Nick and Tesla's Robot Army Rampage: A Mystery with Hoverbots, Bristle Bots, and Other Robots You Can Build Yourself

Book 2 of 5 in the Nick & Tesla Series
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grade 5n/a5.031171
Nick and Tesla return in an all-new, robot-filled adventure!

When a rash of robberies hits the town of Half Moon Bay, 11-year-old sleuths Nick and Tesla are determined to catch the criminals—but to do so, they'll have to build a host of new gadgets and gizmos! In this robot-themed follow-up to Nick and Tesla's High-Voltage Danger Lab, the brother-and-sister duo build four different droids out of ordinary household objects—and illustrated instructions are included throughout the story, so you can build them, too! Make bristlebots that buzz, hoverbots that float above the ground, battlebots that duke it out, and more! Can Nick and Tesla catch the criminal mastermind—and foil his army of rampaging robots—before it's too late?

Hardcover, 224 pages
Published on February 4, 2014 by Quirk Books
ISBN-10: 1594746494
ISBN-13: 9781594746499
42 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • chocolatecandy5
    chocolatecandy5Tuesday, September 30, 2014 at 2:20 pm
    When I read the title I wanted to read it because I like robots. Even though they look scary, it still seams like a very good book to read. That is why I thin it will be a go book to read.
    • asma234
      asma234Monday, September 15, 2014 at 7:58 am55 stars
      Tesla and Nick are still staying with there Uncle Newt,Who lives in California.One of Uncle Newts experiments go horrible wrong,and Tesla and Nick try to help him fix the mess he made.These books are very interesting and cool.If my uncle lived and California and was a cool inventor I would be over his house every summer.I recommend this book for 9-14 year old,and the series will have you hooked on the first chapter.
      • sweetheart352
        sweetheart352Monday, August 18, 2014 at 2:11 pm55 stars
        This book is so cool and fun! My cousin got it for me for my birthday and I loved reading it! I would recommend this book.
        • turtlenicole
          turtlenicoleThursday, August 14, 2014 at 3:40 pm
          I wanna read this so bad.....
          • ifeelbookish
            ifeelbookishThursday, August 14, 2014 at 2:29 pm44 starsFeatured
            In the second installment in the series, Tesla and Nick are sent to stay with their cloistered Uncle in California. Uncle Newt is an eccentric inventor, but when one of his inventions go horribly wrong, Nick and Tesla must help him get out of this mess. This series definitely has me hooked on it. The first book was just spectacular and I couldn't get enough of Nick and Tesla. I could relate to Tesla, because she is the older sister and sometimes I just think I know more than my younger sister. The sibling rivalry between Nick and Tesla was humorous as well as the relationship between their Uncle and the twins. I also liked how there was random signs that said WARNING or DANGER! which peaked my interest. The book also had some experiments that the reader could do. I did some of the experiments myself, and they were actually really cool.
            • tim0706
              tim0706Thursday, August 14, 2014 at 11:52 am55 stars
              I lovvvve this book. It is the best book I read. If you like building or doing experiments mixed with mystery, you will so love this book
              • kayoscolony
                kayoscolonyThursday, July 17, 2014 at 4:52 pm
                Robot Army Rampage is a really awesome book, and I hope more of the s a m e s e r i e s will come out
                • loveeangelina
                  loveeangelinaTuesday, July 15, 2014 at 6:27 pm44 starsFeatured
                  In this book Nick and Tesla, two twins, help their friend Silas find his father's quite valuable stolen comic book in order to save his store Hero Worship, Inc. With the help of their Uncle Newt, a brilliant but quirky character, the twins build their own robots which are used to recover the comic book and then are used to defend against the thief and his own army of robots! This is the second book of the series. The neat thing about this story is that it contains instructions and blueprints for five different robot projects that actually work. My son and I are currently building the Explorer Bot and so far it has been a fun venture
                  • bibliophile
                    bibliophileTuesday, July 1, 2014 at 8:51 pm33 starsFeatured
                    This too was another amazing book by Bob Pflugfelder and Steve Hockensmith . It was fun and original and like the same book as Nick and Telsa's High Voltage Danger Lab, it had a bit with mysteries and it was very interesting. It was an easy read coming from Nick and Telsa, the "awesome detectives." They have to solve this mysteries with the help of their gadgets the built in order to solve this mystery, dun dun dunnn.... I hope to read more of these books, it was very intriguing, fast pacing, and mysterious.
                    • yaya35223
                      yaya35223Saturday, June 21, 2014 at 9:29 am33 stars
                      This book was really cool! Its all about robots! If you like robots and adventure you should read this book! Its a great book to read this summer!