Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asgard Book 1 The Sword of Summer

Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 2 - 5n/a4.8118701
Magnus Chase has seen his share of trouble. Ever since that terrible night two years ago when his mother told him to run, he has lived alone on the streets of Boston, surviving by his wits, staying one step ahead of the police and truant officers.
One day, he's tracked down by an uncle he barely knows-a man his mother claimed was dangerous. Uncle Randolph tells him an impossible secret: Magnus is the son of a Norse god.
The Viking myths are true. The gods of Asgard are preparing for war. Trolls, giants, and worse monsters are stirring for doomsday. To prevent Ragnarok, Magnus must search the Nine Worlds for a weapon that has been lost for thousands of years.
When an attack by fire giants forces him to choose between his own safety and the lives of hundreds of innocents, Magnus makes a fatal decision.
Sometimes, the only way to start a new life is to die . . .

Hardcover, 512 pages
Published on October 6, 2015 by Disney-Hyperion
ISBN-10: 1484760387
ISBN-13: 9781484760383
166 Book Reviews
  • nurseangel
    nurseangelThursday, April 22, 2021 at 6:45 pm55 stars
    Awesome story! Awesome!!!!!!!
    • m0ns3r3n3rgy420
      m0ns3r3n3rgy420Saturday, April 10, 2021 at 6:30 pm55 stars
      I love the entire series, it definetly competes up there with the best series Rick Riordan has written. The characters and story is compelling and makes you want to continue reading
      • jurassicwolffe
        jurassicwolffeMonday, March 15, 2021 at 1:09 pm55 stars
        This book is awesome! It's about Norse mythology. Magnus Chase, a homeless boy, is killed in a battle with a giant and goes to Valhalla, where he sets out on a quest! It is written by the author of Percy Jackson, so if you like that series I highly suggest you read this one. You'll absolutely love it!
        • wolfiemoon
          wolfiemoonWednesday, December 9, 2020 at 12:23 pm44 stars
          This is a great book, though not my favorite. But I love the quirky characters and the mythology is really interesting. Would recommend to mythology lovers.
          • magicalmythical
            magicalmythicalWednesday, August 12, 2020 at 11:36 am55 stars
            I didn't read this book, but I know this will be great as the other series of Mr. Riordan's books! But I have a feeling at Magnus's last name. Chase. In Percy Jackson, there is Percy Jackson's girlfriend, Annabeth CHASE. Maybe Magnus is like a step-brother to Annabeth since their last name is similar. BUT they have different mother's so, nah.
            • swirlycool
              swirlycoolMonday, June 22, 2020 at 3:27 pm55 stars
              Magnus Chase didn't expect any of this to happen. Magnus did not see his future going anything beyond searching for his next meal. That is until he hears his cousin and his uncle searching for him. Magnus ends up doing a heroic deed, and waking up in Valhalla. He is now an einherji, and is also immortal. A valkyrie named Samirah (Sam), claimed he had a weapon in his hand when he did the heroic deed, but it appeared not to be on the video. Due to her mistake that she made, she was banished from being a valkyrie and Valhalla as well. However, she tells Magnus something before she was sent away. Overall, this book was very entertaining and also it had many humorous parts in it as well. which was great. I definitely did not expect the switch to Norse mythology, but it was just as good as the Percy Jackson series which is based on Greek mythology. I recommend this book to people who enjoy the Percy Jackson series. I rate this book 5/5.
              • cr4td4l
                cr4td4lFriday, May 15, 2020 at 7:26 pm55 stars
                Oh my StarClan! This is the greatest book! Magnus died in the first chapter... I know. And (SPOILER ALERT!) and his mother died too! And Annabeth is his cousin. ( I did not know that in the first place!) The suspense and action was what was keeping me glued to the book. I reccomend this to everyone! IF YOU LIKE THE SERIES PLEASE FOLLOW
                • 4usa
                  4usaFriday, May 15, 2020 at 5:37 am55 stars
                  This is the first book in a great series! Ok so a quick comparison between Magnus and Percy! Percy has been in almost every book and hasn't died yet while Magnus died in like the first chapter! So after Magnus's mother died he went to living on the streets do to the fact that his mother told him not to trust his family! One day he sees his uncle and his cousin ANNABETH looking for him! He ends up going in his other uncle's Mansion and getting caught! His uncle tells him that his father was a God and that he is in danger! He dies while battling a monster and goes to Valhalla! He goes on an adventure with his friends to stop one of Loki's sons (it a wolf type thing) from braking free and destroying the world!
                  • cr4td4l
                    cr4td4lSaturday, May 2, 2020 at 6:16 pm55 stars
                    It was great. I love how Rick Riordan makes the series. GREAT SERIES
                    • 4usa
                      4usaSunday, April 12, 2020 at 1:11 pm55 stars
                      This is a great mythological book with action, adventure, and fantasy! It's about a boy on the streets who dies and finds out that he the son of norse god Fray. He goes on a dangerous mission with his friends to stop a beast from braking out and destroying the world.