Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 6U5.240355

A young boy relates his adventures during the year he spends living alone in the Catskill Mountains including his struggle for survival, his dependence on nature, his animal friends, and his ultimate realization that he needs human companionship.

Paperback, 1 pages
Published on October 1, 1997 by Puffin
ISBN-10: 0147744253
ISBN-13: 9780147744258
64 Book Reviews
  • mudball1
    mudball1Saturday, October 31, 2020 at 9:56 am55 stars
    This is a great book so far! it is a lot like hatchet by Gary Paulsen(which was also great). it is about a kid who runs away and lives on his own in a tree and catches his own food with his pet falcon Frightful and makes animal friends. Its great!
    • nac
      nacThursday, May 28, 2020 at 1:22 pm55 stars
      This is a really interesting story about a boy who runs away from home to live on a mountain. He learns to survive on his own with hardly any one or anything to help him. He collects his own food, builds his own house, and even makes his own clothes! I enjoyed all the useful survival skills packed away in this book. I also enjoyed the story, which was dramatic and entertaining.
      • lawalex
        lawalexMonday, June 17, 2019 at 7:10 am55 stars
        This is a cool story of a boy who runs away to the mountains, lives in a tree, and tames a falcon. It’s a story of survival in the wilderness. He meets some unique individuals along the way. If you like wilderness or survival books, you willl like this novel.
        • sonali50
          sonali50Friday, June 7, 2019 at 4:44 pm55 stars
          It was a really fun book and it was really interesting how Sam lived in the old farm. I wonder how in the birch journal he knew all the names of the plants that he eats? I plan to read the sequel and the trilogy soon!! I recommend this book to people who like adventure and fun!
          • eligra1920
            eligra1920Tuesday, April 7, 2020 at 5:51 am55 stars
            I couldn't agree more! This is a good review that definitely hits a lot of points in the book. I will add, however, that Sam did go to the library to learn about all the different plant types so he would be more familiar with the forest.
          • kebodeaux
            kebodeauxMonday, March 25, 2019 at 1:32 pm
            I loved it I'm still reading it ! It's so in interesting!! I loved it so much!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
            • astrydnayanahs
              astrydnayanahsSunday, August 26, 2018 at 3:57 pm55 stars
              This book is amazing and gives real survival tips and tricks!
              • ravenclaw35
                ravenclaw35Thursday, February 22, 2018 at 12:30 pm55 stars
                I LOVED this book! I read it with the best teacher, Mr.M! (McPeak).
                • mrm2026
                  mrm2026Monday, January 8, 2018 at 8:00 am55 stars
                  This is an amazing book about a boy named Sam Gribley. He leaves home to live in the wilderness by himself. The whole story keeps your attention and you really get to know the characters!
                  • booklover108
                    booklover108Friday, December 8, 2017 at 5:45 am55 stars
                    So far its really good. Im only a little bit in but it is awesome!!
                    • pobubaredi
                      pobubarediTuesday, November 7, 2017 at 11:16 am33 stars
                      Sam runs away to the Catskill Mountains as his house is to small and crowded. Will he make make friends with the animals or will he be lonely in the mountains?