Nick and Tesla's Solar-Powered Showdown: A Mystery with Sun-Powered Gadgets You Can Build Yourself

Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 6n/a5.136077
Kid inventors Nick and Tesla Holt have outsmarted crooks, spies, and kidnappers. Now they have to crack their biggest mystery yet: Where the heck are their parents? To outwit the criminal mastermind who’s holding their parents hostage, the twins will need all their brainpower, the help of their eccentric Uncle Newt, and an assortment of homemade solar gadgets. Will the Holt family be reunited at last? Or will a hijacked solar satellite beam down doom from the skies? The adventure includes instructions for creating a solar-powered hot-dog cooker, alarm, secret listening device, and model car, plus a nighttime signal cannon that fires illuminated ping-pong balls.

Hardcover, 264 pages
Published on May 10, 2016 by Quirk Books
ISBN-10: 1594748667
ISBN-13: 9781594748660
15 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • leecifur
    leecifurWednesday, August 17, 2016 at 4:46 pm55 stars
    This book is ABSOLUTELY AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! It is one of the best books I have ever read! I hope that everybody who reads it agrees!!
    • pastakana
      pastakanaFriday, August 5, 2016 at 9:33 am55 starsFeatured
      I absolutely LOVED this book! I couldn't put the book down. I learned a lot reading this book and the book was really funny. :D The book was a mixture of science, mystery, and a little bit of comedy. The book had some awesome DIYs (Do It Yourself) projects and I liked that the directions were pretty simple to follow and that the DIY projects that you made are the exact things Tesla and Nick made and used in the story! :) 10/10 Really good book.
      • hot dog manWednesday, June 8, 2016 at 1:15 pm
        the book is awesome
        • bibliophile
          bibliophileTuesday, June 7, 2016 at 11:30 pmFeatured
          Beware: You'll immediately be wanting to do these DIY projects enlisted in the book below. So Nick and Tesla literally did the impossible... and I mean what else is next??? Am I right... well they need to find their parents, whom have been quite absent throughout the first couple of books, but the thing is they have no idea where their parents are located.... DUN DUN DUNNNNNN... now I just wrote the intro and it already has a cliff hanger... yes believe me... you'll find Nick and Tesla's parents... but we first need your wits in order to read this book and get inside this adventure with them... I loved how the author incorporated facts that have to do with the real world of science... and the DIY's were awesome... On Youtube, I'm always awed at what others can do when they post DIY videos... but there's only one problem... I rarely make anything... however when I read this book I was enhanced by the different technology that this setting was placed and you could make a secret listening device, a hot dog cooker, and much more... the hot dog cooker is such a creative mechanism that is on my To Do List... Now I'm a little off topic... however... I really loved this fast read... One word of advice... remember all characters even though they might seem foreign especially (SPOILERS) a specific agent... Sorry I had to... But people who are amazed in our technology and wants to invest in our technology world... because you never know... our world (later in 2050-3000) might turn into a set in Nick and Tesla's book series... so hope you enjoy!
          • llpanda
            llpandaThursday, May 26, 2016 at 11:13 am44 stars
            I really liked this book because of the cool experiments in it. Nick and Tesla Holt's parents are kidnapped and they have no clue where they are. They try to get the agents to tell them some information but the agents know nothing. Will Nick and Tesla along with their friends and kooky uncle be able to save their parents before it is too late?
            • maddyp18
              maddyp18Tuesday, May 24, 2016 at 8:50 pm55 starsFeatured
              I loved this book a lot. This is an amazing fantasy book, with lots of science experiments involved. This book is about how Nick and Tesla are trying to save their parents. Their parents were kidnapped by an evil organization, and Nick and Tesla are doing everything they can to get them back. But what if someone they trust is untrustworthy? They will face lots of hardships as they strive to get back their parents. I think the message in this story is to be careful, and to not rush into things when you are not positive they are correct. My favorite character is Tesla because of her sureness, and honesty. I hope you enjoy the great book!!!
              • readwriter
                readwriterTuesday, May 24, 2016 at 2:01 pm55 stars
                Nick and Tesla Holt are back, only this time they're trying to help find their parents and bust the spy ring that's chasing them down! But when they find out just how dangerous this really is, they start to think they may be in way over their heads. They've stopped a robot army, saved a kidnapped girl, and done all sorts of other crazy things, but are they, their two friends, and their crazy inventor uncle Newt prepared for this?
                • PersonFriday, May 20, 2016 at 8:42 am
                  AWESOME WHOO HOO 500 THumbs up!!
                  • lilyoloWednesday, May 18, 2016 at 10:36 am
                    really good book
                    • jamilynnfaithhe
                      jamilynnfaithheWednesday, May 18, 2016 at 10:02 am
                      WoW! 😜😜😜😜