Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 3 - 7Grade 6n/a5.689778

A breathtaking, enchanting new series by debut author Jessica Townsend, about a cursed girl who escapes death and finds herself in a magical world--but is then tested beyond her wildest imagination

Morrigan Crow is cursed. Having been born on Eventide, the unluckiest day for any child to be born, she's blamed for all local misfortunes, from hailstorms to heart attacks--and, worst of all, the curse means that Morrigan is doomed to die at midnight on her eleventh birthday.
But as Morrigan awaits her fate, a strange and remarkable man named Jupiter North appears. Chased by black-smoke hounds and shadowy hunters on horseback, he whisks her away into the safety of a secret, magical city called Nevermoor.
It's then that Morrigan discovers Jupiter has chosen her to contend for a place in the city's most prestigious organization: the Wundrous Society. In order to join, she must compete in four difficult and dangerous trials against hundreds of other children, each boasting an extraordinary talent that sets them apart--an extraordinary talent that Morrigan insists she does not have. To stay in the safety of Nevermoor for good, Morrigan will need to find a way to pass the tests--or she'll have to leave the city to confront her deadly fate.
Perfect for fans of the Harry Potter series and Neil Gaiman, this fast-paced plot and imaginative world has a fresh new take on magic that will appeal to a new generation of readers.

Hardcover, 420 pages
Published on October 31, 2017 by Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 0316439959
ISBN-13: 9780316439954
20 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • livvie1239
    livvie1239Saturday, November 3, 2018 at 12:13 am55 stars
    it really cool how much a little girl can do, as shown in this book. Morrigain Crow is cursed to die when she is only 11 she goes to nevermore to escape her death. She does 4 trials (the show trial, the book trial, the chase trial and the fright trial. SO COOL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    • wizardginnyl
      wizardginnylMonday, August 27, 2018 at 9:22 am55 stars
      I like this book because it had magic in it. It is about a girl who is supposed to die at age twelve do not worry though she does not. I recommend this book to Harry Potter readers.
      • KittyloverMonday, May 28, 2018 at 3:44 pm
        Loved the book. it is not scary instead it is a nice book. go and read it NOW!!!!!
        • pretzel101
          pretzel101Thursday, May 3, 2018 at 12:12 pm55 starsFeatured
          Nevermore sounds scary. Right? Well it isn't. Morrigan was cursed on her 11th birthday midnight. She receives a note from a guy named Jupiter and is told she will have to come with him. She is worried at first, and calms down by the end. She was born on eventide which means she would die at age 11. She was worried and didn't wish this was true cause she was blamed for EVERYTHING. Anyway when Jupiter takes her to a land called Nevermore where she will live forever. She meets many new people there and is very happy. Im not going to spoil anything so now it is your turn to go rad this AWESOME book. I recommend this book to people who love adventure, awesome things, and different creatures. Also for all kids 9+
          • hummingbird1
            hummingbird1Sunday, January 28, 2018 at 6:25 pm44 starsFeatured
            Nevermoor is a great book! I really liked the plot. Morrigan Crow is the main character. Her mom died when she was younger, and her dad cares about himself more than her. She is one of the unlucky children who was born on Eventide. Because of this, she is blamed for everything bad that happens in the community. Worst of all, she is going to die on her 11th birthday. But right before she turns 11, Jupiter North comes and takes her to a city called Nevermoor. But after she arrives, she figures out she has to pass 4 very difficult test against many different children. This is a fun book that I really enjoyed and I know you will too. I recommend this book to boys and girls ages 9+. PS: Thanks DOGO for sending me this book. Sorry for the late review!
            • lycanroc9
              lycanroc9Wednesday, January 3, 2018 at 12:08 am55 starsFeatured
              I loved this book. The 3 days I spent reading this, non-stop. What I like about this book most is the course of Morrigan Crow. She is doomed to die on her eleventh birthday at midnight, a single note from Jupiter North takes her to Nevermoor, the free state. But in order to stay there, she must pass four trials. I was scared at the show trial cause Morrigan doesn't have a knack for something. Also the chase trial, where Cadence stole her spot in the Elders' dinner. I rate it A.
              • justjordon33
                justjordon33Sunday, November 12, 2017 at 11:18 am
                it looks scary
                • readingkendal
                  readingkendalWednesday, November 15, 2017 at 11:50 am55 stars
                  it is not scary
                • peopleSaturday, November 4, 2017 at 1:54 pm
                  I love my mom lol
                  • peopleSaturday, November 4, 2017 at 1:53 pm
                    this day is going great
                    • LeLeLe LaLaLaWednesday, November 1, 2017 at 12:58 pm
                      I think this book is ok but the total oposite becase this booke was amazin too me!

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      Ash wrote:

                      Love this whole book series
                      Divergent (Divergent Series)

                      xxmystical_lady

                      this book is so good. j.k. rowl...
                      Who is J.K. Rowling?

                      littttqueen

                      ya it hasn't came out
                      The Terrible Two Go Wild

                      xxmystical_lady

                      the book is so good. it is mayb...
                      What Was the Great Depression?

                      Our Apps and Plugins