Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 5U4.527197
As the German troops begin their campaign to "relocate" all the Jews of Denmark, 10-year-old Annemarie Johansens's family takes in annemaries' best friend, Ellen Roxen, and pretend she is part of the family. Ellen and Annemarie must htink quickly when three Nazi officers arrive late one night and question why Ellen is not blond, like her sisters. Through Annemaries' eyes, we see the Danish Resistance as they manage to smuggle almost the entire Jewish population, nearly seven thousand people, across the sea to Sweden. In this tale of an entire nation's heroism, Lois Lowry reminds us that there is pride and human decency in the world even during a time of terror and war.
Paperback, 158 pages
Published on December 1, 1995 by Houghton Mifflin College Div
ISBN-10: 0395732700
ISBN-13: 9780395732700
389 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • pineapplepeach
    pineapplepeachMonday, March 30, 2020 at 8:05 pm
    i read this book because I'm part jewish i had no idea that it would be that intense it made me cry lafugh crylafugh and angry . i don't know how to add a rating but definitely 10 stars i loved this book you should read it !
    • constance25
      constance25Tuesday, March 17, 2020 at 12:01 am44 stars
      From the second I saw this book, I knew I didn’t want to read it. I left it alone for many weeks, and forgot about it. When my mom found out I didn’t read it, she persuaded me to read a chapter or two to see how I liked it. I reluctantly picked up the book, and read a few chapters. I became addicted quickly. This wonderful story about how Annemarie and her family protect a Jew is heartbreaking, happy, and sometimes sad.
      • sophieelwake
        sophieelwakeFriday, March 13, 2020 at 8:30 am55 stars
        This book was one of the best Holocaust books I have ever read. It was very entertaining and a little scary at times but it was still great. Annemarie's little Kristi was my favorite character. she was brave and independent against the soldiers. I would eventually want to recommend this to my friends and I believe that they would love it as well.
        • galaxywolf2027
          galaxywolf2027Monday, February 10, 2020 at 6:58 pm55 stars
          It is about a girl in the holocaust who is helping her and her friends parent. Her friend name is Ellen. The family is trying to escape to scotland. Will they get scotland. This has many events leading to another events. If you want chack
          • Logan Wednesday, January 22, 2020 at 5:40 am
            I think it is an interesting book to read. I did have to read it in school so had had to do work throughout the book.
            • AmyMonday, December 16, 2019 at 4:56 pm
              I think this book shares a lot of feelings. It is a w e s o m e !
              • mooshroomz
                mooshroomzWednesday, November 27, 2019 at 5:15 am55 stars
                It's a really good book! I had to read it for school but it turned out to be really great😊😊😊
                • cookie monster Thursday, October 10, 2019 at 9:05 am
                  i think it is a good book but it has a few curse words but other than that it is very intresting and very good i think that it is like a forth grade or above book if you are reading it to a child smaller than that make sure to say somthing diffrent and i thay are reading it to themselves to not lett them say them but other than that amazing
                  • heyMonday, September 9, 2019 at 1:42 pm
                    it is such an amazing book i read last year and in my opinion this is the best book ever
                    • stellaluna
                      stellalunaTuesday, August 13, 2019 at 3:55 pm55 stars
                      Beautiful book, very educational, and I think everyone should read this book.