Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asgard Book 1 The Sword of Summer

Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 2 - 5n/a4.8118701
Magnus Chase has seen his share of trouble. Ever since that terrible night two years ago when his mother told him to run, he has lived alone on the streets of Boston, surviving by his wits, staying one step ahead of the police and truant officers.
One day, he's tracked down by an uncle he barely knows-a man his mother claimed was dangerous. Uncle Randolph tells him an impossible secret: Magnus is the son of a Norse god.
The Viking myths are true. The gods of Asgard are preparing for war. Trolls, giants, and worse monsters are stirring for doomsday. To prevent Ragnarok, Magnus must search the Nine Worlds for a weapon that has been lost for thousands of years.
When an attack by fire giants forces him to choose between his own safety and the lives of hundreds of innocents, Magnus makes a fatal decision.
Sometimes, the only way to start a new life is to die . . .

Paperback, 544 pages
Published on April 4, 2017 by Disney-Hyperion
ISBN-10: 1423163370
ISBN-13: 9781423163374
161 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • swirlycool
    swirlycoolMonday, June 22, 2020 at 3:27 pm55 stars
    Magnus Chase didn't expect any of this to happen. Magnus did not see his future going anything beyond searching for his next meal. That is until he hears his cousin and his uncle searching for him. Magnus ends up doing a heroic deed, and waking up in Valhalla. He is now an einherji, and is also immortal. A valkyrie named Samirah (Sam), claimed he had a weapon in his hand when he did the heroic deed, but it appeared not to be on the video. Due to her mistake that she made, she was banished from being a valkyrie and Valhalla as well. However, she tells Magnus something before she was sent away. Overall, this book was very entertaining and also it had many humorous parts in it as well. which was great. I definitely did not expect the switch to Norse mythology, but it was just as good as the Percy Jackson series which is based on Greek mythology. I recommend this book to people who enjoy the Percy Jackson series. I rate this book 5/5.
    • warriorsfan11
      warriorsfan11Friday, May 15, 2020 at 7:26 pm55 stars
      Oh my StarClan! This is the greatest book! Magnus died in the first chapter... I know. And (SPOILER ALERT!) and his mother died too! And Annabeth is his cousin. ( I did not know that in the first place!) The suspense and action was what was keeping me glued to the book. I reccomend this to everyone! IF YOU LIKE THE SERIES PLEASE FOLLOW
      • 4usa
        4usaFriday, May 15, 2020 at 5:37 am55 stars
        This is the first book in a great series! Ok so a quick comparison between Magnus and Percy! Percy has been in almost every book and hasn't died yet while Magnus died in like the first chapter! So after Magnus's mother died he went to living on the streets do to the fact that his mother told him not to trust his family! One day he sees his uncle and his cousin ANNABETH looking for him! He ends up going in his other uncle's Mansion and getting caught! His uncle tells him that his father was a God and that he is in danger! He dies while battling a monster and goes to Valhalla! He goes on an adventure with his friends to stop one of Loki's sons (it a wolf type thing) from braking free and destroying the world!
        • warriorsfan11
          warriorsfan11Saturday, May 2, 2020 at 6:16 pm55 stars
          It was great. I love how Rick Riordan makes the series. GREAT SERIES
          • 4usa
            4usaSunday, April 12, 2020 at 1:11 pm55 stars
            This is a great mythological book with action, adventure, and fantasy! It's about a boy on the streets who dies and finds out that he the son of norse god Fray. He goes on a dangerous mission with his friends to stop a beast from braking out and destroying the world.
            • kamots
              kamotsMonday, December 9, 2019 at 10:02 am55 stars
              I love the book because he is like a outcast now he is a hero
              • kamots
                kamotsMonday, December 9, 2019 at 9:53 am55 stars
                It is the best book
                • cambobs
                  cambobsWednesday, December 4, 2019 at 11:52 am55 stars
                  I love this book because just like Percy Jackson it has so much action and comedie so much comedie altho the chapter names are a bit strange.
                  • dragonrider13
                    dragonrider13Friday, October 18, 2019 at 3:18 pm
                    I love how Rick Riordan writes his books, i've read some of them and he really brings the books to life.
                    • ryanng1letsgopa
                      ryanng1letsgopaThursday, October 3, 2019 at 1:30 pm55 stars
                      I have read most of the books that Rick Riordan has wrote within the past few years and they were cool. He puts little funny things in it too.