Now a musical!

Matilda is a sweet, exceptional young girl, but her parents think she's just a nuisance. She expects school to be different but there she has to face Miss Trunchbull, a menacing, kid-hating headmistress. When Matilda is attacked by the Trunchbull she suddenly discovers she has a remarkable power with which to fight back. It'll take a superhuman genius to give Miss Trunchbull what she deserves and Matilda may be just the one to do it!

Here is Roald Dahl's original novel of a little girl with extraordinary powers. This much-loved story has recently been made into a wonderful new musical, adapted by Dennis Kelly with music and lyrics by Tim Minchin.
Paperback, 212 pages
Published on November 22, 2016 by Puffin
ISBN-10: 0141369361
ISBN-13: 9780141369365
316 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • 21simskl
    21simsklSaturday, February 24, 2018 at 10:37 pm55 stars
    This book is good because of how when she gets picked on by her parents and her brother and Miss Trunchbull. Miss Trunch bull is really mean because she locks the students in a choky when they do things wrong.
    • mariakkk
      mariakkkSaturday, February 17, 2018 at 4:11 am55 stars
      This story is about a girl called Matilda.Matilda has amazing powers!Her power is that she can move things by just looking and whispering!Her parents are very mean.But Matilda can read and do the two times table before entering school!But the headmistress is very mean.(Her name is Miss Trunchbull.)But her teacher, Miss Honey is very nice.
      • heybbboooyyyy
        heybbboooyyyyWednesday, February 7, 2018 at 6:12 pm55 stars
        Wow mgoblue somebody has read the book more than once
        • heybbboooyyyy
          heybbboooyyyyWednesday, February 7, 2018 at 6:04 pm55 stars
          It is really cool and as you started to read more of it the pieces start to come together and I especially like the end where she goes to live with Miss Honey.
          • freebird
            freebirdMonday, January 1, 2018 at 6:31 pm55 stars
            amazing
            • mgoblue
              mgoblueTuesday, November 28, 2017 at 2:53 pm55 stars
              Matilda is about an extra smart little girl named Matilda who loves to read and is much smarter than your average five year old. The problem is, her parents don't support her and her dad is a cheat. When Matilda starts going to kindergarten at a school with the worst principle you can imagine, Miss Trunchbull. She is a former Olympian and is the strongest, meanest, and rudest woman you can every imagine, with all sorts of punishments and tricks up her sleeve. Can Matilda find a way to get her family to understand her and get rid of the Trunchbull?
              • tori3ghoul
                tori3ghoulMonday, November 27, 2017 at 3:03 pm
                This book was slightly different from the movie, but I still liked it. Matilda's lessons at school are more detailed and Ms. Honey tells more about her house when Matilda visits. Some scenes come later and certain characters look a little different, but it was a great book nonetheless.
                • echidne
                  echidneSunday, November 19, 2017 at 1:26 pm55 stars
                  This book is very inspiring for little people ,like me.I am not bragging when I say that I was moved to a higher class because where I am from they teach what was being taught much earlier.Matilda is beautifully smart and gorgeously brainy. I am so happy that she's happy.
                  • basketballstar2
                    basketballstar2Thursday, November 16, 2017 at 8:27 am55 stars
                    Cant wait for the next road dahl book.
                    • mgr1117
                      mgr1117Thursday, November 16, 2017 at 5:57 am55 stars
                      itt is a great book

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      aquamaria
                      aquamaria wrote:

                      I really want to read this over ...
                      Cyber-Thief Showdown (Geronimo S...

                      aquamaria
                      aquamaria wrote:

                      This book is awesome even though...
                      No Time To Lose (Geronimo Stilto...

                      aquamaria
                      aquamaria wrote:

                      I should ether I get this book t...
                      No Time To Lose (Geronimo Stilto...

                      Ashley wrote:

                      I love this comic book I already...
                      Dog Man: From the Creator of Cap...