Matilda (Random House Modern Classics)

Email
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 4 - 6S5.040009
In this award-winning Dahl title Matilda invents a game of punishing her parents when they treat her badly. She soon discovers that she has supernatural powers. It is illustrated by the inimitable Quentin Blake. It is adapted for stage in 2011 into an award-winning musical by Tim Minchin. Roald Dahl, the best-loved of children's writers, was born in Wales of Norwegian parents. His books continue to be bestsellers, despite his death in 1990, and worldwide sales are over 100 million! Quentin Blake is one of the best-known and best-loved children's illustrators and it's impossible now to think of Roald Dahl's writings without imagining Quentin Blake's illustrations.
Paperback, 212 pages
Published on November 22, 2016 by Puffin
ISBN-10: 0141369361
ISBN-13: 9780141369365
273 Book Reviews
to use your custom avatar.
  • jo13
    jo13Tuesday, March 14, 2017 at 12:05 pm
    looks awesome!
    • ovaldonuts
      ovaldonutsMonday, January 16, 2017 at 1:40 pm55 stars
      So good! Couldn't put it down! I love Miss Honey. I'm glad Trunchbull isn't my principal!
      • A-someMonday, January 16, 2017 at 12:08 pm
        I love Roal Dahl books!
        • jazzie 449Monday, January 16, 2017 at 10:05 am
          love it! I just couldn't put it down.
          • jazzie 443Monday, January 16, 2017 at 10:03 am
            i just LOVED this book. i think that Miss.Honey is 1 of my favourite characters.
            • kawiimilkshakeMonday, January 16, 2017 at 9:48 am
              this is my favourite book in the whole world. I've watched the movie, read the book, and even seen the musical! It is an AWSOME story. I loved it so much, I even named my hamster after it!
              • dancegirl_k2006
                dancegirl_k2006Wednesday, January 11, 2017 at 11:52 am55 stars
                I decided to read this book because I got it for Christmas and I have watched the movie lots of times and I loved it!! The book has a lot of detail.
                • fade
                  fadeWednesday, December 7, 2016 at 1:27 pm55 stars
                  The first time you read this story, savor the beautiful plot. Think of Matilda, her parents, and Miss Honey... Matilda was about a young, intelligent girl. Since the day Matilda was born, she was different from her family. Her mother, Mrs. Wormwood, and her father, Mr. Wormwood, believed that TV was the path to education. However, Matilda began reading at quite an early age. Matilda had been mistreated by her parents, who didn't care for her at all. Through books, poems, and dictionaries, Matilda become very smart, and her imagination led her to amazing places... places where she could be away from the wrath of Mr. and Mrs. Wormwood. When Matilda finally begins school (she was six when she finally began) she meets her sweet, calm, bright teacher, Miss Honey. But before Matilda gets her hopes high for a beautiful school year, she meets Ms. Trunchbull, the vicious, stubborn, evil headmistress of Crunchem Hall Primary School. Ms. Trunchbull hates all children... as a matter of fact, she hated everyone. Throughout this story, secrets unfold between Matilda, and Matilda discovers that she has powers to fight the bullies in her life...
                  • profmimi
                    profmimiFriday, January 20, 2017 at 12:46 pm
                    Beautiful answer. I saw Matilda on Broadway!
                  • joy Friday, December 2, 2016 at 6:49 am
                    love it
                    • kitten7260
                      kitten7260Thursday, December 1, 2016 at 5:24 pm55 stars
                      Matilda is a brilliant girl who is really misunderstood by her parents. You learn about how she overcomes all the hardships of school and parents, and will love laughing at lots of awesomely funny parts. Read this book!

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      m1lk3y_w4y
                      m1lk3y_w4y wrote:

                      This book is second in the serie...
                      Warren the 13th and the Whisperi...

                      Puppy love wrote:

                      I love 🐕's and I have one and sh...
                      A New Beginning #1 (Magic Puppy)

                      jorazorallen94o

                      Read The Book Series it's even b...
                      Naruto, Vol. 1: Uzumaki Naruto

                      jorazorallen94o

                      I may be obsessed because I love...
                      Naruto, Vol. 1: Uzumaki Naruto