Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 2 - 5n/a4.8118701
Magnus Chase has seen his share of trouble. Ever since that terrible night two years ago when his mother told him to run, he has lived alone on the streets of Boston, surviving by his wits, staying one step ahead of the police and truant officers.
One day, he's tracked down by an uncle he barely knows-a man his mother claimed was dangerous. Uncle Randolph tells him an impossible secret: Magnus is the son of a Norse god.
The Viking myths are true. The gods of Asgard are preparing for war. Trolls, giants, and worse monsters are stirring for doomsday. To prevent Ragnarok, Magnus must search the Nine Worlds for a weapon that has been lost for thousands of years.
When an attack by fire giants forces him to choose between his own safety and the lives of hundreds of innocents, Magnus makes a fatal decision.
Sometimes, the only way to start a new life is to die . . .

Hardcover, 512 pages
Published on October 6, 2015 by Disney-Hyperion
ISBN-10: 1484760387
ISBN-13: 9781484760383
112 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • rrwwnn
    rrwwnnFriday, May 25, 2018 at 6:56 pm
    A homeless teenage boy wanders around Boston trying to find his next meal and where to sleep. Mangus Chase finds out after he fights a fire god dies and falls over a bridge he finds out even after he dies things could get worse.
    • snoopyxd
      snoopyxdThursday, May 24, 2018 at 6:53 pm55 stars
      This book has action and adventure as well as a touch of humor. I would recommend this book for people who like Norse mythology and adventure.
      • dragonlady
        dragonladyThursday, May 24, 2018 at 9:58 am
        cool front cover, fantasy
        • waterlily1255
          waterlily1255Friday, May 18, 2018 at 6:48 pm44 stars
          Magnus Chase is such an incredible book solely because it attracts so much attention from other people. It is fiction, but powerful in many ways at the same time.
          • kc17
            kc17Friday, May 18, 2018 at 1:50 pm11 star
            I would not rate this book to anyone. This book is horrible. My brain wonders out of the book. The author does not use any cliff hangers or anything. You would like this book if you like mythology. I hate mythology. This book does not hold me interested at all. This book is boring. I mean there are parts that are interesting but most of it is just boring. If you do not read the Percy Jackson series then you will not know the characters.
            • ipotter1
              ipotter1Thursday, May 17, 2018 at 7:03 pm55 stars
              I love this book!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I can not wait to see what magnus and his friends do next!!!!!!!! I ment need to get the whole servers for my self!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
              • JasonGraceThursday, May 17, 2018 at 8:43 am
                greatest rick riordan book yet why isnt there a movie.but there is lots of cliffhangers
                • lillyratgirl
                  lillyratgirlWednesday, May 16, 2018 at 5:17 am55 stars
                  good book. like how it's challenging stereotypes.
                  • 3009215
                    3009215Tuesday, May 15, 2018 at 2:06 pm55 starsFeatured
                    Rick Riordan kicks off his new book series with his first book of The Gods of Asgard Series! Magnus Chase, a homeless teenager who became when his mother Natalie died, soon discovers his other parent; his father is the god Frey! He also learns that his two best friends, Hearthstone and Blitzen are an elf (Hearth), and a dwarf (Blitz). As his world gets turns upside down, his Uncle Randolph suddenly appears, saying that there family had attracted the gods for many generations. He wants Magnus to find the sword that he has lost his family for while searching. While on a bridge to fetch the sword from the Boston Harbor, a fire giant attacks, killing Magnus right after Magnus finds Sumbrander, the sword (aka Jack). Samirah, a Valkyrie, takes him to Valhalla, the land of deceased heroes, where he is told he wasn't meant to die, but cannot go back to the living because he has already seen Valhalla. As the story continues, Magnus and his friends are put on quest to stop Fenris Wolf from breaking his chains and starting Ragnarok. Riordan uses humor to smooth out all of parts that might be scary for some readers making it the perfect read! I rate this book 5 stars because it is the perfect blend of funny, scary, and , of course, mythology!
                    • applemango
                      applemangoSaturday, May 12, 2018 at 10:20 am55 stars
                      This book leaves many trails and figures of plots and this book has a lot of emotion such as a beautiful moment of joy or a sad moment mixed with anger. That's why this book inspires me so much!!!

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      gamer wrote:

                      She is a grate leader
                      Who Was Rosa Parks?

                      mybooksandi

                      Where, oh where should I start w...
                      Cinder

                      reader_red
                      reader_red wrote:

                      This book was a fun one that I f...
                      Flora and Ulysses: The Illuminat...

                      awesomessb
                      awesomessb wrote:

                      This newer and modern adaptation...
                      Journey on a Runaway Train (The ...