Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 6 - 8Grades 3 - 8Y4.936627
Messenger
Paperback
Published on July 31, 2014 by HarperCollinsChildren'sBooks
ISBN-10: 0007597282
ISBN-13: 9780007597284
11 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • gtaylor505
    gtaylor505Thursday, November 2, 2017 at 10:50 am44 stars
    The Messenger, a companion book to The Giver and Gathering Blue, is a great book that I highly recommend. Set in a utopian society, the Village, this book is about one of the characters, Mattey, from Gathering Blue when he's older. But things in the Village take a dark turn, and it's up to Mattey to fix it.
    • bluehorse3
      bluehorse3Tuesday, March 22, 2016 at 3:22 pm55 stars
      Amazing! The third book to one of the best SciFi series! Go Lois Lowry! Mattie is older now and is living with the people who have blue!
      • sunnyf
        sunnyfSunday, January 10, 2016 at 12:28 pm44 stars
        This is the third book of the companion of the dystopian novel The Giver. Matty lived in a flourished village that was different from the one took place in the book Gathering Blue. Matty had grown from a mischievous boy to a young adult that took care of the Seer, a blind old man with special sights. As the village prospered, the villagers seemed to lost themselves. They were trading their deepest selves to get what they desired. This seemed to be effective and a warning to the readers. We often see what we desire, but we often left behind or forgot what we really own in our souls. Meanwhile, ominous changes were occurring in the forest. Matty had to bring Kira, who was the Seer’s daughter, to the village, or else the forest would thicken and kept the outsiders out of the village. Before Matty began his journey, the Leader told him that his had a gift, or some sort of magical power, in his soul. While Matty was going through the journey, the forest didn’t stop thickening. Matty was finding himself during the journey and didn’t give up although they were unlikely going to survive through the way. I love this book, because it offered me the confidence to find myself and be who I am.
        • pickerr
          pickerrFriday, March 6, 2015 at 2:41 pm
          is this related to the giver? is it the same series?
          • analise
            analiseSaturday, December 20, 2014 at 12:14 pm
            Messenger was a sad, sad ending. I really almost cried but then I said "Its not real." I feel for the characters, and lowry depicts an almost real scene.
            • readingboss
              readingbossFriday, December 12, 2014 at 10:18 am
              The messenger tells of a boy named Mattie he lives in the village with a blind man they call the seer.The forest is thickening and the seer wants Mattie to get his daughter.On this action packed book Mattie will have to get through the forest.
              • jazzyhands
                jazzyhandsSaturday, July 19, 2014 at 4:58 pm55 stars
                DYSTOPIA/UTOPIA BOOK! You can never go wrong with that. Messenger will take The Giver and Gathering blue, and smash the stories together. If you read it, you'l understand.
                • ikyra_marie
                  ikyra_marieSunday, March 16, 2014 at 10:44 am
                  Cool!It's a very entertaining book.Anyone who likes adventure, this is the book for you!
                  • kayla123456
                    kayla123456Wednesday, January 29, 2014 at 10:11 am44 stars
                    I like this book because it has adventure, magic and it is in the future! This book is sort of hard but also very interesting. I very much recommend this book. Read it today!!!!!!!
                    • booktiger19
                      booktiger19Tuesday, October 8, 2013 at 3:44 pm55 stars
                      This sequel to Gathering Blue is my favorite because it ties the other books together. -please follow and ask me for any more reviews