Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 4 - 6S5.040009
Now a musical!

Matilda is a sweet, exceptional young girl, but her parents think she's just a nuisance. She expects school to be different but there she has to face Miss Trunchbull, a menacing, kid-hating headmistress. When Matilda is attacked by the Trunchbull she suddenly discovers she has a remarkable power with which to fight back. It'll take a superhuman genius to give Miss Trunchbull what she deserves and Matilda may be just the one to do it!

Here is Roald Dahl's original novel of a little girl with extraordinary powers. This much-loved story has recently been made into a wonderful new musical, adapted by Dennis Kelly with music and lyrics by Tim Minchin.
Paperback, 240 pages
Published on December 3, 1996 by Puffin
ISBN-10: 014037468X
ISBN-13: 9780140374681
357 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • redrobin
    redrobinMonday, February 1, 2021 at 3:58 pm44 stars
    so cool!
    • madeleinepanda
      madeleinepandaThursday, January 21, 2021 at 8:45 am55 stars
      I love this book! A timeless classic. I've read it over and over. The movie is actually pretty good, and it stars Mara Wilson.
      • bsc
        bscWednesday, January 20, 2021 at 2:30 pm55 stars
        "You were born into a family that doesn't appreciate you, Matilda." Matilda is a fun, extremely smart, and kind girl. Ignored and told she was annoying by her family, Matilda's home life is pretty bad. But one day Matilda decides to walk over to the library by herself. Her mother, who is away and doesn't care that Matilda's gone, is at bingo. Matilda finds a cookbook which she checks out, along with other books. And oh, how her life changes just with the library! She can read in her room with hot chocolate- and isn't a problem to anyone. Now it is time for Matilda to go to school. She will be starting kindergarten and dearly hopes that it will be fun. Matilda's wish is half granted. She has friends and a wonderful teacher- Miss Honey. They only downside is that the principle: Ms. Trunchbull is horrible. She hurts kids and makes them cry. But after a very particular visit from Ms .Trunchbull, Matilda thinks she knows how to make Ms. Trunchbull pay for her foul ways, and her parents- with a little mind power. Such a good Roald Dahl classic! Happy reading!
        • fgteevfan2020
          fgteevfan2020Wednesday, January 20, 2021 at 11:37 am55 stars
          Matilda is a young girl who is very smart and loves books . But her parents treat her like garbage and pc only care for cars and tv .When she heads to school for the first time, she hopes it will be different,it was ! She has a lovely young teacher called miss sweet and makes lots of new friends !But there was a problem ,Miss trunchball the school principal is horrible to her students and swings them around by the head ! There are also strange things going on , can Matilda with the help of the people she loves , solve the mysteries ? Who knows ?! Matilda is a thrilling exiciting book about a young girl who uses powers and friendship stop the evil in her world ! I love this book and I believe that Roalds Dahl is one of the greatest children authors of all time ! ( other than j.k Rowling of course ! ) this book is a great book for young readers to learn new words with there parents or for older readers as an exciting book ! I rate this book 5 stars !
          • bookgirlaa
            bookgirlaaSunday, January 17, 2021 at 2:46 pm55 stars
            Matilda is a young girl who is very smart and loves books . But her parents treat her like garbage and pc only care for cars and tv .When she heads to school for the first time, she hopes it will be different,it was ! She has a lovely young teacher called miss sweet and makes lots of new friends !But there was a problem ,Miss trunchball the school principal is horrible to her students and swings them around by the head ! There are also strange things going on , can Matilda with the help of the people she loves , solve the mysteries ? Who knows ?! Matilda is a thrilling exiciting book about a young girl who uses powers and friendship stop the evil in her world ! I love this book and I believe that Roalds Dahl is one of the greatest children authors of all time ! ( other than j.k Rowling of course ! ) this book is a great book for young readers to learn new words with there parents or for older readers as an exciting book ! I rate this book 5 stars !
            • lael
              laelThursday, January 21, 2021 at 2:36 am
              its an absolute page turner you can't put it down
            • summerprince
              summerprinceThursday, January 14, 2021 at 3:28 am55 starsFeatured
              Matilda is very fun. She's a smart kid but with parents that not know about her smartness. She also has a brother called Micheal. He's rather useless, but the parents thinks that Micheal is smart which he isn't. Then one day when her Matilda's mom when out for bingo, Matilda went out for the library . She enters and the Librarian asks if she wants any younger book for her, Matilda refuses and asks where the big children's books are. The Librarian shows her the way. Matilda is full of Funny, Cool and useless things, I hope you all like it. Btw the book is different than the movie so i recommend reading the book first than watching the movie. I watched the movie first and when i red the book it was confused. So read the book first :)
              • ramzilla99
                ramzilla99Monday, December 14, 2020 at 11:07 am55 stars
                Matilda is vary smart kid but with dumb parents.
                • swirlycool
                  swirlycoolThursday, July 30, 2020 at 2:06 pm
                  ooh i wanna read this book!
                  • MillyThursday, July 2, 2020 at 1:45 am
                    I love the book. It was amazing. Matilda is a very creative book 💫
                    • devbaiba
                      devbaibaFriday, June 19, 2020 at 3:49 am44 stars
                      Matilda is a very creative book.