A breathtaking, enchanting new series by debut author Jessica Townsend, about a cursed girl who escapes death and finds herself in a magical world--but is then tested beyond her wildest imagination

Morrigan Crow is cursed. Having been born on Eventide, the unluckiest day for any child to be born, she's blamed for all local misfortunes, from hailstorms to heart attacks--and, worst of all, the curse means that Morrigan is doomed to die at midnight on her eleventh birthday.
But as Morrigan awaits her fate, a strange and remarkable man named Jupiter North appears. Chased by black-smoke hounds and shadowy hunters on horseback, he whisks her away into the safety of a secret, magical city called Nevermoor.
It's then that Morrigan discovers Jupiter has chosen her to contend for a place in the city's most prestigious organization: the Wundrous Society. In order to join, she must compete in four difficult and dangerous trials against hundreds of other children, each boasting an extraordinary talent that sets them apart--an extraordinary talent that Morrigan insists she does not have. To stay in the safety of Nevermoor for good, Morrigan will need to find a way to pass the tests--or she'll have to leave the city to confront her deadly fate.
Perfect for fans of the Harry Potter series and Neil Gaiman, this fast-paced plot and imaginative world has a fresh new take on magic that will appeal to a new generation of readers.

Hardcover, 420 pages
Published on October 31, 2017 by Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 0316439959
ISBN-13: 9780316439954
16 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • lrohne24
    lrohne24Sunday, January 28, 2018 at 6:25 pm44 starsFeatured
    Nevermoor is a great book! I really liked the plot. Morrigan Crow is the main character. Her mom died when she was younger, and her dad cares about himself more than her. She is one of the unlucky children who was born on Eventide. Because of this, she is blamed for everything bad that happens in the community. Worst of all, she is going to die on her 11th birthday. But right before she turns 11, Jupiter North comes and takes her to a city called Nevermoor. But after she arrives, she figures out she has to pass 4 very difficult test against many different children. This is a fun book that I really enjoyed and I know you will too. I recommend this book to boys and girls ages 9+. PS: Thanks DOGO for sending me this book. Sorry for the late review!
    • lycanroc9
      lycanroc9Wednesday, January 3, 2018 at 12:08 am55 starsFeatured
      I loved this book. The 3 days I spent reading this, non-stop. What I like about this book most is the course of Morrigan Crow. She is doomed to die on her eleventh birthday at midnight, a single note from Jupiter North takes her to Nevermoor, the free state. But in order to stay there, she must pass four trials. I was scared at the show trial cause Morrigan doesn't have a knack for something. Also the chase trial, where Cadence stole her spot in the Elders' dinner. I rate it A.
      • justjordon33
        justjordon33Sunday, November 12, 2017 at 11:18 am
        it looks scary
        • readingkendal
          readingkendalWednesday, November 15, 2017 at 11:50 am55 stars
          it is not scary
        • peopleSaturday, November 4, 2017 at 1:54 pm
          I love my mom lol
          • peopleSaturday, November 4, 2017 at 1:53 pm
            this day is going great
            • LeLeLe LaLaLaWednesday, November 1, 2017 at 12:58 pm
              I think this book is ok but the total oposite becase this booke was amazin too me!
              • blue hat boyWednesday, November 1, 2017 at 12:54 pm
                It is interesting how people can take charge and make rules like they do now. Thank yo
                • miaWednesday, November 1, 2017 at 12:49 pm
                  i think that the dog was realy kind and loving
                  • mybooksandi
                    mybooksandiMonday, October 30, 2017 at 6:07 pm55 starsFeatured
                    Ok, Nevermoor; The Trials Of Morrigan Crow, lets do this... So when i started reading this, I loved how Jessica Townsend stated that Morrigan Crow was born to die on her eleventh birthday. I really liked how a single letter from the Wundrous Society changed her whole destiny and tried to fight the evil curse set upon her. Character devolopment- Check (One star) Setting- Check (One star) Thrilling- Check (One star) Originality- YESSSSSS Well, after reading Harry Potter I guess my reasoning is not that strong considering that Harry Potter is awesome and this is awesome and the whole world is awesome, and, and, and.... In all, awesome book. I might just add another star for an AWESOME execution. 5 , that’s AMAZING. I received an ARC from DogoBooks, this has not influenced my opinion.
                    • readingriley
                      readingrileyTuesday, October 24, 2017 at 8:44 am
                      Good job Kendal

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      aquamaria
                      aquamaria wrote:

                      I really want to read this over ...
                      Cyber-Thief Showdown (Geronimo S...

                      aquamaria
                      aquamaria wrote:

                      This book is awesome even though...
                      No Time To Lose (Geronimo Stilto...

                      aquamaria
                      aquamaria wrote:

                      I should ether I get this book t...
                      No Time To Lose (Geronimo Stilto...

                      Ashley wrote:

                      I love this comic book I already...
                      Dog Man: From the Creator of Cap...