Now a musical!

Matilda is a sweet, exceptional young girl, but her parents think she's just a nuisance. She expects school to be different but there she has to face Miss Trunchbull, a menacing, kid-hating headmistress. When Matilda is attacked by the Trunchbull she suddenly discovers she has a remarkable power with which to fight back. It'll take a superhuman genius to give Miss Trunchbull what she deserves and Matilda may be just the one to do it!

Here is Roald Dahl's original novel of a little girl with extraordinary powers. This much-loved story has recently been made into a wonderful new musical, adapted by Dennis Kelly with music and lyrics by Tim Minchin.
Paperback, 212 pages
Published on November 22, 2016 by Puffin
ISBN-10: 0141369361
ISBN-13: 9780141369365
300 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
to use your custom avatar.
  • Miss scar Tuesday, September 12, 2017 at 5:29 pm
    Matilda is probably one of my favourite chapter books ever in my life. When I started to read it at first I thought it was about a smart girl who was already in school. But when her father started to being mean to her and she went to school I started to get it. At the end it was a bit sad but it is still the best book ever this book is a 10/10 and I recommend this for all ages.
    • smallpaul12
      smallpaul12Saturday, July 22, 2017 at 1:32 pm55 stars
      This is so good. Roald Dahl is the best writer ever!!! This book is just like the movie. Such a cliff hanging book!
      • armcginn
        armcginnSunday, May 21, 2017 at 10:18 am55 stars
        Caution, there might be words that are not polite or appropriate for really young kids in here but it is a really good book and story. Both funny and smart. Downright hilarious is how I would describe it.
        • alejandroWednesday, May 17, 2017 at 11:09 am
          matiida putting some superblond coior dye in foworm woods hair. trunchbulls is mean becaes miss. honey old money to miss.trunchbulls and miss.honey wot the new houes.
          • soccer playerWednesday, May 17, 2017 at 11:03 am
            Matilda written by road doh about Matilda parents are going to Spain and miss Trumbull was a teacher and Matilda did her thing on here own miss Trumbull is evil and she don't like kids honestly is important that Matilda.
            • messi26Wednesday, May 17, 2017 at 11:01 am
              Matilda by roald dahl is about, Matilda was talking 1 and half years old and read too.Matilda did every thing for her parents she was smart too.she went to school her principal was mean she hates children she is a show off.miss honey is a friend of Matilda.artencea ate the cake ,and miss teunchbull p.ick a random student to eat the cake,but will that student eat the hole cake?my favorite part was when matilda got eye power .
              • ramstreyo619Wednesday, May 17, 2017 at 11:01 am
                I like matilda becuse she has pawer and she can make mirukois hapen she make's evrethng go her waye she is a brit and woderfoi child.
                • player1Wednesday, May 17, 2017 at 10:53 am
                  Matilda wet to school she have a nice teacher in the class came to the gym a boy ate all the cake Matilda was mad because she do not pot a newt in the mug in Miss Trunchbull and Matilda got hot in her head she move the mug to the up and it stop. Matilda went to Miss Honey house and no fernucher Matilda and Miss honey got tea Miss honey tell a story to Matilda,Miss honey she was 2 year old her mom died and her Gramdmother came she was 12 her dad died Miss honey tell who her Grandmother is Miss trunchbull and Matilda wast post to move the chock.
                  • cardinalsalldayWednesday, May 17, 2017 at 10:49 am
                    Matilda is written by Roald DahlI is a girl name Matilda.to began with Matilda was burly 4 and one half and she still could read chapter books.another thing is that she put blond on her dads hair to make him angry.In the middle Mr.wormwood will always get cars and do what they want.But this time he gets cars to still them or change the license plate or change the color of the girl or boy.
                    • cardinal fanWednesday, May 17, 2017 at 10:46 am
                      Matilda written by Roald Dahl is about a 5 year girl that is in a classroom with Miss Honey and with other students.Matilda is the smartest girl in her class because she knows her multiplication up to 12's and also can read very long sentences.Miss Honey had told the evil principal Miss Trunchbull to move Matilda to a higher classroom.But the evil principal said "NO"to Miss Honey.Matilda's parents aren't kind and caring to Matilda like Miss Trunchbull.When Matilda comes back home she finds her family backing up for spain.Will Matilda go with her family or stay with Miss Honey.My favorite part is when Matilda spooks Miss Trunchbull by writting her real name on the chalk boured.What I learned is that to always be kind to others and honest because kind and honest will come back to you Matilda is very very kind to lavender.lavender is Matilda's friend.

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      maria12345
                      maria12345 wrote:

                      i love this book and now i am lo...
                      Trivia: The Lost Symbol by Dan B...

                      barty101
                      barty101 wrote:

                      My friend (shes next to me) (its...
                      Wonder

                      barty101
                      barty101 wrote:

                      Isnt this a TV show??? well i th...
                      Hidden Figures Young Readers' Ed...

                      barty101
                      barty101 wrote:

                      I love Chronicles of Narnia Its ...
                      The Complete Chronicles of Narni...