Perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier and Gene Luen Yang, New Kid is a timely, honest graphic novel about starting over at a new school where diversity is low and the struggle to fit in is real, from award-winning author-illustrator Jerry Craft.

Seventh grader Jordan Banks loves nothing more than drawing cartoons about his life. But instead of sending him to the art school of his dreams, his parents enroll him in a prestigious private school known for its academics, where Jordan is one of the few kids of color in his entire grade.

As he makes the daily trip from his Washington Heights apartment to the upscale Riverdale Academy Day School, Jordan soon finds himself torn between two worlds—and not really fitting into either one. Can Jordan learn to navigate his new school culture while keeping his neighborhood friends and staying true to himself?

Paperback, 256 pages
Published on February 5, 2019 by HarperCollins
ISBN-10: 0062691198
ISBN-13: 9780062691194
14 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • CoolKid5Sunday, December 27, 2020 at 5:20 am
    Sounds good book
    • chocolate168
      chocolate168Monday, December 14, 2020 at 3:36 pm44 stars
      I remember this book being pretty good. I don't remember any specifics because I read it a long time ago...
      • gold3nglare
        gold3nglareMonday, December 14, 2020 at 6:26 am33 stars
        Only people of color like me will really get this book, but I think all races should read this so they can get a better understanding of others.
        • sky_dragon
          sky_dragonSunday, December 13, 2020 at 7:56 am
          Looks interesting! I want to read it!
          • bsc
            bscSaturday, December 12, 2020 at 6:58 am44 stars
            This book was pretty good! Jordan has to go to a new school where everyone wears salmon colored clothes. He doesn't fit in and wishes he could go to the special art school he wants to go to. He loves to doodle and draw. Jordan makes some friends, but...will he fit in? Happy reading!
            • lime_skater0707
              lime_skater0707Saturday, December 12, 2020 at 6:39 am
              I think this book really helped me while I was getting used to school. This book is pretty good. As the tittle says, it is about the new student and how they get used to it.
              • sweet-readlover
                sweet-readloverFriday, December 11, 2020 at 7:45 pm33 stars
                I've read this book and It was not bad. It wasn't my fav but I thought I could feel that the author,Jerry Craft, had tried to connect to the reader.
                • roxanne3
                  roxanne3Friday, December 11, 2020 at 1:24 pm44 stars
                  I had to read this book for a school assignment, and I have to admit I liked it a lot more than I thought I would!! I can't really relate to Jordan at all, but reading the book made me understand what he's going through and helped me learn what I can do to help if I ever meet someone in this situation. I'll give it 4 stars!! I do recommend it to anyone going into a new school, even just a middle school or high school. 😁
                  • gold3nglare
                    gold3nglareFriday, November 13, 2020 at 7:01 am33 stars
                    Pretty long for a graphic novel. Not the best book. But then again, the the worst. It deserves a 3 stars because I liked it.
                    • bribri604
                      bribri604Tuesday, June 2, 2020 at 2:22 pm55 stars
                      Jordan Banks is a new student at a private school where he feels like he doesn't belong because he is one of the very few African American students. I'd recommend this book because all the stuff that happens in the book happens in real life to people of color. Anyone who wants to learn more about the common experiences that African American kids feel at school should read this book.