Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 6n/a5.3135683
Sophie battles the rebels—and recovers dark memories from her past—in this jaw-dropping fourth book in the bestselling Keeper of the Lost Cities series.

Sophie Foster is on the run—but at least she's not alone.

Her closest friends from the Lost Cities have gone with her to join the Black Swan. They still have doubts about the shadowy organization, but the only way to find answers is to start working with them. And as they settle into their new lives, they uncover secrets bigger than anything they’d imagined.

But their enemies are far from done, and unleash a terrifying plague that threatens the safety of an entire species. Sophie and her friends fight with everything they have—with new allies joining them—but every choice has consequences. And trusting the wrong person could prove deadly.

In this game-changing fourth book in the Keeper of the Lost Cities series, Sophie must question everything to find a truth that will either save her world—or shatter it.
Hardcover, 688 pages
Published on November 3, 2015 by Aladdin
ISBN-10: 148143229X
ISBN-13: 9781481432290
34 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • cinnamon147bun
    cinnamon147bunSunday, October 25, 2020 at 4:49 pm55 stars
    Very interesting, a lot of plot progression
    • KeeperLover49Tuesday, September 15, 2020 at 11:36 am
      I love thins book I've read it at least 5 times it never gets old
      • squirrelflight
        squirrelflightTuesday, September 15, 2020 at 10:46 am44 stars
        “You never know who you can trust.” Sophie Foster knows what she should do next. She has finally discovered where she belongs in her new home, the Lost Cities...and she’s off to join the Black Swan, a secretive group of rebels who shouldn’t exist but do. Sophie’s nervous. But luckily, she’s not alone, because her friends Biana, Fitz, Keefe, and Dex are coming with her. When the Black Swan welcomes them, the five friends are excited. But their enemies, called the Neverseen, are still out there—out for revenge. When the Neverseen create a plague that threatens everyone, it’s up to Sophie to stop them...once and for all. Can she, Keefe, Biana, Dex, and Fitz save the day? Read this book to find out! I absolutely loved this book, and I think every reader, every Keeper of the Lost Cities fan, will adore the fourth book in this series. Get ready to dive into Shannon Messenger’s awesome world of adventure, amazing heroes, and more! I rate this 4/5 stars, and I recommend Neverseen for anyone who wants a good book to read.
        • kkgautamm
          kkgautammFriday, August 14, 2020 at 12:21 pm44 stars
          it was super cool that they joined the black swan, especially with della! i really like biana and sophies friendship, and calla is so sweet!
          • 4usa
            4usaWednesday, July 22, 2020 at 6:09 am55 stars
            This is the fourth book in the best series I've ever read! It's full of action, adventure, fantasy, and even some romance do to the kind of oblivious love triangle! This is a great book for all ages and I would definitely recommend it! #Sokeefe rules
            • bookfan2008
              bookfan2008Tuesday, July 21, 2020 at 12:39 pm
              I have this book, and I'm SO excited to read it! KOTLC is GREAT!The series is so captivating!
              • toodorky
                toodorkySunday, May 17, 2020 at 2:01 pm55 stars
                Sophie and her friends have run off to join the Black Swan, and another person sneaks with them without Sophie or her friends noticing. There they meet the Collective, their rooms where they will be sleeping, and their new home. But a search for Prentice makes everything harder, and she and her friends have to train their abilities to the next level. Fitz and Sophie will train as Cognates, but that might not be enough for what's ahead of them. A trick in Exile causes Sophie and her friends to have a terrible punishment, and worse yet, a plague has struck, causing them to have to focus on two things at once. But that's not all. There's a traitor with the. One of Sophie's friends might not be who you think they are. But just maybe. I mean, what could go wrong?
                • bsc
                  bscMonday, May 11, 2020 at 5:58 pm55 stars
                  This book was so good!! Sophie and her friends have joined the Black swan. Now they have to do many things and learn lot of new things. Prentice, A plague, and Exillium are just some things. There is so much going on for these friends. I LOVED it.
                  • blossomreader
                    blossomreaderSaturday, May 9, 2020 at 7:49 pm55 stars
                    Sophie, as told in the end of Everblaze, is joining the Black Swan, but sh'e not alone. All of her best friends are coming with her! They want to be with Sophie ever step of the way, even when it comes to times where punishment is dangerous. Sophie faces hard deals and decisions no teen should make. A plague strikes, and it's up to Sophie and her friends to find a way to stop it.She learns about inception, Prentice, and a lot about Exillium, which I won't tell you about because it would spoil the book. There might be a traitor on there hands though... Maybe even two... Either way, I happened to love this book! There were so many things you don't expect and a lot of mystery, but also a lot of facts and truth! I'd recommend this book and series to everybody, and I think the whole world should read this book! I loved it so much, and any age can read it really, unless your scared of Ogres! :)
                    • nac
                      nacSunday, May 3, 2020 at 11:23 am55 stars
                      Sophie Foster has a plan. She and her friends are joining forces with the black swan- illegally. As they begin training they find a lead to one of the neverseen's members, and in order to investigate they have to go to Exilium, a school for outcasts. But the Neverseen still have plans, and they unleash a plague that could wipe out an entire race. Will Sophie and her friends be able to steal the cure from Dimitar, king of the Ogres? Or will a close friend have to make the ultimate sacrifice to save her kind?