Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 2 - 5T4.127472
James Patterson's hilarious story of perseverance and courage shows everyone's favorite troublemaker, Rafe Khatchadorian, the star of the Middle School series, learning to become a leader at long last.

After a rough summer, Rafe is heading back to the dreaded Hills Village Middle School, the site of the very worst years of his life. And as if that's not bad enough, he's learned that he's going to be held back a year unless he can prove himself on an outdoor survival excursion--complete with dangerous white-water rafting, dizzying rock climbing, and fanatical counselors. Rafe and the rest of the pack of "delinquent" trainees are forced to cooperate as they prepare for the final test: a solo excursion in the deep woods. Can Rafe come out of the experience in one piece? And if he does, will he go home as the same insecure kid?
Hardcover
Published on October 9, 2014 by Arrow (Young)
ISBN-10: 0099596393
ISBN-13: 9780099596394
26 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • sjsj
    sjsjWednesday, May 13, 2020 at 7:54 am44 stars
    The sixth book in the Middle School series is a knee-slapper! Rafe Khatchadorian has to to to something called "The Program" to even think about attending middle school again. But the Program seems to be harder than Rafe thinks it is. Rafting the Mighty Arkansas River, dealing with a girl called Carmen, who makes Rafe do all the hard work, then just fakes it herself, and dealing with the Sargent? Rafe has to pull himself together if he wants to pass this one-week program.
    • imabookworm3
      imabookworm3Thursday, August 1, 2019 at 1:40 pm
      I decided to read the this book because I read some of the other middle school books. I thought it was just so funny!!! I think any one that likes humor will love this book.
      • ETThursday, July 25, 2019 at 10:20 pm
        Awesome book I want to read the next one!
        • unidenitfied
          unidenitfiedThursday, August 30, 2018 at 3:59 pm
          this book is very good I recommend this book.
          • din10
            din10Thursday, October 19, 2017 at 8:29 am55 stars
            i love this book . i've read like almost all middle school series by james patterson
            • jonasMonday, September 18, 2017 at 7:55 pm
              loved it
              • snowyowl
                snowyowlTuesday, May 16, 2017 at 6:49 am55 stars
                Such a good book! I love it a lot!
                • cheetahflair
                  cheetahflairTuesday, February 21, 2017 at 8:57 am55 stars
                  The humor in the book is amazing.
                  • NoahThursday, May 12, 2016 at 5:17 am
                    I found this book interesting because in the other series he still gets bad grades...a lot of them! So that's why he goes to boot camp. Over there he has to do dangerous white-water rafting and head dizzy rock climbing. As if that's not bad enough, he has to deal with bad food and ruthless people there. I give this a five star rating because it keeps your eyes glued to the pages and it keeps your heart pumping. I recommend this book for kids ages 10-15.
                    • howard_c
                      howard_cMonday, November 30, 2015 at 4:06 am55 stars
                      This book is about an ordinary boy named Rafe. He lived a normal life and have a normal life and have normal friends until he went to a camp where his principle "recommends" him to go. This one-week camp is supposed to help Rafe "learn" things for him to get back to school. But all he learned was a bunch of survival techniques and made some weird friends. Georgia, Rafe's sister, usually makes fun of his actions in front of his crush. I really like this book because it is fun to read and the illustrations were hilarious. I recommend this book to people who like the Diary of a Wimpy Kid series or Dork Diaries series because the format is similar.