Based on a true story.

Maddie is a normal twelve-year-old girl. Well, except for the fake mustaches she carries in her pocket. She likes to make people laugh and slapping on a mustache, especially a fuzzy pink or neon green one, always gets a smile. Maddie hopes that the class queen, Cassie, will find her mustaches as funny as she does and want to play with her at recess. She's been self-conscious lately because her right arm only feels normal when it's curled against her chest and she's constantly tripping over her feet. But that's probably just part of growing up and not something weird, right?

When Maddie's arm continues to bother her, her parents take her to a doctor who gives them a shocking diagnosis: the cause of the abnormal behavior of her limbs is a brain tumor and she must have surgery to remove it. She's understandably afraid as he describes the procedure, but knows she must find a way to be brave and must face her fears--all of them--at the hospital, at home and at school.

She will need all of her courage not only to face her illness, but also to face Cassie at school. Both Cassie and Maddie are auditioning for the same role in the school play, but when Cassie accuses Maddie of lying about her tumor in order to get attention, Cassie's bossiness turns into bullying.

And as Maddie's surgery approaches, she begins to worry more and more about the outcome. What if something goes wrong? What if the doctors don't get all the tumor out of her brain? What will happen to her family? What will happen to her?

It will take all of Maddie's vibrant imagination, a lot of kindness-both given and received-and of course, the perfect mustache to overcome the tough stuff ahead of her.

Hardcover, 256 pages
Published on October 3, 2017 by Shadow Mountain
ISBN-10: 1629723304
ISBN-13: 9781629723303
19 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • lawalex
    lawalexMonday, June 17, 2019 at 7:07 am55 stars
    In this wonderful and heart-breaking true story of a child who gets a brain tumor, you learn to be yourself and not care what other people think. You also learn the value of friendship. It is inspirational.
    • applemango
      applemangoTuesday, May 21, 2019 at 10:02 pm55 stars
      This is a really good book that is heart warming and fun. Maddie is a girl that loves mustaches. She has a lot of humor and because of this she gets noticed by the most popular girl in the school Cassie. Then, she discovers that she has brain tumor....can she survive this and become well enough to play Juliet in the school's play?!
      • Sniper bot Saturday, April 6, 2019 at 7:59 am
        I’m in the middle of reading this book and I think it’s probably the best book ever read in my life!
        • jayleebrock
          jayleebrockTuesday, March 19, 2019 at 12:27 pm55 stars
          I am in the middle of reading this book. I think its the best book I have ever read!
          • AlannwWednesday, January 16, 2019 at 8:47 am
            I love this book so much is actually my favorite book I love it so much
            • Sunset Saturday, December 29, 2018 at 5:56 pm
              I really liked this book because it was really heart warming. If you are someone in your family with cancer, then I hope that you feel that the world supports you. 💖
              • vineisdead69
                vineisdead69Friday, October 26, 2018 at 9:08 am11 star
                it was okay, but it was too long for what is was....
                • hopes
                  hopesSaturday, July 21, 2018 at 2:42 pm55 stars
                  I loved this book because it was similar to wonder. And I like books where people have challenges.
                  • kingkong22
                    kingkong22Tuesday, May 1, 2018 at 5:33 pm55 stars
                    This book was so amazing, i reccomend it. Moustaches for maddie is a true story and maddie was so brave!
                    • MaddieMonday, April 9, 2018 at 9:27 am
                      I loved this book and would highly recommend it. I feel that this book is very relatable for me because I'm also in middle school and I have had to handle drama. And what Maddie went through is a great example of how no matter what a person is going through they should be brave and they have friends by their side. Also this book shows that no matter how the person acts they could be facing the same problem as you and we should treat everyone nicely because we don't know what they are facing or how there life is harder than it should be. In the end this book is amazing and defentily read it if you get the chance!