Based on a true story.

Maddie is a normal twelve-year-old girl. Well, except for the fake mustaches she carries in her pocket. She likes to make people laugh and slapping on a mustache, especially a fuzzy pink or neon green one, always gets a smile. Maddie hopes that the class queen, Cassie, will find her mustaches as funny as she does and want to play with her at recess. She's been self-conscious lately because her right arm only feels normal when it's curled against her chest and she's constantly tripping over her feet. But that's probably just part of growing up and not something weird, right?

When Maddie's arm continues to bother her, her parents take her to a doctor who gives them a shocking diagnosis: the cause of the abnormal behavior of her limbs is a brain tumor and she must have surgery to remove it. She's understandably afraid as he describes the procedure, but knows she must find a way to be brave and must face her fears--all of them--at the hospital, at home and at school.

She will need all of her courage not only to face her illness, but also to face Cassie at school. Both Cassie and Maddie are auditioning for the same role in the school play, but when Cassie accuses Maddie of lying about her tumor in order to get attention, Cassie's bossiness turns into bullying.

And as Maddie's surgery approaches, she begins to worry more and more about the outcome. What if something goes wrong? What if the doctors don't get all the tumor out of her brain? What will happen to her family? What will happen to her?

It will take all of Maddie's vibrant imagination, a lot of kindness-both given and received-and of course, the perfect mustache to overcome the tough stuff ahead of her.

Hardcover, 256 pages
Published on October 3, 2017 by Shadow Mountain
ISBN-10: 1629723304
ISBN-13: 9781629723303
8 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • dictionary
    dictionarySaturday, February 17, 2018 at 2:54 pm55 starsFeatured
    Mustaches for Maddie is a book based on a true story about a twelve year old girl who loves mustaches. When her arm starts acting weird, her mom finally takes her to the doctor where they discover she has a brain tumor which is pushing against a part of her brain that functions the left side of her body, which is why her left arm is acting weird. Her surgery is in two weeks, and the school play she is in, Romeo and Juliet, is in four weeks. Her doctors say she will be up again in a week after surgery, but they cannot guarantee that. Not only does she have to deal with her tumor, she has a problem with the school queen, Cassie. Cassie is a bully, but is surrounded by friends because she is known as queen, and a beautiful one. There also is a new girl in town, and is left out by Cassie. Mustaches for Maddie is a heartwarming story, and it is balanced with humor and heart. This is one of the best books I have ever read, and I rate it 5/5 and recommend it to people who are also going through what Maddie had gone through, people who love mustaches, and people who love humor, but also heart.
    • ajg15
      ajg15Monday, January 22, 2018 at 7:42 am55 stars
      {Thank you DOGObooks for choosing me for this book} Mustaches for Maddie is an amazing true story about a 12 year old girl who is diagnosed with a brain tumor. This book made me cry, laugh, and smile its amazing how even through the hard times she slapped a fuzzy, colorful mustache on and made everyone laugh she has a huge imagination that made everyone love her even more. This is a very great book and highly recommend to all readers! Thank you for reading 💖 -ajg15
      • unipuppy
        unipuppyThursday, January 11, 2018 at 7:03 am44 starsFeatured
        (Thanks DOGObooks for choosing me to win this book) *Deep breath* Welcome to my first DOGObooks book review of 2018. Mustaches for Maddie is a great book. It made me want to laugh, and cry, at the same time. Maddie is such a brave and imaginative person in hard times, and makes this book one of the best (It made its way onto my list of Top Books). This is the first book I've read like this. It's really, really good. I highly recommend this book for you :) You NEED to read it. Trust me, you won't be able to put it down (OR at least I wasn't able to). The only thing possibly wrong with this book is that - - well, she "Goes off on a tangeant" as a character in another book would say. She's talking about potatoes, porkiporasauruses (Not sure how to spell/say that), red hair, and I think you get my point. That shouldn't deter you though! As I said earlier, this is a GREAT BOOK. -UniPuppy reviews OUT
        • dfghjFriday, November 10, 2017 at 5:06 pm
          LV PINK MUSTACHEE!!!!
          • xiu
            xiuThursday, November 2, 2017 at 6:41 pm44 stars
            I've only read the preview thing so far but it seems really good. A book about a girl that carries moustaches? So unique! I can't wait to get it. It feautures not only sadness but happiness and even sometimes anger. But not only that it showcases the cruelty of cancer and what people with cancer have to go through. Mustaches for Maddie is both humorous and heartwarming. There were so many things that I love about this novel so far. It's like an emotional roller coaster! I was braced for this book to be sad (though I know in real life there is a happy ending), or perhaps even too silly to try and undercut the drama. Instead it was a spot-on story about being twelve: figuring out friends and crushes, running afoul of mean girls, dealing with annoying younger siblings, having homework, as well as handling bad news. Maddie is a fun-loving girl, with a rich imagination, but she's not always as courageous or cool as she wants to be. In other words: she's real. And the things she deals with are real, too. Not just the brain tumor, but everything else, and the book is so well done. The family dynamic is great, the dynamic between the kids in Maddie's class is great.
            • unipuppy
              unipuppyThursday, January 11, 2018 at 6:44 am44 stars
              Actually... She doesn't have Cancer she has a tumor :)
            • ggfyhh
              ggfyhhThursday, November 2, 2017 at 4:18 pm55 stars
              I love this book it sounds sooooooooooo good!!! i can't believe this is what people have to deal with. Im soo sorry :( if you are or anyone in your family is dealing with cancer than tell them that the world supports you/them in everyway :)
              • poppycorn
                poppycornMonday, October 30, 2017 at 6:28 pm55 stars
                I haven't actually read this book yet but it looks really good. Poor Maddie. I think this book should earn a 5 out of 5. Most definitely. And to anyone who is going through cancer or knows anyone who is; STAY STRONG. You will get through it.

                Recent Kids Book Reviews

                aquamaria
                aquamaria wrote:

                I really want to read this over ...
                Cyber-Thief Showdown (Geronimo S...

                aquamaria
                aquamaria wrote:

                This book is awesome even though...
                No Time To Lose (Geronimo Stilto...

                aquamaria
                aquamaria wrote:

                I should ether I get this book t...
                No Time To Lose (Geronimo Stilto...

                Ashley wrote:

                I love this comic book I already...
                Dog Man: From the Creator of Cap...