Perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier and Gene Luen Yang, New Kid is a timely, honest graphic novel about starting over at a new school where diversity is low and the struggle to fit in is real, from award-winning author-illustrator Jerry Craft.

Seventh grader Jordan Banks loves nothing more than drawing cartoons about his life. But instead of sending him to the art school of his dreams, his parents enroll him in a prestigious private school known for its academics, where Jordan is one of the few kids of color in his entire grade.

As he makes the daily trip from his Washington Heights apartment to the upscale Riverdale Academy Day School, Jordan soon finds himself torn between two worlds—and not really fitting into either one. Can Jordan learn to navigate his new school culture while keeping his neighborhood friends and staying true to himself?

Paperback, 256 pages
Published on February 5, 2019 by HarperCollins
ISBN-10: 0062691198
ISBN-13: 9780062691194
28 Book Reviews
  • bruzose
    bruzose9 months44 stars
    This book was really good i do think you should read it. It was about a new kid in middle school he had no friends yet, he loves to draw but at first he was upset because he could have gone to this art school. as some time goes on he makes friends, there was a school bully. This book really explains life, and its not only school its also family!
    • ramirezj1
      ramirezj19 months55 stars
      this book is really cool i recommand u reading this new kid is awesome
      • ramirezj1
        ramirezj19 months55 stars
        this book is really cool i recommand u reading this book
        • adroit_avimimus
          adroit_avimimus9 months55 stars
          A kid from an inner city school longs to go to art school, but his parents want him to have opportunities and they send him to a prep school that's private where he is a minority among wealthy kids. It's the classic fish out of water, having to find your way in school story. It's well done and he makes friends and eventually he likes his new school. He has to figure out how to fit in to all the different parts of his life. This might be part one and we might get the 2nd year soon. I look forward to it. The art style is full of energy and a dichotomy of the two worlds. Jordan is an artist and his little cartoons are blended in with the story. This won the Newbery and I don't know if the Newbery should give out awards to graphic novels, it does deserve awards. I really enjoyed this and I most definitely recommend this to middle graders.
          • d1no
            d1no9 months55 stars
            it expains life kida like me becuse i was a new kid last year but know i not
            • moralesw
              moralesw9 months44 stars
              i like it cause it talks about feelings
              • vlxnesnxg
                vlxnesnxg9 months55 stars
                I love this book its not just like school its family. Its based on real life in middle and come one some people know being the new kid sucks
                • moralesw
                  moralesw9 months44 stars
                  i like it cause it talks about feelings
                  • flowersrull
                    flowersrull10 months44 stars
                    I like this book because it is not only about school but family to. It is a good fun read.
                    • ssjk
                      ssjk12 months55 stars
                      He love nothing more than drawing