Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades P - 3n/an/an/an/a
In the tradition of Uni the Unicorn and Gaston, this heartwarming and adorable debut picture book tells the story of a young unicorn who was born under the sea to a family of narwhals.

Growing up in the ocean, Kelp has always assumed that he was a narwhal like the rest of his family. Sure, he’s always been a little bit different—his tusk isn’t as long, he’s not as good of a swimmer, and he really doesn’t enjoy the cuisine. Then one night, an extra strong current sweeps Kelp to the surface, where he spots a mysterious creature that looks just like him! Kelp discovers that he and the creature are actually unicorns. The revelation leaves him torn: is he a land narwhal or a sea unicorn? But perhaps, if Kelp is clever, he may find a way to have the best of both worlds.

Told with heartwarming illustrations and spare, sweet text, Jessie Sima’s debut picture book is about fitting in, standing out, and the all-encompassing love of family.
Hardcover, 40 pages
Published on February 14, 2017 by Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 1481469096
ISBN-13: 9781481469098
8 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • vcatWednesday, March 20, 2019 at 10:59 am
    it was good
    • CUPCAKE FOXThursday, March 14, 2019 at 1:31 pm
      If you like unicorns and narwhals you will like this book. And it is very fun and happy.
      • MadisonThursday, March 14, 2019 at 1:22 pm
        I love it because he’s a unicorn who lives with narwhals and thinks he’s one. Then he sees a unicorn so he swims up to land to get to the unicorn then he finds all of them he wants to live with the unicorns but all at the same time with his friends friends then he finds a way to live with both. I like it because it tells us a message that we all are different some same on the outside but so so different on the inside like pretend you’re favorite color is red and mines blue but somebody’s elses favorite color could be red too but we might have different favorite foods. I think you should read this book or if you’re having a bad day it might cheer you up. I think the nawale was cute!
        • CUPCAKE FOXThursday, March 14, 2019 at 1:20 pm
          If you like unicorns and narwhals you will like this book📖. And this is a very fun and happy😊 story. So do you want to read this book📖?
          • Cinderella Thursday, March 14, 2019 at 1:20 pm
            I think not quite narwhal is a great book because the unicorn thinks it is a narwhal. unicorn wanted to know what it was but the narwhals already knew it was a unicorn so the unicorn went to land and water to visit I think this book is mysterious, adventures, hilarious to if you love funny stuff this book is for you.
            • CUPCAKE FOXThursday, March 14, 2019 at 1:15 pm
              If you like unicorns and narwhals you will like this book 📖. And this is very fun also a happy 😊 story. So do you want to read this book📖?
              • BraelynThursday, March 14, 2019 at 1:11 pm
                I like this book because there is a little unicorn that was born under the water and she thought that she was a narwhal but she was not.Myopinion is I like to read books like this one and I like unicorns,too.I like the water.I like kelp because he is a funny and sweet character in the book I REALLY recommended this bookie you like unicorns and narwhals this is the right book for you.
                • dorks_r_us
                  dorks_r_usFriday, June 9, 2017 at 6:53 pm44 stars
                  This is a heartwarming book. I thought this book would be boring.But it was so fun! I LOVE THE PICTURES.(I like the unicorns)Kelp is a unicorn that thought that he was a narwhal.He lives in the sea.His friends are some cute looking narwhals.He did not swim the same as the narwhals,or have the same taste.One day a strong current swept him away.He found himself in the LAND OF UNICORNS! He missed his other friends.He goes back home.He missed his other friends.So the unicorns and narwhal live TOGETHER!

                  Our Apps and Plugins