Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 9 - 12Grades 3 - 5n/a4.889124

Cassia has always trusted the Society to make the right choices for her: what to read, what to watch, what to believe. So when Xander's face appears on-screen at her Matching ceremony, Cassia knows with complete certainty that he is her ideal mate . . . until she sees Ky Markham's face flash for an instant before the screen fades to black.

The Society tells her it's a glitch, a rare malfunction, and that she should focus on the happy life she's destined to lead with Xander. But Cassia can't stop thinking about Ky, and as they slowly fall in love, Cassia begins to doubt the Society's infallibility and is faced with an impossible choice: between Xander and Ky, between the only life she's known and a path that no one else has dared to follow.

Paperback, 416 pages
Published on September 20, 2011 by Speak
ISBN-10: 014241977X
ISBN-13: 9780142419779
126 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • hawiian_girl
    hawiian_girlTuesday, May 1, 2018 at 4:37 pm55 stars
    seems good...
    • malcatsch27
      malcatsch27Monday, January 15, 2018 at 10:54 am
      The book was so so so so good if your into sci fic romance
      • lalalalala
        lalalalalaThursday, July 13, 2017 at 9:35 am
        this book is really scary but i love it but i think it the book i bad but i stll love iy
        • fantomsky26
          fantomsky26Sunday, March 26, 2017 at 7:55 am33 stars
          This book is about a girl who lives in this place where the government controls almost everything in their lives and they try to make everything perfect so they choose how much food you eat, what you eat, when you die, who you marry, and so on. Though this girl starts to want freedom because she falls in love with someone who she was not matched with. I feel like if I lived there I would not be able to take it. It would be to stifling.
          • bossbabyjay
            bossbabyjayThursday, October 13, 2016 at 7:43 am
            I looked at the cover and it totally captures the main character's nature. The thing is i'm only only the first page.
            • kaate
              kaateFriday, June 10, 2016 at 10:14 am55 stars
              Wow getting matched with your best friend is great, but I think getting match with some you love might be even better! I love this book and I've read it. Thank you author for writing such inspiring story!
              • angelina2
                angelina2Friday, April 29, 2016 at 7:47 am55 stars
                I want to read it who does she get matched with!!!!!!!1
                • fantomsky26
                  fantomsky26Sunday, March 26, 2017 at 12:27 pm33 stars
                  She gets matched with her best friend but she almost got matched with someone who wasn't supposed to be matched with anyone.
                • AlyssaThursday, April 7, 2016 at 8:19 am
                  What will Cassia's decision be when faced with a huge life changing problem? The book Matched written by Ally Condie is about a society that picks everything for their citizens, such as food, clothing, jobs,and who they get matched with. When Cassia turns 17, she goes to her match banquet and she gets matched with her best friend Xander, but the next day when Cassia checks her micro card witch you get the night of your match banquet, she sees another boys face after Xander. After that Cassia falls in love with the other boy, and he has fallen in love with her. They have to keep a secret from everyone, especially the government. I would recommend this book to people because it is an adventure that never ends. Cassia has many more secrets to keep with the help of the boy she fell in love with. If you want to find out Cassia's other match or her other secrets read the book matched.
                  • mustachegyrl78Wednesday, March 2, 2016 at 7:07 am
                    I really only love this first one, this one was straight forward!
                    • monet443
                      monet443Thursday, February 4, 2016 at 10:43 am
                      Amazing book! I love Cassia!

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      e06
                      e06 wrote:

                      This is perfect for summer! I l...
                      The Penderwicks: A Summer Tale o...

                      applemango
                      applemango wrote:

                      To me this book just seemed unin...
                      Rump: The True Story of Rumpelst...

                      applemango
                      applemango wrote:

                      The reason why, in the first pla...
                      Samantha Spinner and the Super-S...

                      MYSTERYGAL7 wrote:

                      So good and it was really relata...
                      Ghosts