When Jeffrey Lionel Magee, a scruffy 12-year-old kid, wanders into Two Mills, Pennsylvania, a legend is in the making.

Paperback, 180 pages
Published on November 1, 1999 by Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 0316809063
ISBN-13: 9780316809061
66 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
to use your custom avatar.
  • kitten7260
    kitten7260Monday, February 6, 2017 at 7:44 am55 stars
    Maniac Magee. Running through the city like CRAZY! Maniac Magee's gurdians are terrible and he has run away, only to live with kind people and go through many wild adventures.
    • dancegirl_j2006
      dancegirl_j2006Thursday, January 12, 2017 at 7:24 am55 stars
      I would so recommend this book. It is about Magee's life. He plays with the black kids and hes white. People think that is wrong. Magee has no parents and ran away from his aunt and uncle who couldn't share anything. To learn more about Magee's life read the book.
      • bookworker
        bookworkerTuesday, January 10, 2017 at 11:24 am22 stars
        not interesting enough
        • bry04
          bry04Friday, December 9, 2016 at 6:36 am44 stars
          Good book
          • lmer
            lmerFriday, October 7, 2016 at 6:34 am55 stars
            Great book!!!
            • yoyoyo123
              yoyoyo123Tuesday, March 8, 2016 at 8:52 am
              Introduction Have you been looking for a good book? Well I got one for you and the name of the book is Maniac Magee by Jerry Spinelli. The genre is fiction. In my personal opinion, this is one of my favorite books. I would rate it ten out of ten any day. It is a very exciting book to read. Body Paragraph The main character of the book is Maniac Magee and his Mom and Dad died in an accident. This takes place in California. He lives with his uncle, but he ran away in the middle of a school play. Now, he is on the run trying to find a home. After he becomes friends with a girl, he decides to live with her. After a while, he is on the run again and is living his life freely. This book is exciting to read because of the action taking place,like fights. This book is also one of my favorite books because it is one of the only ones that makes me excited to read it. A type of reader that would like this would be a reader who likes action in the book.
              • whovian111
                whovian111Sunday, February 7, 2016 at 10:29 am55 stars
                Very exciting book and teaches a good lesson.
                • allenj20
                  allenj20Sunday, January 10, 2016 at 4:15 am55 stars
                  Maniac Magee this book swing between happiness and sorrow that work in many plot. Maniac Magee is very excitable boy, he confront racism in the small town. He tried to find a home where there is none and plan to pacify tension between these two races of the town. The plan of Maniac Magee begins, as he not only changes the lives of a racially divided small town with his amazing and crazy, but he also runs away from living with his unhappy and aunt and uncle for eight years. The main character had some personality is relative to me, for instance, I also is very excitable boy I try to make anything change I don’t accept in my life. The story is exciting, and the ideas are thought provoking. I think everyone should read this book.
                  • horse_lover815
                    horse_lover815Monday, November 16, 2015 at 11:47 am
                    a great book for kids and very exciting!
                    • jc20
                      jc20Wednesday, September 9, 2015 at 2:09 am33 stars
                      This story happened at Pennsylvania, when the orphan Maniac Magee lost his parents in an car accident. The he went to live with his closest relatives. His uncle and aunt doesn’t like each other and wanted to get a divorce, they have separated things like 2 refrigerators, 2 TVs,etc. Maniac magee lives with his aunt and uncle for 8 years, then he can’t take it anymore so he ran away from home. He went to a town in west end and met his new best friend,Amanda Beale, Maniac magee borrow books from her every day. One day he met Amanda's parents, she told her parent that he is homeless so Amanda’s parent led him stay with them. He could not understand why the people in the west end call themselves “black” and call him “white”. He can't find the difference between himself and the west enders. I enjoy reading this book because this book describes a lot about the character, it interests me when he kick a football across the football court with only his bare feet. If I had a chance to change the plot, I would write more about his adventure with his “black” friends at the west end.

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      savage4lifebruh

                      Rodrick is a real bad in this bo...
                      Diary of a Wimpy Kid Rodrick Rules

                      Malaya wrote:

                      I really like this book I read a...
                      Ghosts

                      book bug wrote:

                      this book is great. full of adve...
                      Holes

                      googoo wrote:

                      AMAZING
                      Holes