Now a musical!

Matilda is a sweet, exceptional young girl, but her parents think she's just a nuisance. She expects school to be different but there she has to face Miss Trunchbull, a menacing, kid-hating headmistress. When Matilda is attacked by the Trunchbull she suddenly discovers she has a remarkable power with which to fight back. It'll take a superhuman genius to give Miss Trunchbull what she deserves and Matilda may be just the one to do it!

Here is Roald Dahl's original novel of a little girl with extraordinary powers. This much-loved story has recently been made into a wonderful new musical, adapted by Dennis Kelly with music and lyrics by Tim Minchin.
Paperback, 212 pages
Published on November 22, 2016 by Puffin
ISBN-10: 0141369361
ISBN-13: 9780141369365
309 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
to use your custom avatar.
  • echidne
    echidneSunday, November 19, 2017 at 1:26 pm55 stars
    This book is very inspiring for little people ,like me.I am not bragging when I say that I was moved to a higher class because where I am from they teach what was being taught much earlier.Matilda is beautifully smart and gorgeously brainy. I am so happy that she's happy.
    • basketballstar2
      basketballstar2Thursday, November 16, 2017 at 8:27 am55 stars
      Cant wait for the next road dahl book.
      • mgr1117
        mgr1117Thursday, November 16, 2017 at 5:57 am55 stars
        itt is a great book
        • minireader
          minireaderFriday, November 10, 2017 at 2:34 pm44 stars
          The book is about a little girl called Matilda ( her name is on the front of the book ) and she is very smart. I love the book so much and I even watched the musical!
          • lycerujove
            lycerujoveThursday, October 26, 2017 at 7:28 am
            This book was amazing! i read it last year and i still remember every little bit of it. Surely read this book.
            • horse4us
              horse4usFriday, October 20, 2017 at 5:48 am55 stars
              this is such an amazing book!
              • 5SEFriday, October 20, 2017 at 2:26 am
                Matilda is about a little, intelligent girl who loves to read. She goes to a school with a lovely, kind teacher called Miss Honey however her head teacher, Miss Trunchbull, is wicked, villainous and locks the children in the dreaded 'chokey'! She spends most of the day alone while her mother, father and brother are out. Her parents are horrible and they act like they don't love her. This leads to Matilda discovering that she has magical powers! The characters in the story are good because they all have different personalities. Lavender is Matilda's friend who places a newt in Miss Trunchbull's jug of water. One day, the children have to go to a very important assembly where Bruce Bogtrotter is made to eat a whole chocolate cake. This part of the story was hilarious. The only negative about this book is that it is not long enough! We would recommend this story to children above 6 years old (junior school age) because some of the language is quite difficult to read and some words are a bit offensive. It would also be appropriate for adults. Read the book to find out whether the children get their own back on Miss Trunchbull!
                • 5B Friday, October 20, 2017 at 1:12 am
                  Summary: Matilda by Roald Dahl is an adventure book about a 5 year old girl that could read since she was three and a half. Although her parents and the evil head teacher Miss Trunchbull are incredibly unpleasant, she meets the lovely Miss Honey who is no more than an angel in disguise. We go on a journey into the world of Crunchem Hall with Matilda and meet wonderful characters like Lavender, who plays an excellent trick on Miss Trunchbull. What secret does Miss Honey learn about Matilda? Read it to find out! Our Opinion: On the whole we really enjoyed the experience of reading Matilda. There are many exciting parts, including the antics of the evil Miss Trunchbull! We thought the author had an excellent sense of humor. Many of us thought Roald Dahl used language beautifully to paint a picture in our heads. We really felt like we were there! The book also has a drop of tragedy in it which made it interesting to read. However, one child in our class felt the book wasn't exhilarating enough for him! Who we recommend the book for: We recommend this book to anyone and everyone who wants to read an epic tale of bravery. We feel it is particularly suitable for ages 6 + as there are some scary parts. Our rating: 9/10
                  • ellabonjella
                    ellabonjellaTuesday, October 10, 2017 at 6:59 pm55 stars
                    I read the book in 1 week.
                    • Miss scar Tuesday, September 12, 2017 at 5:29 pm
                      Matilda is probably one of my favourite chapter books ever in my life. When I started to read it at first I thought it was about a smart girl who was already in school. But when her father started to being mean to her and she went to school I started to get it. At the end it was a bit sad but it is still the best book ever this book is a 10/10 and I recommend this for all ages.

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      mircat wrote:

                      i am going to be a member i lov...
                      Animal Jam Official Insider's Gu...

                      anajas1
                      anajas1 wrote:

                      Don’t worry e06. It was boring f...
                      The Girl Who Drank the Moon

                      anajas1
                      anajas1 wrote:

                      This is an awesome book that was...
                      The Girl Who Drank the Moon

                      cutecat6
                      cutecat6 wrote:

                      Hey, Stich123, I have the it. An...
                      The Getaway (Diary of a Wimpy Ki...