Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asgard, Book 2 The Hammer of Thor

Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 5 - 9Grades 3 - 6n/a5.1111544
Thor's hammer is missing again. The thunder god has a disturbing habit of misplacing his weapon--the mightiest force in the Nine Worlds. But this time the hammer isn't just lost, it has fallen into enemy hands. If Magnus Chase and his friends can't retrieve the hammer quickly, the mortal worlds will be defenseless against an onslaught of giants. Ragnarok will begin. The Nine Worlds will burn. Unfortunately, the only person who can broker a deal for the hammer's return is the gods' worst enemy, Loki--and the price he wants is very high.
Hardcover
Published on October 4, 2016 by Disney-Hyperion
ISBN-10: 1368000312
ISBN-13: 9781368000314
65 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • swirlycool
    swirlycoolThursday, June 25, 2020 at 12:05 pm55 stars
    Magnus Chase's talk with the secret informant Samirah (Sam) told him about did not last long. In the time they had to talk, he was informed that Thor's hammer (in secret term, ham) is missing again. A new einherjar named Alex Fierro has been recruited by valkyrie Sam. They are both the children of Loki. In this book, it explains that Sam does not transform very often into animals because it would be easier for Loki to control her. Sam wonders how Alex can do it all the time. I love how this series is based on Norse mythology. I also love the connection of Magnus's family to Annabeth's, and how their worlds connect. Overall, I was very interested in this book and it made me want to read the next one. I recommend this book to people who enjoy the Percy Jackson series. I rate this book 5/5.
    • CocoFriday, April 3, 2020 at 1:46 pm
      This book is amazing!!! It's so exciting and full of mystery. #loveit
      • KobeMonday, September 16, 2019 at 3:37 pm
        I really love the book
        • meowers
          meowersWednesday, September 4, 2019 at 6:29 pm
          I want to read this book because all of his books are animated in a way that makes me stay up wondering what the next book would be about. I like Riordan's books because they are filled with action and are easy to follow. I also love Riordan's books because he has many characters that have different roles, and they all tie in in a specific and important way.
          • koalacloud
            koalacloudWednesday, June 19, 2019 at 10:41 am55 stars
            I like that there is a mystery to be solved in this book, trying to figure out what Loki's plan is through the book. I love all the sarcasm in the book, it's easy to read as well.
            • xx6figuresxx
              xx6figuresxxFriday, June 14, 2019 at 9:52 am55 stars
              This is the second book of my favorite series read it a million times.
              • watercolrwonder
                watercolrwonderThursday, May 23, 2019 at 7:19 am55 stars
                As with all of Rick Riordan's books, this one is funny, adventurous, and you want to keep reading it. He puts a twist on the classic Norse myths to make them all his own, but you can still learn about Norse mythology.
                • YESSSTuesday, April 30, 2019 at 4:28 pm
                  The Best Book EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
                  • YESTuesday, April 9, 2019 at 7:38 pm
                    this book was absolutely fabulous and one of the best books I've ever read!!!!
                    • Destiny Thursday, February 21, 2019 at 9:08 am
                      The first time when I read the first book i thought i would explode . But i thought it could never get any better but to my surprise it did. Rick you've done it again. A wonderful well paced humerous book.