A breathtaking, enchanting new series by debut author Jessica Townsend, about a cursed girl who escapes death and finds herself in a magical world--but is then tested beyond her wildest imagination

Morrigan Crow is cursed. Having been born on Eventide, the unluckiest day for any child to be born, she's blamed for all local misfortunes, from hailstorms to heart attacks--and, worst of all, the curse means that Morrigan is doomed to die at midnight on her eleventh birthday.
But as Morrigan awaits her fate, a strange and remarkable man named Jupiter North appears. Chased by black-smoke hounds and shadowy hunters on horseback, he whisks her away into the safety of a secret, magical city called Nevermoor.
It's then that Morrigan discovers Jupiter has chosen her to contend for a place in the city's most prestigious organization: the Wundrous Society. In order to join, she must compete in four difficult and dangerous trials against hundreds of other children, each boasting an extraordinary talent that sets them apart--an extraordinary talent that Morrigan insists she does not have. To stay in the safety of Nevermoor for good, Morrigan will need to find a way to pass the tests--or she'll have to leave the city to confront her deadly fate.
Perfect for fans of the Harry Potter series and Neil Gaiman, this fast-paced plot and imaginative world has a fresh new take on magic that will appeal to a new generation of readers.

Hardcover, 420 pages
Published on October 31, 2017 by Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 0316439959
ISBN-13: 9780316439954
14 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
to use your custom avatar.
  • justjordon33
    justjordon33Sunday, November 12, 2017 at 11:18 am
    it looks scary
    • readingkendal
      readingkendalWednesday, November 15, 2017 at 11:50 am55 stars
      it is not scary
    • peopleSaturday, November 4, 2017 at 1:54 pm
      I love my mom lol
      • peopleSaturday, November 4, 2017 at 1:53 pm
        this day is going great
        • LeLeLe LaLaLaWednesday, November 1, 2017 at 12:58 pm
          I think this book is ok but the total oposite becase this booke was amazin too me!
          • blue hat boyWednesday, November 1, 2017 at 12:54 pm
            It is interesting how people can take charge and make rules like they do now. Thank yo
            • miaWednesday, November 1, 2017 at 12:49 pm
              i think that the dog was realy kind and loving
              • mybooksandi
                mybooksandiMonday, October 30, 2017 at 6:07 pm55 starsFeatured
                Ok, Nevermoor; The Trials Of Morrigan Crow, lets do this... So when i started reading this, I loved how Jessica Townsend stated that Morrigan Crow was born to die on her eleventh birthday. I really liked how a single letter from the Wundrous Society changed her whole destiny and tried to fight the evil curse set upon her. Character devolopment- Check (One star) Setting- Check (One star) Thrilling- Check (One star) Originality- YESSSSSS Well, after reading Harry Potter I guess my reasoning is not that strong considering that Harry Potter is awesome and this is awesome and the whole world is awesome, and, and, and.... In all, awesome book. I might just add another star for an AWESOME execution. 5 , that’s AMAZING. I received an ARC from DogoBooks, this has not influenced my opinion.
                • readingriley
                  readingrileyTuesday, October 24, 2017 at 8:44 am
                  Good job Kendal
                  • callie_b
                    callie_bFriday, October 20, 2017 at 6:35 pm55 starsFeatured
                    11-year-old Morrigan Crow has always been blamed for everything. Since she was born on an Eventide, the beginning of a new age in her town Jackalfax, she is cursed to die on midnight the next Eventide, along with all the other kids that were unluckily born on that day as well, which makes her a bad-luck charm throughout her town. But when Eventide unexpectedly occurs early, Morrigan receives a mysterious letter from a man called Jupiter North, asking her to become his apprentice. It's an amazing opportunity, and even though it's almost midnight, she signs it, as all her hope is not yet lost. Suddenly, a strange man appears in her room, and with a narrow escape from midnight that Eventide, they crash through the massive clock tower of the town and are transported into seemingly into another world, a magical place called Nevermoor, thus cheating her death! The man, as Morrigan finds out, is the one and only Jupiter North! He brings her to his grand hotel and he tells her that he is entering her into a series of trials determining if she can get into the prestigious Wundrous Society, something Morrigan soon desperately wants to become part of, so she can finally be part of a family. She will have to compete against 500 other kids who are also competing for the few spots available, and if she can make it past the first few trials, she will have to present her special "knack" to the judges. But Morrigan has no clue what her special talent is, or how she'll figure it out! This question presses her as she is tested through every twist and turn of the Trials. Will Morrigan ever figure out her knack and become part of the Wondrous Society? Or will she have to be taken back to Jackalfax and face a terrible fate? I ABSOLUTELY LOVE THIS BOOK! No joke, this is literally one of my favorite books OF. ALL. TIME!! If it was possible to give this book 10 stars, I would!! The plot is gripping and magical. I loved the action and suspense of the Trials, and one of my favorite parts is Christmas-- it is so so good! I cannot wait until the next book comes out! Jessica Townsend is a fantastic author and I love how she shaped the characters throughout the book. I really enjoyed this book, and I highly recommend this book to any fantasy-loving person, and everybody else as well! :)
                    • m1lk3y_w4y
                      m1lk3y_w4yWednesday, October 18, 2017 at 6:29 pm55 stars
                      Nevermoor The Trials of Morrigan crow is about a girl who was born on the unluckiest day, Eventide. This causes Morrigan to be the center of the blame whenever something bad happens. She is also cursed, which means she is destined to die at the stroke of midnight on her eleventh birthday. While waiting for her fate to come, a mysterious man named Jupiter North comes and takes her to a sercret and magical city of Nevermoor. Later on, Morrigan finds out the true reason why she was brought here. It is because Jupiter choose her to join the highest class organization, the Wundrous society, but it won't be that easy to get in. She must earn her way into the organization by completing four difficult and treacherous trials against other talented children. Will she pass these tests, or will she face her fate? To find out, read Nevermoor The Trials of Morrigan Crow.

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      animal lover wrote:

                      I loved the puppy and I wish I h...
                      Dork Diaries 12: Tales from a No...

                      gusto
                      gusto wrote:

                      This is a great story!
                      The Tapper Twins Go to War (With...

                      madimin05
                      madimin05 wrote:

                      Yes, I have read the book and th...
                      The Land of Stories: Worlds Collide

                      immaweirdo14

                      i wanted to read this book becau...
                      Tom the Turkey (Thanksgiving Boo...