Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 4 - 6S5.040009
Now a musical!

Matilda is a sweet, exceptional young girl, but her parents think she's just a nuisance. She expects school to be different but there she has to face Miss Trunchbull, a menacing, kid-hating headmistress. When Matilda is attacked by the Trunchbull she suddenly discovers she has a remarkable power with which to fight back. It'll take a superhuman genius to give Miss Trunchbull what she deserves and Matilda may be just the one to do it!

Here is Roald Dahl's original novel of a little girl with extraordinary powers. This much-loved story has recently been made into a wonderful new musical, adapted by Dennis Kelly with music and lyrics by Tim Minchin.
Paperback, 212 pages
Published on November 22, 2016 by Puffin
ISBN-10: 0141369361
ISBN-13: 9780141369365
323 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • emvgb
    emvgbWednesday, December 5, 2018 at 6:41 pm55 stars
    I loved this book and when I found out it was a book since J watched the movie I was so glad to get it for christmas it was great!
    • hiWednesday, October 10, 2018 at 2:36 pm
      I love this book. I first read it in second grade. I have been obsessed with it ever since!!
      • bacon_bitzz
        bacon_bitzzWednesday, October 10, 2018 at 2:19 pm55 stars
        Yet another amazing Roald Dahl book!
        • MeSunday, July 29, 2018 at 11:46 am
          I started it but I didn't finish it because I didn't like it.
          • bravey4ever
            bravey4everMonday, May 21, 2018 at 1:50 pm55 stars
            Matilda is a daughter of a grumpy motorbike seller, and her mum failed to see how GENIUS she is. She have a big brother called Michael. In her school she have a teacher called Miss Honey and she is sweet like honey but the headmistress, Miss trunchbull is a big bullie.
            • scarr3
              scarr3Monday, April 30, 2018 at 12:20 pm55 stars
              Matilda is a short small girl. She should be in the top grade, but the headmistress is very mean and will not let her. Her teacher Miss Honey told her the true Identity of the Tunchbull. Matilda used her brain power to get her to leave town. I loved this book. It was just the right amount of pages and it was very funny. It is a cleaver book and really well written.
              • pinehill
                pinehillWednesday, April 11, 2018 at 9:08 am33 stars
                this book is good for people who love magic!! Ages 8-11 would enjoy this story about a young girl who loves to read and has special powers,her parents dont care for her. MATILDA
                • 21simskl
                  21simsklSaturday, February 24, 2018 at 10:37 pm55 stars
                  This book is good because of how when she gets picked on by her parents and her brother and Miss Trunchbull. Miss Trunch bull is really mean because she locks the students in a choky when they do things wrong.
                  • mariakkk
                    mariakkkSaturday, February 17, 2018 at 4:11 am55 stars
                    This story is about a girl called Matilda.Matilda has amazing powers!Her power is that she can move things by just looking and whispering!Her parents are very mean.But Matilda can read and do the two times table before entering school!But the headmistress is very mean.(Her name is Miss Trunchbull.)But her teacher, Miss Honey is very nice.
                    • heybbboooyyyy
                      heybbboooyyyyWednesday, February 7, 2018 at 6:12 pm55 stars
                      Wow mgoblue somebody has read the book more than once

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      SPACE MaN wrote:

                      when i get there they are gone.
                      Weird But True Christmas: 300 Fe...

                      t.u wrote:

                      This book is very funny! I laugh...
                      The Meltdown (Diary of a Wimpy K...

                      Peter100 wrote:

                      I love it
                      Wonder

                      name wrote:

                      this book was gucci
                      Hatchet

                      Our Apps and Plugins