Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 3 - 7Grades 3 - 8W4.735427

When Jeffrey Lionel Magee, a scruffy 12-year-old kid, wanders into Two Mills, Pennsylvania, a legend is in the making.

Hardcover, 192 pages
Published on March 1, 1993 by Collins Educational
ISBN-10: 0003303063
ISBN-13: 9780003303063
110 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • Tsunami Tuesday, June 11, 2019 at 6:42 pm
    Absorbing novel so real and emotional
    • crazy girlMonday, May 20, 2019 at 10:21 am
      This book was one of my faviorite books and i would surely recomend
      • lmhewlett
        lmhewlettThursday, February 21, 2019 at 10:50 am55 starsFeatured
        This book is about a boy named Jeffrey Magee. He is very brave and fearless and has lots of energy, and loves to run. His parents died, so he’s an orphan. He then lives in many different places. One of those places is with the Beale family. He enjoys being with them, until he decides to leave. He meets a black boy named “Mars Bar,” and they are enemies at first, but things change that later. He also meets a man named Grayson, who became very important to Maniac. This book really deals with race, and how things were very divided. The town was split into two sides: East, where the white people lived, and the West side, where the black people lived. This book is sad in some parts, and very happy in others. The book is a good influence because Maniac didn’t look at other people’s skin color.
        • sweetooth
          sweetoothSaturday, October 27, 2018 at 5:51 pm
          Really excited to read this book😃
          • meFriday, June 8, 2018 at 7:51 am
            Maniac Magee by Jerry Spinelli was great book. I liked this book because the A book was ripped into pieces and use as confetti. I like Amanda.
            • jellyFriday, June 8, 2018 at 7:47 am
              Maniac Magee by Jerry Spinelli was awesome. Jeffrey Lionel Magee's. parents die in a trolley accident. Maniac likes to run in the morning. Also he makes friends along the way so you should read this book.
              • Maniac boy 105Friday, June 8, 2018 at 7:46 am
                Maniac Magee, by Jerry Spinelli was good. I did not like that Maniacs parents died in a high speed trolley accident. But I did like that he had a good life until Grayson dies.I did not like it when Mars Bar was mean to Maniac. I also did not like the fact that they were being horrible to each other because of black and white.
                • mad dogFriday, June 8, 2018 at 7:44 am
                  Maniac Magee, by Jerry Spinelli was a good book . Maniac runs away and finds a new family when his parents die. The book Maniac Magee had a lot of hyperbole.
                  • Dill pickle Friday, June 8, 2018 at 7:44 am
                    The book Maniac Magee was a good book. It is about a boys parents died in a trolley accident. They had john McNabb in the book. He was able to strike out any one but not Maniac. The full name of maniac is Jeffry Lionel Magee.I like this book because he likes to run and I like to run too.
                    • Jay-den Friday, June 8, 2018 at 7:43 am
                      Maniac , by Jerry was great.I like the ending part because it was funny.This book was about a kid that is from Pennsylvania and his mom and dad died in a trolley accident and runs away from his aunt and uncle.