The first official Minecraft novel! In the tradition of iconic adventures like Robinson Crusoe and Treasure Island, the #1 New York Times bestselling author of World War Z tells the story of a hero—stranded in the world of Minecraft—who must unravel the secrets of a mysterious island in order to survive.

Washed up on a beach, the lone castaway looks around the shore. Where am I? Who am I? And why is everything made of blocks? But there isn’t much time to soak up the sun. It’s getting dark, and there’s a strange new world to explore!

The top priority is finding food. The next is not becoming food. Because there are others out there on the island . . . like the horde of zombies that appear after night falls. Crafting a way out of this mess is a challenge like no other. Who could build a home while running from exploding creepers, armed skeletons, and an unstoppable tide of hot lava? Especially with no help except for a few makeshift tools and sage advice from an unlikely friend: a cow.

In this world, the rules don’t always make sense, but courage and creativity go a long way. There are forests to explore, hidden underground tunnels to loot, and undead mobs to defeat. Only then will the secrets of the island be revealed.
Hardcover, 288 pages
Published on July 18, 2017 by Del Rey
ISBN-10: 0399181776
ISBN-13: 9780399181771
14 Book Reviews
  • rollerbladez
    rollerbladezSaturday, April 24, 2021 at 5:26 pm55 stars
    The reviews seemed good so I borrowed I borrowed it from the library.... IT WAS AWESOME I LOVED IT
    • gaurdain
      gaurdainFriday, April 23, 2021 at 5:55 pm
      I love Minecraft and other games very interesting 🧐
      • guardain
        guardainFriday, March 26, 2021 at 10:44 am55 stars
        I love Minecraft it’s fun to build and fight.
        • babyyodafan1
          babyyodafan1Tuesday, January 5, 2021 at 3:17 pm
          I haven't read this yet. I will after I finish my book I am reading now. I will post a rating and review after I finish.
          • mwyso
            mwysoTuesday, January 7, 2020 at 2:25 pm44 stars
            I enjoyed this book a lot. I thought it was cool that he was from the human world, but doesn't know anything about the world. He has to try and live his life the right way fighting monsters, building weapons, finding food, and making a good shelter. I can relate to this book by how people are introduced to new things, like a sister and/or brother, and has to learn to live with it. Overall, it was an awesome book to read and a great way to entertain yourself.
            • 34
              34Friday, December 13, 2019 at 12:38 pm55 stars
              It was a good book and it was funny and it broght joy to me
              • breathofthewild
                breathofthewildThursday, November 21, 2019 at 9:32 am
                It is about a boy/man (I'm not sure!) who got put into Minecraft and doesn't remember anything from his world. He is learning more and more each step of the way. It's cool and I like it!
                • uytdfghjkldsxch
                  uytdfghjkldsxchMonday, June 24, 2019 at 6:03 am55 stars
                  I think that this book is the perfect book for people who are new at Minecraft or people who haven't played Minecraft in a long time. This book teaches people either how to farm or reviews how to farm. This book is for all people who love Minecraft or people who just started at it. For people who want to start playing,I strongly suggest it. Minecraft is the game!
                  • shudabs1234
                    shudabs1234Monday, May 6, 2019 at 10:05 am
                    this just looks like a good book
                    • JudipFriday, May 3, 2019 at 4:38 pm
                      I play Minecraft so I know what to expect, but this blew me away. This needs a second book