Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 5U4.527197
As the German troops begin their campaign to "relocate" all the Jews of Denmark, 10-year-old Annemarie Johansens's family takes in annemaries' best friend, Ellen Roxen, and pretend she is part of the family. Ellen and Annemarie must htink quickly when three Nazi officers arrive late one night and question why Ellen is not blond, like her sisters. Through Annemaries' eyes, we see the Danish Resistance as they manage to smuggle almost the entire Jewish population, nearly seven thousand people, across the sea to Sweden. In this tale of an entire nation's heroism, Lois Lowry reminds us that there is pride and human decency in the world even during a time of terror and war.
Paperback, 158 pages
Published on December 1, 1995 by Houghton Mifflin College Div
ISBN-10: 0395732700
ISBN-13: 9780395732700
403 Book Reviews
  • kittyluvskookie
    kittyluvskookieTuesday, June 1, 2021 at 8:06 am55 stars
    Very good. Recommend it to ANYONE!!
    • 29zabraham
      29zabrahamMonday, May 31, 2021 at 6:15 pm44 stars
      I really love this book! My class read it. One cliffhanger was dissapointing but i do recommend u to check it out!
      • goos_is_cool
        goos_is_coolThursday, April 29, 2021 at 4:20 pm44 stars
        This book was good I recommend it ! It may be a bit old but I think it is still a great book!
        • cocoa14
          cocoa14Thursday, April 15, 2021 at 2:20 pm55 stars
          i love this book. its a 5 star for sure book. my mom read to me when i was in summer break and it was soooo interesting
          • kittypuppy11
            kittypuppy11Monday, April 12, 2021 at 11:20 am55 stars
            This is a great book!
            • weworofy-160798470925
              weworofy-160798470925Monday, March 8, 2021 at 7:29 am55 stars
              Number the Stars is an amazing book. Annemarie when through a lot still being young kid. I felt bad for her friend Ellen, she had bad stuff happen to her but she is finally free.
              • babyyodafan1
                babyyodafan1Wednesday, January 6, 2021 at 6:30 pm55 stars
                This book is really good I read it in 5th grade.
                • bootiful\Tuesday, October 27, 2020 at 5:31 pm
                  i read this book at my class once and this book is amazing i suggest u to read it.
                  • itsmekaitduh123
                    itsmekaitduh123Tuesday, October 27, 2020 at 5:04 pm55 stars
                    I read this book bck in 5th grade bruh best book ever
                    • animallovinggal
                      animallovinggalTuesday, October 27, 2020 at 4:20 pm55 stars
                      Really good!!!!! Loved Kristi!💓💓💓💓💓💓💓