My Brother Sam Is Dead

Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 8Y4.949683
Recounts the tragedy that strikes the Meeker family during the Revolution when one son joins the rebel forces while the rest of the family tries to stay neutral in a Tory town.
Hardcover, 224 pages
Published on October 1, 1984 by Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 0027229807
ISBN-13: 9780027229806
18 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • mistymom
    mistymomTuesday, March 10, 2020 at 6:58 pm55 stars
    I LOVE this book, it is a perfect book for 5th to 6th graders. there is just so much detail to explain what it was like back then, and there are so many amazing parts in the book to learn about each character. There area few bad words so it would probably be best for older kids but other than that I loved it. I definitely recommend it :)
    • The TTuesday, August 6, 2019 at 3:47 pm
      This book was a monster to read, not because it was 224 pages long but because the plot was so long and grueling. The ending was not sad, rather it left me feeling nothing. Mostly because tHE ENDING WAS SPOILED IN THE TITLE. Partly because the author failed to make me like Sam or even sympathize with Tim's emotions over Sam's death. Anyway, that wouldn't have even been possible because Sam died at the end of the book. This book could have been better and I feel the author knows this.
      • llamaWednesday, January 11, 2017 at 7:36 pm
        this book is really sad but really good
        • dancegirl_t2005
          dancegirl_t2005Wednesday, January 11, 2017 at 11:29 am
          I am reading this book with the users dancegirl_k2006 and dancegirl_j2006 so far everything that I have read in this book has been very good and I think that if you would like to read it, that you would like it very much.
          • dancegirl_k2006
            dancegirl_k2006Tuesday, January 10, 2017 at 12:52 pm44 stars
            I have to read it in LIT
            • xxdarkxsoulexx
              xxdarkxsoulexxFriday, June 6, 2014 at 4:50 am
              AWESOME stuff in this book action and drama sooooo AWESOME ^.^
              • 2paclives
                2paclivesWednesday, June 4, 2014 at 11:49 am
                It's really good so far no problems lots of CLIMAX
                • dj30
                  dj30Wednesday, June 4, 2014 at 11:35 am55 stars
                  Loved it!!!!!
                  • mustache515
                    mustache515Wednesday, June 4, 2014 at 10:30 am
                    It is a great book and I love it so much
                    • thumsup
                      thumsupWednesday, May 22, 2013 at 4:17 pm55 starsFeatured
                      If anyone wants to know, it is a historical fiction book about the American Revolution. And it's NOT boring, for anyone who hates reading about people from the past. In one scene from the book, Rebels from the Patriot side come up to the Meeker's tavern and threaten the dad to give his gun or else they'll kill him. The problem was, they didn't have the gun because Sam took it from them and ran off the fight with the Patriots. Tim's the main character.