was one of the best Holocaust books I have ever read. It was very entertaining and a little scary at times but it was still great. Annemarie's little Kristi was my favorite character. she was brave and independent against the soldiers. I would eventually want to recommend this to my friends and I believe that they would love it as well.
                • galaxywolf2027
                  galaxywolf2027Monday, February 10, 2020 at 6:58 pm55 stars
                  It is about a girl in the holocaust who is helping her and her friends parent. Her friend name is Ellen. The family is trying to escape to scotland. Will they get scotland. This has many events leading to another events. If you want chack
                  • Logan Wednesday, January 22, 2020 at 5:40 am
                    I think it is an interesting book to read. I did have to read it in school so had had to do work throughout the book.
                    • AmyMonday, December 16, 2019 at 4:56 pm
                      I think this book shares a lot of feelings. It is a w e s o m e !