No Ordinary Sound: A Classic Featuring Melody (American Girl Beforever Classic)

Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grade 5n/a4.437288
Melody is an optimistic, enthusiastic girl growing up in Detroit, Michigan during the Civil Rights Movement of the 1960s. She is excited and proud to share a special surprise with her family. She's been chosen to sing a solo for Youth Day at her church! But what song will she choose? She gets advice from her big brother, and is also inspired by her older sister, but it's the inspirational words of Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. that help her pick the perfect song. There are many unfair things happening during Melody's time, even to people in her own family. But it's an unimaginable tragedy in the South that leaves Melody silent. Who can help her lift her voice and sing? Who will inspire her to keep stepping?
Paperback, 232 pages
Published on January 1, 2016 by American Girl
ISBN-10: 1609587510
ISBN-13: 9781609587512
27 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • BbTuesday, March 26, 2019 at 9:54 am
    I was really into this book it made me want to read more.
    • rileyThursday, April 6, 2017 at 11:03 am
      cool book
      • emituc1617
        emituc1617Tuesday, January 10, 2017 at 4:32 am55 stars
        This is a great book and I recommend it to everyone. This book tells a great story about a girl named Melody and her family.
        • mytera Friday, October 28, 2016 at 9:01 am
          I like Melody's name because it is sweet.
          • readwriter
            readwriterSaturday, September 17, 2016 at 5:53 pm55 stars
            This fun book was about a girl named Melody who loved to sing. She finally has a chance to sing in public, but something stops her. Is there anything that can bring the music back to Melody?
            • din10
              din10Saturday, August 20, 2016 at 2:13 pm55 stars
              its great loved it i rented it from the public libary you should read it it awesome i recommed this book for other girls ,
              • strawberry1234
                strawberry1234Thursday, July 28, 2016 at 5:43 am22 stars
                This was not a fun book for me. i did not enjoy it because it was all about American girl dolls and dont like them
                • memoiloveit
                  memoiloveitThursday, July 21, 2016 at 9:23 am33 stars
                  I liked this American Girl book more than other ones. I read this book before another book which is about the same topic, except from different perspectives. This book doesn't describe the actually history as much as the other book called Night on Fire by Ronald Kidd.
                  • coolgirlintown
                    coolgirlintownThursday, July 14, 2016 at 6:39 am22 stars
                    I read this book but I do not know which I think is best not liking it or liking it! Some parts were good some parts were a little boring. But as I say those words I do not mean anything to the anthers at all! It is just that I like different kind of books sometimes.
                    • inventor60
                      inventor60Wednesday, July 6, 2016 at 6:05 am
                      Melody: a girl from the south a girl with an amazing voice... but when a tragedy strikes she is left silent. Will she have the strength to open her voice?