Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 9 - 12Grades 3 - 5n/a4.889124

Cassia has always trusted the Society to make the right choices for her: what to read, what to watch, what to believe. So when Xander's face appears on-screen at her Matching ceremony, Cassia knows with complete certainty that he is her ideal mate . . . until she sees Ky Markham's face flash for an instant before the screen fades to black.

The Society tells her it's a glitch, a rare malfunction, and that she should focus on the happy life she's destined to lead with Xander. But Cassia can't stop thinking about Ky, and as they slowly fall in love, Cassia begins to doubt the Society's infallibility and is faced with an impossible choice: between Xander and Ky, between the only life she's known and a path that no one else has dared to follow.

Paperback, 416 pages
Published on September 20, 2011 by Speak
ISBN-10: 014241977X
ISBN-13: 9780142419779
129 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • katniss122
    katniss122Saturday, July 28, 2018 at 6:36 pm55 stars
    Cassia is a 17 year old girl leaving in a futuristic world known as the Society. Cassia has always trusted the Society with everything what she eats, listens too, and even marries. Cassia like all other 17 year olds is Matched meaning she gets placed with the best possible husband so her future is bright and perfect. When Cassia finds out she is Matched with one of her best friends Xander she could not be happier and dreams of her perfect happily ever after. But one day Cassia tries to view more information about Xander using the card they had given her. But for a instant Ky Markham face appears across the screen. The Society claims it was a rare glitch but this weavers Cassia's trust in the Society who she thought didn't make mistakes. Then she begins to spend time with Ky and Xander and is torn between the Society and True Love. I highly suggest this book it is so romantic and sweet and you will fall in love with young Cassia along with Ky and Xander.
    • unibrowboi
      unibrowboiThursday, July 5, 2018 at 4:30 am55 stars
      I read this book about 2 months ago , I loved the blend of drama and adventure.
      • wiccanbat666
        wiccanbat666Monday, July 2, 2018 at 12:59 pm55 stars
        A lot of talking; less action. I like the writing style; it's beautiful . The words blend together perfectly. KY and Cassia have a perfect chemistry. The way their love story blossom, oh so sweet ♥ I don't want to live inside this book. Creepy. They don't have a choice in whatever they do. Ms. Ally Condie did a great job with this book! The ending is quite fast. I can't wait to read Crossed!
        • hawiian_girl
          hawiian_girlTuesday, May 1, 2018 at 4:37 pm55 stars
          seems good...
          • malcatsch27
            malcatsch27Monday, January 15, 2018 at 10:54 am
            The book was so so so so good if your into sci fic romance
            • lalalalala
              lalalalalaThursday, July 13, 2017 at 9:35 am
              this book is really scary but i love it but i think it the book i bad but i stll love iy
              • fantomsky26
                fantomsky26Sunday, March 26, 2017 at 7:55 am33 stars
                This book is about a girl who lives in this place where the government controls almost everything in their lives and they try to make everything perfect so they choose how much food you eat, what you eat, when you die, who you marry, and so on. Though this girl starts to want freedom because she falls in love with someone who she was not matched with. I feel like if I lived there I would not be able to take it. It would be to stifling.
                • bossbabyjay
                  bossbabyjayThursday, October 13, 2016 at 7:43 am
                  I looked at the cover and it totally captures the main character's nature. The thing is i'm only only the first page.
                  • kaate
                    kaateFriday, June 10, 2016 at 10:14 am55 stars
                    Wow getting matched with your best friend is great, but I think getting match with some you love might be even better! I love this book and I've read it. Thank you author for writing such inspiring story!
                    • angelina2
                      angelina2Friday, April 29, 2016 at 7:47 am55 stars
                      I want to read it who does she get matched with!!!!!!!1
                      • fantomsky26
                        fantomsky26Sunday, March 26, 2017 at 12:27 pm33 stars
                        She gets matched with her best friend but she almost got matched with someone who wasn't supposed to be matched with anyone.

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      mimi wrote:

                      i love this book! there should b...
                      The Inventors at No. 8

                      pizzagirl7
                      pizzagirl7 wrote:

                      I got this book for a prize and ...
                      Weird But True Animals

                      pizzagirl7
                      pizzagirl7 wrote:

                      My little brother loves this boo...
                      World of Reading: Jake and the N...

                      pizzagirl7
                      pizzagirl7 wrote:

                      I love reading this with my litt...
                      Sofia the First The Royal Slumbe...

                      Our Apps and Plugins