Perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier and Gene Luen Yang, New Kid is a timely, honest graphic novel about starting over at a new school where diversity is low and the struggle to fit in is real, from award-winning author-illustrator Jerry Craft.

Seventh grader Jordan Banks loves nothing more than drawing cartoons about his life. But instead of sending him to the art school of his dreams, his parents enroll him in a prestigious private school known for its academics, where Jordan is one of the few kids of color in his entire grade.

As he makes the daily trip from his Washington Heights apartment to the upscale Riverdale Academy Day School, Jordan soon finds himself torn between two worlds—and not really fitting into either one. Can Jordan learn to navigate his new school culture while keeping his neighborhood friends and staying true to himself?

Paperback, 256 pages
Published on February 5, 2019 by HarperCollins
ISBN-10: 0062691198
ISBN-13: 9780062691194
4 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • OlWednesday, November 27, 2019 at 12:48 pm
    So good I love it you should defneyle read it
    • catqueen564
      catqueen564Wednesday, November 27, 2019 at 11:54 am55 stars
      O.M.G. this book is so stooky.
      • shayshaygirl25
        shayshaygirl25Tuesday, November 26, 2019 at 3:59 pm55 stars
        I love this book! hope you decide to read it!
        • inmemoryofcpr
          inmemoryofcprTuesday, May 28, 2019 at 11:06 am55 stars
          When Jordan Banks goes to a new school he struggles to fit in and make friends. But then he finds unexpected friends in some places and brings them together.