When twins Lindy and Kris find a ventriloquist's dummy in a Dumpster, Lindy decides to "rescue" it, and she names it Slappy. But Kris is green with envy. It's not fair. Why does Lindy get to have all the fun and all the attention? Kris decides to get a dummy of her own. She'll show Lindy. Then weird things begin to happen. Nasty things. Evil things. It can't be the dummy causing all the trouble, Can it?
Paperback, 128 pages
Published on August 1, 1997 by Hippo Bks.
ISBN-10: 0590111760
ISBN-13: 9780590111768
52 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
to use your custom avatar.
  • lilyWednesday, June 21, 2017 at 11:26 am
    This book was amazing as it was plotted with a great twist at the end I recommend this book to other readers for the people who don't like happy endings. This book is fantastic!
    • kajunior0504
      kajunior0504Saturday, June 3, 2017 at 10:59 am55 stars
      I found out about goosebumps on YouTube kids. I asked my mom to buy me one so I can read it. I started my new book right away and loved it. I'm in first grade and just beginning to read harder books, this was the level that I need and it has some challenging words in it for me but my mom helped me. It was very detailed and I told my mom what I imagined as we read along, it was a little scary but nothing that scared me. I'm now reading revenge of the living dummy. I love all the goosebumps books.
      • RyanWednesday, March 22, 2017 at 9:35 am
        i love slappy he is my fav
        • ladyirene
          ladyireneMonday, March 20, 2017 at 2:14 pm55 stars
          I READ THIS BOOK BECAUSE I WANTED A THRILL SOMETHING TO SCARE ME AND IT WORKED 1ST GRADER READING THE WHOLE GOOSEBUMPS SERIES LESS THAN A YEAR!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!<3
          • arielcat
            arielcatFriday, March 3, 2017 at 7:33 am
            it was a very good book
            • Goosebumps!Saturday, February 11, 2017 at 6:26 pm
              I love the goosebumps series because they have all of these scary books espiaccally this one. Every time i whisper The Night Of The Living Dummy in the night he screames.
              • keefur1617
                keefur1617Thursday, October 27, 2016 at 7:54 am
                id love to read this
                • kittykat0904
                  kittykat0904Wednesday, October 26, 2016 at 11:49 am55 stars
                  I recommend this book to anyone who loves to be scared. Especially since it's close to Halloween...
                  • lilmiya2004
                    lilmiya2004Wednesday, October 19, 2016 at 9:30 am55 stars
                    This book and the whole seris really does bring you goosebumps! I love it but the to be continued... part at the end really ticked me off but overall its really good.
                    • K.MThursday, August 4, 2016 at 6:26 pm
                      I have read the part 2 or 3 but not the first one I do want to see it.

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      Guy wrote:

                      I used to like Roblox... but now...
                      Roblox: Ultimate Jokes & Memes f...

                      grapefruit
                      grapefruit wrote:

                      Another great book from Rick Rio...
                      The Dark Prophecy (The Trials of...