My Life in Pink & Green: Pink & Green Book One

Book 1 of 3 in the Pink & Green Series
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 4 - 5T4.450963
Twelve-year-old Lucy Desberg is a natural problem solver. After the local homecoming queen shows up at her family’s struggling drugstore with a beauty disaster that Lucy helps to fix, Lucy has a long line of makeover customers for every school dance and bat mitzvah. But all the makeup tips in the world won’t help save the pharmacy. If only she could find a way to make the pharmacy the center of town again—a place where people want to spend time, like in the old days. Lucy dreams up a solution that could resuscitate the family business and help the environment, too. But will Lucy’s family stop fighting long enough to listen to a seventh-grader?

This book is a funny and sweet debut featuring an unforgettable narrator who knows what she wants, whether it’s great makeup, a killer business plan, or a better world.

F&P level: T
F&P genre: RF
Hardcover, 272 pages
Published on March 1, 2009 by Harry N. Abrams
ISBN-10: 0810983524
ISBN-13: 9780810983526
35 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • ravenclaw12321
    ravenclaw12321Thursday, June 25, 2020 at 9:31 am55 stars
    One day, young Lucy Desberg hears that the pharmacy that her family owned was not paying its bills and low on customers. She really wants to help her family. One day, her older sister Claudia, called from college for thanking Lucy about her birthday present and tells her experience with an eco-spa that she went to. Lucy loved that idea of going Green! She joined an Earth Club and researched there. In one of the meetings, she was researching about Going Green and she found a grant held by the Mayor. She signed up in secret, only telling her older sister. She fills it out about how they decide to go green and decide an eco-spa. Then she sends it to the mayor She tells her mother and Grandmother and they are proud, but scared that they would not get the grant. On the sideline, Lucy makes a relaxation Room and people stop by and relax there. One regular day, a high school girl comes with problems in her hair. Lucy helps her. After,= that incident, more people come in, and ask Lucy to do their make-up. She then does a lot of make-up and earns some profit. Then, the exciting news comes and the GOT THE GRANT! She is happy and they arrange to open up an eco-spa! Also , this book features, crushes and dealing with them, make up tips, and MORE!
    • slytherinfan
      slytherinfanMonday, September 24, 2018 at 4:14 pm33 stars
      Cool!
      • Karina23Saturday, September 22, 2018 at 11:25 am
        This is an excelent book. This book has a lot of pages so I was very unlucky when i picked this book to do as an book Report. But overall this book was a real girl book and it was fun to read, Does anyone how many words does this book have?
        • crazyunicorn333
          crazyunicorn333Tuesday, December 6, 2016 at 3:02 pm55 stars
          This book is so interesting. The more you read,the more you want to find out. Lucy Desberg is not just an average girl.
          • amyTuesday, December 6, 2016 at 8:33 am
            I love this book super cool
            • rilfis1617
              rilfis1617Tuesday, December 6, 2016 at 8:21 amFeatured
              Have you ever wanted life to be like it was a couple years ago? Lucy did from My life in Pink and Green by Lisa Greenwald. This book takes place in Lucy’s family’s pharmacy and at Lucy’s school in modern days. The protagonist in this book is Lucy because even though she is only 12 she tries to fix all of the problems that are going on with her family’s pharmacy and her life. The antagonist in this book is Lucy’s family’s pharmacy because nobody shops at her pharmacy anymore and it might have to get shut down because there is almost no business anymore. One conflict in this story is that there is not a lot of business at the pharmacy anymore. Another conflict in this story is that Lucy’s mom and grandma don't have a lot of money so they might have to sell the pharmacy and get another job. The turning point is in the middle to the end of the book. Lucy finds something that could help her pharmacy and everything starts to go better for Lucy. I liked this book and I recommend this book to people who like realistic fiction books and people who like girly books.
              • csal1617
                csal1617Thursday, October 20, 2016 at 6:36 pm55 stars
                My Life In Pink & Green is by Lisa Greenwald. If you're a girl in middle school you should read this book. This book takes place in Old Mills Pharmacy. The protagonist is Lucy. She is in seventh grade and she enjoys doing other people’s makeup. The antagonist is the lack of customers at the store so they do not have the money to pay. If her family doesn’t pay the Pharmacy bills it will be shut down.They are going to have to sell their house to save money. People were coming to get their makeup done by Lucy so they have to make the Pharmacy bigger. So it can bring in more customers. They need to knock down the wall next to them. It was a video store but it went out of business. When they knock down the wall they will make it Lucy’s spa she can do makeup and other things and it will bring more business. They will have enough money to pay for bills. This was a very good book and for who ever reads next hope you enjoy it.
                • ganfer1617
                  ganfer1617Tuesday, October 25, 2016 at 4:54 pm
                  i really liked how you expalined this book and it is a lot like mine and i think i want to raed this book
                • NikeSaturday, December 26, 2015 at 6:34 pm
                  Read it twice, but i've never gotten tired of it!
                  • justdoit_always
                    justdoit_alwaysSaturday, December 19, 2015 at 5:36 pm
                    all of LisaGreenwald books are so interesting to me
                    • cattyluver
                      cattyluverMonday, October 26, 2015 at 1:33 pm
                      haven't even started to read it lol😂 haha can't wait to read it though i think in the future i WILL recommend it