Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 2 - 5n/a4.8118701
Magnus Chase has seen his share of trouble. Ever since that terrible night two years ago when his mother told him to run, he has lived alone on the streets of Boston, surviving by his wits, staying one step ahead of the police and truant officers.
One day, he's tracked down by an uncle he barely knows-a man his mother claimed was dangerous. Uncle Randolph tells him an impossible secret: Magnus is the son of a Norse god.
The Viking myths are true. The gods of Asgard are preparing for war. Trolls, giants, and worse monsters are stirring for doomsday. To prevent Ragnarok, Magnus must search the Nine Worlds for a weapon that has been lost for thousands of years.
When an attack by fire giants forces him to choose between his own safety and the lives of hundreds of innocents, Magnus makes a fatal decision.
Sometimes, the only way to start a new life is to die . . .

Hardcover, 512 pages
Published on October 6, 2015 by Disney-Hyperion
ISBN-10: 1484760387
ISBN-13: 9781484760383
144 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • jazzyjoy7
    jazzyjoy7Friday, November 9, 2018 at 9:42 pm55 stars
    I love, love, love this book! Please read this book! Thrilling and full of adventure and magic! So well written!
    • superthor
      superthorWednesday, October 24, 2018 at 3:52 pm55 stars
      I think that this book is so good that I just can't belive it!!!!!!!!!!! If you haven't read the book yet, read it right now!!!!!!!!! It's my favorite book so far.
      • ArnoThursday, October 18, 2018 at 8:12 am
        I love this book and the series is really good to Magnus chase meets some friends and crazy enimies like Loki.
        • MagnusSaturday, October 13, 2018 at 4:52 pm
          Magnus Chase was one of the best books
          • bacon_bitzz
            bacon_bitzzSaturday, September 29, 2018 at 9:19 am55 stars
            Great book! Highly recommended! I love the horse myths, their mythology is awesome!! :-$
            • alloutSAVAGETuesday, September 4, 2018 at 9:58 am
              boi this is that stuff you need daily
              • cx9_gamer
                cx9_gamerMonday, September 3, 2018 at 4:14 pm55 stars
                I wanted to read this book because my librarian recommended this book. When I read it, the Sword of Summer was full of hilarious sarcastic humor and was very interesting. It was a bout how Magnus Chase died and was sent to a place full of heroic people who died. He goes on a mission with his new friends and finds out many surprises along the way. I loved it from start to finish and think others should read.
                • fossilfury
                  fossilfuryWednesday, August 29, 2018 at 2:30 pm33 stars
                  This book is ok. There is some stuff in here that I do not like. If you like adventure stories, and can not find anything else, this is okay.
                  • fossilfury
                    fossilfuryTuesday, August 28, 2018 at 3:08 pm33 stars
                    This was an okay book. If you like Rick Riordan, I would say you could read it and like it.
                    • ilikebunnies
                      ilikebunniesMonday, August 20, 2018 at 9:52 am44 stars
                      This is a good book and I like all of the action and how the author comes up with this exciting story about the gods of Asgard.

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      booklover2017

                      OMG this sounds gooood
                      Storybound

                      booklover2017

                      Why is that? It's fun to read ab...
                      Storybound

                      booklover2017

                      I'm going into 7th grade, middle...
                      How I Survived Middle School #1:...

                      booklover2017

                      Sounds pretty good Pleeeaaase f...
                      Magisterium: The Golden Tower (T...

                      Our Apps and Plugins