Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 2 - 8W6.0112921

The first book in the internationally bestselling Septimus Heap series by Angie Sage, featuring the funny and fantastic adventures of a wizard apprentice and his quest to become an ExtraOrdinary Wizard.

New York Times Bestselling Series

“A deliciously spellbinding series opener.” —Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

“Fun, mystery, and rollicking characters.” —VOYA (starred review)

“Fluent, charismatic storytelling.” —ALA Booklist

Septimus Heap, the seventh son of the seventh son, disappears the night he is born, pronounced dead by the midwife. That same night, the baby's father, Silas Heap, comes across an abandoned child in the snow—a newborn girl with violet eyes. Who is this mysterious baby girl, and what really happened to the Heaps' beloved son Septimus?

The first book in this enthralling series by Angie Sage leads readers on a fantastic journey filled with quirky characters and Magykal charms, potions, and spells. Magyk is the original story of lost and rediscovered identities, rich with humor and heart.

Hardcover, 576 pages
Published on March 15, 2005 by Katherine Tegen Books
ISBN-10: 0060577312
ISBN-13: 9780060577315
43 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • glitterclaws
    glitterclawsFriday, June 14, 2019 at 5:44 am44 stars
    great book full of magic and adventure as you follow jenna and her family on a epic adventure. i loved this book great story line can't wait to read the rest of the series.
    • readerWednesday, March 27, 2019 at 11:03 am
      good book
      • lains24
        lains24Sunday, October 28, 2018 at 7:09 am55 stars
        This series is so amazing. I mean, I kind of had to stop reading the sixth book for, like, three months and have not gotten back to it, but here is the premise. Septimus Heap apparently died on the day he was born and on that very day, his dad found a baby girl that the Extraordinary wizard told him to keep. They then raised the child as their own. But did their seventh son, Septimus REALLY die? Or is he still out there?
        • megcat
          megcatTuesday, September 12, 2017 at 12:51 pm55 stars
          BEST BOOK EVER WRITTEN!!!!!!!!!!!!!
          • aarmau
            aarmauMonday, September 19, 2016 at 1:42 pm55 stars
            Are you looking for a good book to read?? One that you are sure to love if you loved Harry Potter?? I absolutely LOVE this book!! Wizards, Princesses, Charms all of this and you are sure to love it right??? Try this book out I am positive you will love it. Comment if you loved it too!!! <3 ;3
            • chewie
              chewieWednesday, June 1, 2016 at 12:27 pm55 stars
              In Magyk Silas Heap, a wizard, finds a baby in the snow freezing. He brings it back with him when he bumps into the Extraordinary wizard. The story begins here. I like this book because of its magic and adventure.
              • fuzzle
                fuzzleSaturday, February 20, 2016 at 4:03 pm
                Amazing book! A perfect read
                • imabook
                  imabookWednesday, April 1, 2015 at 5:38 am55 stars
                  I've read the whole Septimus Heap series and I absolutely love it. It is about a land with alchemists, wizards, and common people. Every single one of the books has a twist in it, and that keeps me reading even when the book gets a bit boring.
                  • candyexpress
                    candyexpressMonday, January 26, 2015 at 6:00 pm
                    I'm going to start and I'm counting on it to be awesome.
                    • baileli
                      baileliMonday, January 26, 2015 at 9:47 am55 stars
                      It is a great book.