Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 9 - 12Grades 3 - 5n/a4.889124

Cassia has always trusted the Society to make the right choices for her: what to read, what to watch, what to believe. So when Xander's face appears on-screen at her Matching ceremony, Cassia knows with complete certainty that he is her ideal mate . . . until she sees Ky Markham's face flash for an instant before the screen fades to black.

The Society tells her it's a glitch, a rare malfunction, and that she should focus on the happy life she's destined to lead with Xander. But Cassia can't stop thinking about Ky, and as they slowly fall in love, Cassia begins to doubt the Society's infallibility and is faced with an impossible choice: between Xander and Ky, between the only life she's known and a path that no one else has dared to follow.

Paperback, 416 pages
Published on September 20, 2011 by Speak
ISBN-10: 014241977X
ISBN-13: 9780142419779
134 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • fira
    firaThursday, February 7, 2019 at 7:13 am55 stars
    I have almost finished the third book in this series. It is an amazing book and kind of like the hunger games with the aspect of a distopian society and love. Once you start reading this book, you won't be able to stop. There are many lessons to be learned from this book, but it is also really great to just read for pleasure. Ally Condie does a wonderful job of really making you really get to know the characters. I really love this series and recommend it to just about everyone.
    • karozas14
      karozas14Thursday, September 27, 2018 at 10:44 am
      very interesting and really good if you like romance and mystery.
      • aabcjsTuesday, September 18, 2018 at 6:37 am
        Its so good
        • blahblahgold056
          blahblahgold056Monday, September 17, 2018 at 5:10 pm55 stars
          Just read it! You won't regret it for a single moment of your life!
          • mMonday, September 17, 2018 at 3:15 pm
            This book is perfect for those who love romance that isn't overly romantic, and dystopian novels that are not completely focused on that conflict. It is a perfect blend of the two, and I could not put it down. If you are too young or not allowed to read the Hunger Games, this is an amazing alternative.
            • katniss122
              katniss122Saturday, July 28, 2018 at 6:36 pm55 stars
              Cassia is a 17 year old girl leaving in a futuristic world known as the Society. Cassia has always trusted the Society with everything what she eats, listens too, and even marries. Cassia like all other 17 year olds is Matched meaning she gets placed with the best possible husband so her future is bright and perfect. When Cassia finds out she is Matched with one of her best friends Xander she could not be happier and dreams of her perfect happily ever after. But one day Cassia tries to view more information about Xander using the card they had given her. But for a instant Ky Markham face appears across the screen. The Society claims it was a rare glitch but this weavers Cassia's trust in the Society who she thought didn't make mistakes. Then she begins to spend time with Ky and Xander and is torn between the Society and True Love. I highly suggest this book it is so romantic and sweet and you will fall in love with young Cassia along with Ky and Xander.
              • unibrowboi
                unibrowboiThursday, July 5, 2018 at 4:30 am55 stars
                I read this book about 2 months ago , I loved the blend of drama and adventure.
                • wiccanbat666
                  wiccanbat666Monday, July 2, 2018 at 12:59 pm55 stars
                  A lot of talking; less action. I like the writing style; it's beautiful . The words blend together perfectly. KY and Cassia have a perfect chemistry. The way their love story blossom, oh so sweet ♥ I don't want to live inside this book. Creepy. They don't have a choice in whatever they do. Ms. Ally Condie did a great job with this book! The ending is quite fast. I can't wait to read Crossed!
                  • hawiian_girl
                    hawiian_girlTuesday, May 1, 2018 at 4:37 pm55 stars
                    seems good...
                    • malcatsch27
                      malcatsch27Monday, January 15, 2018 at 10:54 am
                      The book was so so so so good if your into sci fic romance