Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 6n/a5.248437
Lida thought she was safe. Her neighbors wearing the yellow star were all taken away, but Lida is not Jewish. She will be fine, won't she?

But she cannot escape the horrors of World War II.

Lida's parents are ripped away from her and she is separated from her beloved sister, Larissa. The Nazis take Lida to a brutal work camp, where she and other Ukrainian children are forced into backbreaking labor. Starving and terrified, Lida bonds with her fellow prisoners, but none of them know if they'll live to see tomorrow.

When Lida and her friends are assigned to make bombs for the German army, Lida cannot stand the thought of helping the enemy. Then she has an idea. What if she sabotaged the bombs... and the Nazis? Can she do so without getting caught?

And if she's freed, will she ever find her sister again?

This pulse-pounding novel of survival, courage, and hope shows us a lesser-known piece of history -- and is sure to keep readers captivated until the last page.
Hardcover, 240 pages
Published on February 28, 2017 by Scholastic Press
ISBN-10: 0545931916
ISBN-13: 9780545931915
11 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • starkk_22
    starkk_22Sunday, February 23, 2020 at 8:32 am55 stars
    Lida and her sister are taken to a camp where they're separated. She's then put on a train which will lead them to a concentration camp. Lida makes friends on the way and tries not to get killed. When she's put into a position where she makes bombs she and her friends start putting dirt inside of the bombs instead of powder. Will she make it out alive? This book was amazing even though it was short it's still worth reading.
    • LidaWednesday, May 29, 2019 at 1:33 pm
      I'm so glad this book is historical. I got me so interested into WWll. The sequel The War Below is about what happened to Luka. This book shows her what life was like back then. She makes beauty in this awful situation. If I could i would rate this book 10 stars!
      • lit.ladyMonday, May 27, 2019 at 10:41 am
        Children in all recommended grades can be guided to discover the positive take-away in Making Bombs for Hitler. ~ ~ ~ There are repetitions of Lida saying that her mother always told her to look for the beauty in every situation. Repetitions in literature usually signal something important. Lida always searches for the beauty, sometimes inspiring it. The author seems to have left it up to the reader to discover whatever beauty can possibly be hidden in Lida's situation, and in our compassion, the beauty can be missed. Perhaps Skrypuch is showing us that even in these unimaginable conditions, supportive bonds of friendship are born and nurtured. Even in these unimaginable conditions, friends help each other find courage; but more importantly, friends help each other to find courage to act, to do something really important. In Making Bombs for Hitler, the children may or may not be able to save themselves, but they commit themselves to saving others. They no longer allow themselves to be used in Nazi endeavors. The children cease viewing themselves as just victims and take back whatever control they are able. We recall the mother's words, and become conscious witnesses to the empowerment of the children, as well. During- and post-reading reflections, guided discovery of plot and character, lead to the take-aways one hopes would remain long after the story ends. A book shared, the power of the discourse, makes for a greater impact, an opportunity for a deeper experience, and most hopefully, a positive take-away for children to carry forward.
        • LisaTuesday, April 16, 2019 at 7:12 am
          My daughter was required to read this book for her literature program at school. She is in the fourth grade. Although I think the book is very interesting as an adult, it is definitely not something a fourth grader should be reading. I am shocked to see that it is recommended for fourth through eighth grade. The book discusses on pages 70 and 71 the practice of putting a needle in the child’s arm and draining blood into bottles. The child is bled until death and this is done to treat wounded soldiers. There are other things in the book that are inappropriate for this grade level. My daughter had nightmares very similar to topics that were presented in the book. Please do not recommend this book to young children.
          • Book wormFriday, March 29, 2019 at 6:25 am
            This book is sooo good, I love all of Lidas adventures.
            • I’m a potatoSunday, March 3, 2019 at 2:15 pm
              Really good book!!😁
              • leahTuesday, January 29, 2019 at 12:36 pm
                I haven't read it yet but by the looks of it i think its a good book.
                • MacyTuesday, December 18, 2018 at 9:09 am
                  i honestly love this book it was amazing.
                  • tulylover
                    tulyloverSunday, June 3, 2018 at 7:07 pm55 stars
                    I reccomened this book to everyone I know. This book is about a girl named Lida, when World War II starts, Lida is ripped away from her sister and thrown into a Nazi work camp where Lida and her friends are seen as nothing more than parts for the Nazis war machine. Still, Lida has one of the best jobs in the camp, sewing. However, just when things start getting comfortable, Lida is assigned to make bombs for the enemy. Does Lida have the nerve to mess up the bombs? Will Lida and her sister ever be reunited? Find out by reading the book.
                    • Avery FlemingMonday, February 19, 2018 at 10:58 am
                      This book is on my most favorite list! It is so emotional! Lida is always going through a hard time. First, she lost her sister, then her new best friend. She then got split up with the boys, and after started living with one of them. This book is amazing! I definitely recommend this book. I don´t want to spoil anything else. I recommend this book to you!