Cassia has always trusted the Society to make the right choices for her: what to read, what to watch, what to believe. So when Xander's face appears on-screen at her Matching ceremony, Cassia knows with complete certainty that he is her ideal mate . . . until she sees Ky Markham's face flash for an instant before the screen fades to black.

The Society tells her it's a glitch, a rare malfunction, and that she should focus on the happy life she's destined to lead with Xander. But Cassia can't stop thinking about Ky, and as they slowly fall in love, Cassia begins to doubt the Society's infallibility and is faced with an impossible choice: between Xander and Ky, between the only life she's known and a path that no one else has dared to follow.

Paperback, 416 pages
Published on September 20, 2011 by Speak
ISBN-10: 014241977X
ISBN-13: 9780142419779
124 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
to use your custom avatar.
  • lalalalala
    lalalalalaThursday, July 13, 2017 at 9:35 am
    this book is really scary but i love it but i think it the book i bad but i stll love iy
    • fantomsky26
      fantomsky26Sunday, March 26, 2017 at 7:55 am33 stars
      This book is about a girl who lives in this place where the government controls almost everything in their lives and they try to make everything perfect so they choose how much food you eat, what you eat, when you die, who you marry, and so on. Though this girl starts to want freedom because she falls in love with someone who she was not matched with. I feel like if I lived there I would not be able to take it. It would be to stifling.
      • bossbabyjay
        bossbabyjayThursday, October 13, 2016 at 7:43 am
        I looked at the cover and it totally captures the main character's nature. The thing is i'm only only the first page.
        • kaate
          kaateFriday, June 10, 2016 at 10:14 am55 stars
          Wow getting matched with your best friend is great, but I think getting match with some you love might be even better! I love this book and I've read it. Thank you author for writing such inspiring story!
          • angelina2
            angelina2Friday, April 29, 2016 at 7:47 am55 stars
            I want to read it who does she get matched with!!!!!!!1
            • fantomsky26
              fantomsky26Sunday, March 26, 2017 at 12:27 pm33 stars
              She gets matched with her best friend but she almost got matched with someone who wasn't supposed to be matched with anyone.
            • AlyssaThursday, April 7, 2016 at 8:19 am
              What will Cassia's decision be when faced with a huge life changing problem? The book Matched written by Ally Condie is about a society that picks everything for their citizens, such as food, clothing, jobs,and who they get matched with. When Cassia turns 17, she goes to her match banquet and she gets matched with her best friend Xander, but the next day when Cassia checks her micro card witch you get the night of your match banquet, she sees another boys face after Xander. After that Cassia falls in love with the other boy, and he has fallen in love with her. They have to keep a secret from everyone, especially the government. I would recommend this book to people because it is an adventure that never ends. Cassia has many more secrets to keep with the help of the boy she fell in love with. If you want to find out Cassia's other match or her other secrets read the book matched.
              • mustachegyrl78Wednesday, March 2, 2016 at 7:07 am
                I really only love this first one, this one was straight forward!
                • monet443
                  monet443Thursday, February 4, 2016 at 10:43 am
                  Amazing book! I love Cassia!
                  • srox
                    sroxThursday, January 14, 2016 at 9:36 am
                    Back on track with some book reviews I just finished it. Its a great one really. If you know the series then you know that Crossed is next. then reached here's a link for you to watch the trailers. super cool. Hope you can follow me and ask your friends to. I promise to add book reviews or tell you what I'm reading at least every 2 days. capeesh? :D
                    • justdivein22
                      justdivein22Monday, November 30, 2015 at 4:47 pm55 stars
                      I loved Ally Condie's book series, Matched. I loved to follow the journey of Cassia in the society. It is a very well crafted book, with intertwining story lines, brilliant, descriptive scenery, and a whole believable time ahead of ours. The book features so many amazing concepts, from the society to matching to the other lands. I love how Ally Condie makes plot twist that keep you on your feet but at the same time, has moments that make you certain that Cassia, Ky, Xander, and the rest of the charters from this trilogy will get a happy ending.

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      aracha
                      aracha wrote:

                      This is one of my favorite books...
                      The Truth About Stacey: Full-Col...

                      alestr1718
                      alestr1718 wrote:

                      I'd love to read this.
                      Surviving High School: A Novel

                      Jake Paul wrote:

                      Losers I already read it. Hahaha...
                      Wimpy Kid Movie Diary: The Next ...

                      Adhgjlggejj wrote:

                      I have that book already!!!?!
                      The Dragon of Fortune (Geronimo ...